We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,175: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It is a modern, very comfortable hotel in a great location close to everything. The staff was great - efficient and very helpful. The room was immaculately cleaned and quite big. There was coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7, but for greater convenience I requested a coffee maker and it was brought to the room at once. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elena m
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you Elena m for your fantastic review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with u! See you again soon! Best, Michael Pace General Manager

Ruckersville, VA
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Checked in late on a Sunday night. A club across the street had live music blaring, but I thought this wouldn't be a problem inside the hotel. I was wrong. While the singe was excellent I was not in the mood for a concert that lasted until 11:30 and could not get to sleep until after midnight. Didn't bother to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbeeperson
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear cbeeperson, Thank you for your feedback – we really do appreciate it! I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Typically we would do a one-day penalty for cancelation of a reservation (24 hour cancelation period – prior to arrival) but it seems the agent waived this for you as a courtesy. I will make sure that we...

Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed a the Hotel Adagio for 4 nights. We really enjoyed our stay. The service, rooms and location were spot on. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay downtown!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBP31
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you LBP31 – for the great 5-star review! We look forward to seeing you for your next getaway. Best, Michael Pace General Manager

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel and its rooms are good, water and coffee available all day near the lobby. Neighbourhood is a bit dingy; however a short distance away is the nicer neighbourhood of Union Square. Lower floors have free access to the wifi network of the lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camitommy
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank camitommy for your review! We love our infused water, coffee and tea – it keeps us peppy! Looking forward to your next visit! Regards, Michael Pace General Manager

United States
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was at this hotel for 3 nights for a business a meeting. The meeting space was fine - but my original room was a fiasco because the AC didnt work. After many frustrating converations with Whitney at the front desk, I was finally moved. But overall the hotel is dirty (bathroom, carpet has stains). The lobby and bar are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nbtravel
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear nbtravel – I appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. My Director of Rooms, Patricia or myself – would love to talk to you in regards to the items you mentioned in your review. Please call us at the hotel directly in regards to these, so that we can correct for the future 415.775.5000. In Hospitality, Michael...

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location on the edge of Union Square. Modern bar and lobby area. Small rooms, but updated. Pricey breakfast in the Green Room; don't waste your money as there are plenty of places to choose from on the same street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JILL I
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you Jill S for your review – we also Love The Mortimer’s craft and delicious cocktails! Our breakfast is just as yummy – my favorite is the Crab Hash! We do look forward to your next trip into the city by the bay! Warm Regards, Michael Pace General Manager

Garden City, New York
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very nice hotel.Clean,updated,good value.Excellent staff.On the edge of Union Sq area.Great breakfast place(Olympic Flame) across the street.Short walk to the cable car and bus runs right by hotel.Only gripe $9.95 daily charge for internet.Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillLI1947
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you BillLI1947 – for the great review! We look forward to your next trip to San Francisco! Best, Michael Pace General Manager

Phoenix
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Valet parking was a bit pricey. If you want to stay here you really do not need a car. Save the $50 a day! Otherwise our stay was very nice. Large room, small bathroom... free coffee and tea in the lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maddogmads
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thanks Maddogmads – for the great 5-star review! So glad you enjoyed your stay – we love the cucumber water! Best, Michael Pace General Manager

Sandy, Utah
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was there with my twins, age 20, on our annual "Dad Trip". Both of our rooms were great. Breakfast in the Green Room was a disappointment. My twins were served 10 minutes before my food came. When it did finally come it was missing the potato cake and jam. The waitress must have been new. Not knowing what came...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris C
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Chris C – Thanks for your 4-star review! I don’t look at it as negative – but rather, as you stated – where we can improve! It’s the little things, the details like the breakfast and coffee where we can improve our service and take it from a 4 to a 5 star service. Unfortunately, you didn’t receive this...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are expecting a hotel close to Union Square this is not it despite being advertised as such. Others across the road also make the same claim, As a first time visitor to San Francisco I did not feel comfortable walking from here the few blocks to Union square after dark. Loads of beggars about outside, and the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Ian B – Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Our area is 2 ½ blocks to Union Square and is completely safe not one of dubiousness but rather of typical homelessness as in any large city. We are continuing to improve our product. I am so glad that you enjoyed our Mortimer’s Bar –...

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (101)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Pre-Renovations (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 227 in San Francisco
1,900 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: €195 - €408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
USA
Danville, California
5 months ago
Lisburn, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on a higher floor which I'm sure helps with street noise”
 of 5 bubbles MsColorado, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“None of the rooms are good if you have to deal with the Front Desk...”
 of 5 bubbles Perigrinator, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“"Artist's Studio" for some extra square footage. Upper floors avoid traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles dmj772, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“804 (king bed)”
 of 5 bubbles 469pattys, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They charge for Wifi for some reason. Call downstairs to ask about the charge--or anything, really--and chances are good that they'll comp you for it.”
 of 5 bubbles scjones86, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5