We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Whitcomb

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Whitcomb
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,191: English reviews
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was clean and spacious, quiet and super good attention from the staff and good service and disposition ; the location is perfect is near by union square , walking distance and to the bart, teathers and civic center, also to the art museum.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TereMansurC
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Business trip during JPMorgan week when every hotel is jammed and overpriced and meetings are back to back and every evening runs late. I was back late and already down for the night and called down for a food but no room service! Even so - Varun worked some magic and went himself to pick up some items and deliver!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RegalGal202
Reviewed 1 week ago

Soooo incredibly happy right now! I received a call earlier today from the manager at the Hotel Whitcomb in SF (Kevin), had my wristlet I thought I lost NYE!!! He went out of his way to reach me and let me know it had been turned in! I am beyond relieved to know that it wasn't lost then stolen, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Y
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel during the week for the day before and day of my wedding. The staff, especially Kazi and Varun, were extremely helpful and accommodating. Varun upgraded our room and Kazi provided us with a complementary breakfast. The hotel was very clean, and the housekeeping was amazing. We stayed in two different rooms, one double bed with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aysha H
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is old, but that's its charm. We had a running toilet, but the handyman came and fixed it really fast! Make reservations for the dining room when you make your reservations for the hotel. Five of us had to sit at the bar to eat dinner (although the bartender was absolutely great and got us our food faster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
Bromley
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a couple of nights in December, just before Christmas. Overall, the place looks like it needs a fair bit of cash spent on it along with some love and affection. It is a grand old dame, but perhaps fallen out of favour. It was clean enough and the rooms large and fairly well appointed but very old fashioned....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BromleySimon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here while on Contiki. Positives: - Bed was comfortable - A lot of history to the hotel. Negatives - Location, it's right next to the rough area of Tenderloin. Had a man try to take a woman's bag on our tour while we were waiting in the lobby! Security didn't do much to help the situation. - Lifts /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley P
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good Day, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort in your room as well as the history that our property has to offer. I will speak with our security officers directly to get further detail as to what happened. Our maintenance staff is checking our elevators to ensure they are working at a steady pace. -Kevin V

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well that was my first time visiting San Francisco... so me and my friend booked this hotel because it was a bit cheaper than other hotels... what a mistake.. omgggggggggg... when we walked in to the room the smell of dirty and humid was horrible... tired from driving from Las Vegas to San Francisco we wanted to rest... a minute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oscar G
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good Day, We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a detailed review. I will speak with my housekeeping staff directly to ensure 100% cleanliness in every room. -Kevin V

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had tickets to the Orpheum theater so I wanted to be within walking distance. Other reviews concerned me. However we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was quiet and clean but dated. The whole lobby feel was historic. As long as you're expecting clean and world a stone in San Francisco, that's what you will get. If you want brand-new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good Day, thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Larry is one of our best, we look forward to seeing you again soon! -Kevin V

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at the Whitcomb is wonderful. They are very helpful. The Whitcomb has easy access to the trolleys, cable cars and the Bart. Robert J. Cruz was particularly helpful in directing us to good food and entertainment. I agree that this wasn't the best part of the city but it's all part of the experience! Our room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol H
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good Day, thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure having you with us. I am happy to hear our location was convenient to your every need. -Kevin V

752 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (628)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Superior Guestroom (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
1,111 reviews
Cova Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
1,031 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
2,226 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#130 of 230 in San Francisco
281 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#183 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: €115 - €393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Valet parking only but take uber where you need to so you don't have the worry about parking dt all”
 of 5 bubbles islandnv14, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room without adjoining doors. They're much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles KYBATMAN, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“not sure dont think it matters traffic noise dont disturb me”
 of 5 bubbles steve5915, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 528 had bed bugs. Get an upgrade if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles Goatsonboats, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book a petite room if you are a solo traveler and don't need a lot of space.”
 of 5 bubbles Caltom67, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay