We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(30 reviews)
“pb j”(6 reviews)
“quiet hours”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
369
60
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
369
60
17
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roompb jquiet hoursflights of stairsbunk bedsmeet other travellersother gueststhe financial districtawesome staydorm roomlaundry servicefourth floorno elevatorhome away from homeamazing locationbart stationpublic transport
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
91 - 95 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Fun and exciting location that was perfect for a short stay. Everyone was very considerate of one another and sleep arrangement was comfortable. The hostel was also in a great locale and was well positioned to access all the great things within SF.

Thank Quincy V
Reviewed 23 July 2017

before I got a job, moved and finally living in San Francisco. I travelled to SF very frequently. I always stayed at PTW Hostel, because it's like coming home and being with long time friends all over again. beds are nice and comfortable, location is...More

Thank Rudy H
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Cons: I start with the cons because of how little cons there were. The hostel is a bit small so about 8 bunks in one room. Also its on the fourth floor of the building so prepare for leg day. Pros: The staff and the...More

Thank Brandon P
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Stayed for 7 days. The place was very clean, the bed was a lot more comfortable than I expected, and the staff were very friendly. Met some really cool people during my stay! The location is pretty awesome as well. Transit is close by but...More

Thank Alex T
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I met so many beautiful and unique people here. Book it :D Safe, clean, friendly. I slept in a co-ed dorm and felt comfortable. Everyone was respectful and non-invasive. You get a lock to store your stuff in your locker with under the bed.

Thank Sami A
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
US$37 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$37 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Financial District
The Financial District lies just east of Chinatown but
can seem a world apart given it’s San Francisco’s
version of Wall Street. The rush of business people
make up a hectic weekday and add to a frenetic pace of
life, but visitors who spend a few hours walking the
narrow streets will be rewarded with fine examples of
historic and contemporary architecture, including the
iconic Transamerica Pyramid. After business hours,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
buddha474
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Unfortunately, because we are in an old historic building is has been deemed technically infeasible and financially prohibitive to install an elevator. For guests unable to navigate our stairs we will arrange equivalent... More
0
Votes
PragatiSingh
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Hi Pragati, I recognize your name so I know we have already answered this question for you personally, however I will answer it again here for the benefit of other readers. As a small hostel, it's necessary that all our... More
1
Vote
Lauren S
25 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Courtney L | Property representative |
Hey Lauren. As we are right in downtown San Francisco, we do not offer parking. There are parking garages 1 block away for $28/24 hours. Alternatively, we know of some first come, first served free street parking across the... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"You can choose from quiet or 'social' dorms. Social dorms are on the same level as kitchen/common..."
Read review
"The quiet floor is preferable, since it does not have the communal lounge right outside."
Read review
"You just get a bed, definitely pick the bottom bunk."
Read review
"Rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing