We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2505 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2503
Lowest prices for your stay
US$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$178
eDreams
Priceline
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (20)
Bathroom (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#45 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Alpha Inn & Suites, your San Francisco “home away from home.” Alpha Inn & Suites aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Close to some of San Francisco's most popular landmarks, such as Lombard Street (1.4 mi) and Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi), Alpha Inn & Suites is a great destination for tourists.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

In addition, as a valued Alpha Inn & Suites guest, you can enjoy a pool that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Scoma's, Swan Oyster Depot, and Fog Harbor Fish House, which are some seafood restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Full House House (0.9 mi), Mrs Doubtfire House (0.5 mi), and Ghirardelli Square (1.2 mi), which are all within walking distance of the lodge.

Alpha Inn & Suites puts the best of San Francisco at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
235Reviews3Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 48
  • 59
  • 45
  • 68
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Miriam V wrote a review Mar 2022
Oviedo, Spain69 contributions21 helpful votes
I honestly just stayed here for sleeping, but the location is super close to many parts of the city, I went walking everywhere. The only thing is that if its hard for you to fall asleep, you may find this place noisy due to the street where it is located. So much traffic. But overall, the place is good. The parking is super convenience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Alpha Inn & Suites
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Dear Miriam, thank you so much for your feedback. We do appreciate your business very much. However, we would like to apologize for the noise level on the street. We are working on some solutions which might help to block out the noise level. We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you, should you choose to stay with us again. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Galbie R wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
I love the location and the parking is free if you get there early enough. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. I was lucky this time to get a room on the 3rd floor with a view of the spires of the Golden Gate and the Dome of the Palace of Fine Arts through the bay window while sitting on the couch.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Alpha Inn & Suites
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Dear guest, thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to provide us with feedback. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience while being with us and, we look forward to having you back with us again. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dreamer188450 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Large room with 2 queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, extra large closet. Older home feel, that was perfect for our stay. Updated bathroom. Parking underneath needs a lot of work so parking is limited. The pillows need updating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Alpha Inn & Suites
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive rating, despite facing an issue with parking. We've noted your feedback and without any further delay, we will take a close look at this aspect to ensure that we eliminate the glitches as soon as possible. Parking is a significant concern in the city due to space constraints. Nevertheless, we do provide convenient parking for our guests and try our best to accommodate all our guests for this facility. We would dearly love to have more parking available for our visitors, but, unfortunately, space around our property is very much at a premium. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. We trust that the positives of your stay outweighed any downside, and we hope to welcome you back when you return to San Francisco. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aprilracine Ovink wrote a review Nov 2020
Ferndale, Michigan2 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I were looking for a room at the last minute. The room was clean. I particularly enjoyed the shower. Microwave was outdated but worked. Check in was easy enough. Location is perfect medium between the bridge and Chinatown.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
catnap962018 wrote a review Aug 2020
San Francisco, California7 contributions13 helpful votes
I booked a 7 night stay at this location. The room was paid in full. In reviewing the small print, there was no mention of a deposit. None. Nor does it say debit cards are not accepted. When I get to the property, the manager looks at my information and immediately stated, “can’t take the card and needs 300 deposit. Refused to accept cash. There is no information to that effect on the third party site. I understand information is not always updated correctly as to requirements . What is totally inexcusable is this person’s unbelievable rudeness. I’ve traveled all over the world and have never experienced such unprovoked rudeness . He repeatedly told me “I messed up his reservations” . There is no excuse whatsoever to treat a customer this way when a legitimate booking was reserved and paid for based on the information provided. I wound up booking a hotel within a block, that was much nicer and had no issues with cash. I would stay away. It also appears dirty and in disrepair. Three cars in the 30 space lot
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
keely267 wrote a review Jun 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
Great safe location with easy access to frequent public transport. There were lots of cafes and restaurants in walking distance. Comfortable and spacious room and we got a free upgrade. Would come back again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
matt1917 wrote a review Mar 2020
York, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel was pleasant, the room was clean and spacious. It is in a great location for access to the wharf (30 min walk) and Golden Gate bridge/park. Only downsides were that our keycard stopped working as there was a confusion over how many nights stay we were doing and when we walked our cases up to our rooms, there was dirty plates and rubbish in the hallways with no cleaners in sight. The decor could do with upgrading as well. Hotel is nice if you just need a bed for the night in a good location for sightseeing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Inn & Suites
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Hello Matt1917, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred due to some issues. We wish you had informed us about this during your stay here, we would have been happy to resolve this for you. Please be assured that we can do better and we would love to have the privilege of welcoming you back for an enhanced stay Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah M wrote a review Jan 2020
18 contributions20 helpful votes
We booked Alpha Inn and suits through a travel agent, not realising all the bad reviews of this place until it was too late. We were in building 2, as soon as you swipe in, you get hit with the most disgusting pee smell, we think it was the carpet. After lugging our suitcase up the 3 flights of stairs we arrive at our room. It stinks. It feels unclean. We immediately had to wipe down surfaces and get air freshener. I checked the towels and they were off white and one had massive yellow stains all over it. You get one pillow each and no fridge. The house keeping service is a process, first they come take your towels, then they come back later and then once again to clean. Very frustrating when all you want is clean towels and privacy. You also get one toilet roll, when I went to ask for some more, it took them 5 minutes to find some. The shower has two temperatures, melt your face off or freeze your toes off. Nothing in between. This place is well over priced. If I had a dog, I wouldn't even allow my dog to sleep here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Inn & Suites
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Hello Sarah, hank you for writing to us about your recent stay. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a quality experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you faced. Our attention to detail is usually exceptional but we regret missing the mark here. We will definitely ask our housekeeping crew to be more particular about the cleanliness factor. Again, we are sorry you found the place overpriced, it is not the feedback we usually receive. Do let us know if you have any suggestions regarding the improvement. We hope you will give us another chance to host you better Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russell wrote a review Nov 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom166 contributions63 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is good and there is a free car parking space if you can get it. The welcome at the desk was very friendly and the room was really spacious and pretty modern. No complaints about the room itself or the beds. The bathroom was a little bit grubby and could do with a bit of a spruce up to be honest. We stayed two nights and it was fine, it did the job. The only complaint would be that upstairs were very noisy at like 6am, I thought at the time the walls/floors might be fairly thin but to be fair I do think they were being exceptionally loud. Other than that, it was fine. Plus there’s a nice little diner next door.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Inn & Suites
Responded 8 Nov 2019
Dear Guest, It is good to hear from you regarding your recent stay with us at Alpha Inn and suites. While we are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay we are sorry for the minor issues that occurred. We always appreciate hearing back from our guests. Your feedback about the service you received is what prompts us to improve. Your feedback about the noise is noted and we will see what we can do about improving. We can probably assign a quieter room for you next time. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and we hope you consider staying with us again Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Enjoy the Adventure! wrote a review Oct 2019
Edmonton, Canada3 contributions6 helpful votes
WARNING TO ALL CONSIDERING BOOKING THIS HOTEL!!!!! This property is not as seen in the photos at all so please do not be fooled by the angle or photo filters displayed and spend the extra money for your health and safety. As group of 3 females travelling to San Fran for a special trip we were dropped off at the door and had to step over garbage at the curb from the over flowing bin. This should have been red flag #1. Inside the gentleman at the desk was very rude and kept asking if we had a car, even though we said no six times. We were then charge $34.00US because when Expedia rebooked this hotel at the new price they only selected 2 staying in the room. Our room was in a different building adjacent to the office. For this access to the second building we had to go outside and through the iron gate. The punch in the face foul aroma of cat urine greeted us as we entered the hallway. Red Flag #2. The stairs were red carpet with stains and mushed contents in to the rug. We played guess what that is up three flights of stairs lugging our suitcases. Walgreen bags are stuck all along the banisters. The loud sounds of a construction zone were on EVERY FLOOR. there was zero mention of this at check in. The hallways on all levels were full of clear garbage bags and construction materials that we had to step over . There were wood beams with exposed wiring. When we arrived to our room the smell of cat urine was worse than in the hallway. The room had random updates such as a new headboard and a cabinet. There was a microwave and small bar fridge that looks like it is from 1970. The AC barely works in the room. The bathroom is old and yellowed tub, plus even with two people you get 1 towel...no hand towels or face cloths...just a towel. There was a large gap between the door bottom and the floor. We left immediately and on the walk out just down the street we saw a person injecting drugs sitting in a truck. After 4 hours on the phone with Expedia standing on the wharf because we felt unsafe and value our health we didn't go back to the hotel. We were moved to the Hotel Union as all hotels were full after speaking to 4 agents and a manager and then them never calling us back and we called again.However the manager of the Alpha refused to give us a full refund and kept 1 nights fees. At the hotel when we got back it had the garbage in the hallway miraculously removed which was replaced by an ice bucket on the floor catching the water leaking from the ceiling. I value the feedback of the people who post on Trip Advisor and recognize that my experience can help others that may make the booking for this hotel. I am concerned for the well being of others based on the smell and the type of construction happening in that building with no barriers or notices to the customers staying there. The health inspector should be seeing this hotel. Spend the extra $100-$150 and DO NOT STAY HERE
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Inn & Suites
Responded 8 Nov 2019
Dear Guest, We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, and that it was not suitable for your needs. The majority of our guests report that we provide clean, comfortable accommodation, with friendly service, at a great price in this expensive area, and we are sorry that we were not better suited to your needs. We appreciate the fact that you stayed with us, and provided us with your review. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoMarina District / Cow Hollow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alpha Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Alpha Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Lyon Street Steps (0.4 km), Reed & Greenough (0.2 km), and California Wine Merchant (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alpha Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Alpha Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Alpha Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alpha Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Home Plate, Super Duper Burgers, and Delarosa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alpha Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alpha Inn & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Alpha Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (3.6 km), Golden Gate Bridge (3.9 km), and Battery Spencer (6.7 km).