We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Metropolis

Traveller (221)
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (1)
Overview
25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Pool
3.5 Star accommodation
About
Description
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of More a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
GreenPartner
GreenPartner
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenPartner
GreenPartner
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Number of rooms
105
Price range
US$107 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
,
Metropolis San Francisco
Location
United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Nearby
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army
in the Civil War, this grand square has become the
city's premier shopping and entertainment district
containing the largest number of upscale department
stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in
the city. It's a large open area where tourists and
locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by,
enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 234 nearby hotels
Hotel Bijou
890 reviews
.10 km away
Parc 55 San Francisco - a Hilton Hotel
3,279 reviews
.17 km away
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
577 reviews
.18 km away
Hotel Abri
2,089 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6,307 nearby restaurants
Equator Coffees & Teas
35 reviews
.14 km away
Mo'z Cafe
245 reviews
.15 km away
Mikkeller Bar
290 reviews
.05 km away
Little Delhi Restaurant
369 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,953 nearby attractions
Westfield San Francisco Centre
582 reviews
.26 km away
Powell and Market Cable Car Turnaround
913 reviews
.19 km away
Nordstrom
84 reviews
.11 km away
Market Street
542 reviews
.23 km away
Reviews & more
916Reviews
227Photos
14Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 278
  • 270
  • 153
  • 127
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We had to stay here for two nights because apparently, despite being a horrible place to stay, they have contracts with travel agencies.

First of all: they'll charge you A LOT for the parking. Since the neighborhood is really horrible (tent villages, open drug abuse on the stre
Read more
Response from HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to shared your comments. We are very sorry to hear you were not happy with the hotel and our location. Regarding the parking charges, all hotels in San Francisco charge a parking fee and we have the lowest parking fee in the area. In reviewing your account, we see that your were charged for parking but NOT urban fee as you mentioned. Again, thank you! Luis M
Read more
This hotel might have been nice and artful some time ago but now it simply appears run-down. The carpets in the common areas are dirty and worn-out, there is no restaurant/bar (as was advertised in Expedia/Hotels.com - the attached establishment was closed/papered up) and no exe
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
When we first arrived into SanFran we were driven through Tenderloin, the area with 56% of the homeless and drug issues in , and it is seriously awful, when your cab stops outside a Tenderloin sign and says here’s your hotel ... you worry

The hotel itself is a 1930’s hotel that
Read more
Response from HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for sharing you honest comments about our Hotel and the area. Yes, you are correct we are on the last block of Tenderloin which is known for Homeless pedestrians, we are constantly in touch with our local authorities to minimize them from hanging out in our block which is a challenge some times. Again, thank you! Luis M
Read more
Very clean basic hotel but better for women to stay there not on there own unless intending to Uber or walk back with someone else when coming back at night. Cheap and I think this is why but otherwise, good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback will be shared with the team, specially our housekeeping department to serve recognition and encouragement as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience. Thank you again; we hope your next visit will be even better, which we hope it will be soon! Luis M
Read more
Very nice hotel in great location. We actually came across the facility on another website and took a chance and was pleasantly surprised. They treat me and my family so nice and went out of there way to accommodate all of our needs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis
Responded 1 week ago
We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guests. The team does take a lot of pride in our hotel and it’s great to hear this carried through. We hope you’ll make another trip here sometime. Until then - enjoy the Holidays! Again Thank you: Luis M
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
View from our balcony on the 10th floor!
Photo provided by managementHotel Metropolis
King Room
Room 701
Room 701
Room 701
Previous
Which is the nearest station to the hotel if I come by train from the airport? How far is it from the hotel?
You can take the BART train directly from SFO airport to the Fifth and Market station, which is about one block from the hotel corner.
2 votes
Show all answers
Can you mail amazon packages here and can get from the front desk upon check-in?
does hotel metropolis take a $250 deposit ? and do you get it back when you leave the hotel if you haven't damaged the room
Short answer is Yes. If you pay by CC, they only hold the money.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello, what airport services do you offer please? we are arriving at midnight on the 29th of April and are unsure the best way to get to hotel thank you
They offer none. Do not stay at this Hotel it is the pits.
0 votes
is there a room charge for this hotel per night ? also can you get to the hotel from San Francisco airport by public transport?
We took BART right from the airport and station is right across the street from the hotel. Literally a two minute walk. As far as room charge...we booked flight an hotel via Expedia and did not pay anything extra at the hotel.
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
"Dont Worry what you read, after reading what some people said I was scared of staying here, but I had a great time and would recommend"
"ten floor with balcony"
"Choose a high floor toward the rear to avoid street noise"
"Rooms on 10th floor may be bad choice. Mine was small, lacked bathroom ventilation, heating and more"
"Don't stay in 308."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing