We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

San Francisco City Center Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
San Francisco City Center Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are Asian, plus a woman, stay away from them...the staff needs some training on diversity and cultural sensitivity. When I asked at the front desk whether they had a ping pong table, the receptionist smirked at me. As I was going back, I overheard her saying  'Ching Chong wanted to play ping pong' and laughing. The area surrounding the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _phonghyuon
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I really spent a lot of time looking for a nice accommodation in SFO for a few days and think I've nailed it. Unfortunately it is a joke and I want to explain why. It's completely useless making comments on the location as is well known that Tenderloin is unfortunately the worst neighborhood in town, however I have chosen the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BAFFO76
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm so sorry this was your experience with us. While you mentioned the hostel is 'really cool' and clean (glad you found it to be so!) I am very concerned to hear you were rebuffed by our staff. As the neighborhood can be quite intense, we are very...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed 2 nights with a friend in a 4 bed female dorm. It was just unlucky that our room mates were an older pair that were in bed by 9 each night but they were lovely. Reception staff were efficient and pleasant, one recommended a dive bar, where we made some good friends that we still talk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location wasn't the best in San Fran..room was very small, hardly space to move around. Shower stream was extreamly low with almost no hot water. The toilets were almost impossible to use as was too close to sink. We had to wash our dishes after breakfast. The building and its facilities (including elevator) are very old, not the value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yaels0ffer
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear you had such a hard time here. We do our very best to provide a comfortable and fun stay for all of our guests, but sometimes we miss the mark. We are actually having some corrections made to our boiler system next week, which we are...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

lovely hostel with really friendly staff. we had a private room wich was basic but OK. no TV though but didn't miss it..just go down to the bar wich is in the hostel and you'll have a great night. only downside is the location..lots of homeless people around..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik T
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your short and sweet review! We love to hear that our guests are happy. Come back again soon for more fun! Happy Travels ~Molly

Novo Hamburgo, RS
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked private room with bathroom (ensuite) and it was great. Enough space to organize my stuffs, clean bathroom and very confortable bed. Breakfast is lowly. And location is very bad (chinatown), besides being dirty, it is not safe for lonely women during night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unterleider H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here overnight at the start of November, wanting a cheaper, good value, downtown option. I was delighted. The hostel is situated close-by to all the different public transport systems but you can easily walk into the main shopping area (Market Street) of San Francisco. The hostel is impeccably run. The staff are friendly and informative and the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

My stay was amazing. This is home away from home with super helpful staff, very clean rooms, and awesome pancake and bagels breakfast and all that you need while travelling! The building is amazing and very well kept. Centrally located and easily accesible is definately a must go when you are planning a trip to SF. Molly, the manager, is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepe T
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The hostel was centrally located to great food, bars, shopping, and public transportation, but is surrounded by homeless shelters. You are literally stepping over homeless folks (many of them clearly mentally unstable, some visibly and vocally irate) along with their belongings, discarded items, and feces as you approach from any direction. The price was so affordable and the staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarKansaSity
Galway,Ireland
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay here! Location is great. Really clean and cozy hostel. Lots of different common areas to hang out in. The building has a really unique old world feel to it. Breakfast was fab and you have an option to add on pancakes and eggs. Do it! So good! The laundry service is the best I have come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica c

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
808 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cova Hotel
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,021 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience budget travel at its best: Both private and shared rooms available (only 4-5 beds per dorm), all rooms with private bathroom, restaurant-quality guest kitchen, cafe serving free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, plush common areas, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. Recently renovated 1920s hotel near San Francisco's best affordable restaurants, diverse nightlife, and world-class Civic Center arts district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Francisco City Center Hostel

Address: 685 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: €43 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Francisco City Center Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your San Francisco City Center Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Francisco City Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Francisco City Center Hostel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Palm Bay, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from San Francisco City Center Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not bring food to the room”
 of 5 bubbles yaels0ffer, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensuite (private room with bathroom)”
 of 5 bubbles unterleiderh, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the front/off the street are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles MarKansaSity, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask manager if they have corrected their staff.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffr992016, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms towards the back are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Aliciawilde, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay