We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8017
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Updated 02/06/20

About

#175 of 245 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
HTL 587 is conveniently located at 587 Eddy Street in the heart of Downtown San Francisco. Our central location allows guests to easily access acclaimed gourmet restaurants, popular bars, Union Square, cable cars, and nightclubs, As well as major attractions like Fisherman’s Wharf, The Embarcadero, the Golden Gate Bridge, and Pier 39. Impeccably designed modern guest rooms deliver a blend of comfort, luxury, and urban style. HTL 587 brings urban style and modern architecture together in a newly remodeled boutique hotel. Take in our on-point metropolitan décor set in open common areas that invite social interaction, or sit back, have a drink in a quiet nook and people watch as the city activity surrounds you. Our guests can enjoy our on-site Vietnamese restaurant, Saigon Sandwich as well as additional complimentary amenities. HTL 587 also offers Valet Parking, Late check-out, and a convenience store, however; these additional amenities may incur additional fees.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Massage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Desk
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
102Reviews3Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 27
  • 24
  • 13
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christian B wrote a review Mar 2020
Barcelona, Spain169 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
To all the travelers. Following you will see the experience I had with this hotel planning our visit to SAN FRANCISCO. See following how everything happened chronologically: We booked a flight to San Francisco, a RV, a NBA match tickets and the hotel. All happened between january and march 2020. See the last photo attached for better and extra details. On 12th March, Mr.Donald Trump announced that residents of Schengen zone were not allowed flying to EEUU for at least the upcoming 30 days. In different days, from Nwg Airlines, NBA and RC COMPANY we were contacted and told all our cancellations were going to be cancelled automatically bcs of the D.Trump measures and announcement. Having seen this situation I decided to contact the Ascend hotel collection and I asked, exceptionally to be refunded due to the Mr.Donald Trump's decision, so the point, I understand is that if I am not flying to United States it is not because of me, it is bcs simply I am not allowed to fly to United States. The most surprising thing was the hotel's response, a lack of humanity and a sense of professionalism considering they do work and they do operate in the hospitality sector. Just caring about money. To all the potential visitors, thanks for taking the time for reading my experience with this hotel & please, make sure you know where you are going to book after having seen by yourself how do they treat they guest and customers. Apologise if my english is not as perfect as I would like it to be.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: take a look directly the first foto attached
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 1 Apr 2020
Thank you for your review. We do not actually take payment from our guests in advance of their arrival, so we can only assume that your reservation was not made directly through us. Certainly we do not have your money, we are actively working with guests who had reservations with us to cancel their bookings. We suggest that you contact your booking provider, and see if they will refund you, we are sorry that we are unable to resolve this for you. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yasmin W wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This hotel is situated in a very bad neighborhood. You cannot even go to the nearest parking lot, a block away without walking to dozens of homeless people, occupying the pavement. This is definitely not a hotel any women on her own should stay, if she would want to leave the hotel, come and go freely, without being scared. People are also screaming and shouting outside of the hotel during the entire night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Hi Yasmin, Thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us recently; we very much appreciate it. The area in which we are situated can, at first glance, be a little off-putting, but our guests are never troubled by any of the homeless people in the area. Thankfully, the city authorities are putting measures in place to improve the lives of the homeless people in the city, and we look forward to the improvements that this will make to our area. We hope that you will return to see these improvements, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you on this occasion, and we hope to do so again. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren S wrote a review Nov 2019
Poole, United Kingdom65 contributions58 helpful votes
Once you get inside this hotel it is comfortable.The reception staff are very friendly and answered all our questions.Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet and clean. the bathroom was fine with fluffy white towels and products.The shower did need a bit of a tweak to get it to work though.Beds were mega comfortable. Breakfast was basic but adequate. So, the hotel is situated unfortunately where loads of homeless people congregate.I have to say that we walked down to Union Square and back several times and nobody bothered us at all.It was reassuring to see police cars parked at various junctions.We always came back to the hotel in daylight or if later in an Uber. Personally, I would stay at this hotel again as it was value for money in a very expensive SanFrancisco
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 6 Nov 2019
Hi Lauren, We're happy that you found our hotel a suitable place to meet you needs, and that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room. We are glad that our staff were their usual helpful selves, and trust that you had a good nights sleep. We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the terrific value that we provide in San Francisco, and that the location of our property suited you. We hope that you will return to stay with us when you are next in the city. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank wrote a review Sep 2019
San Francisco, California9 contributions16 helpful votes
The rooms are comfortable! They have nice beds, good bathrooms, a coffee machine. The only downside to my room was that the bath thub plug is missing. Also you hear easily noises coming from other rooms or floors, for example a running shower. Breakfast is very limited Using the BART train station nearby (CIVIC center) it’s easy to go to many locations in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
ptownp wrote a review Sep 2019
15 contributions44 helpful votes
This hotel is in the middle of the most sketchy part of the whole city. Avoid at all costs. Lots of open drug use, used needles, screaming, shouting and sirens. The walk to the BART station is awful so you have to take taxis when arriving or leaving (at any time of day or night). Inside it’s alright. And breakfast is ok, hostel style. Staff OK but not particularly accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 17 Sep 2019
Thank you very much for your review, we are always interested to understand our guest's perceptions of their stays with us. Whilst there is evidence of homelessness in this general area, this is visible throughout the city, and many of our guests enjoy our central location, and proximity to so many of the city's wonderful attractions. It is a shame that it didn't appeal to you more on this visit, but we are looking forward to the improvements that the city authorities are planning for the homeless people throughout the city. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and experience these improvements when you return to the city. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mercy wrote a review Sep 2019
Boston, Massachusetts55 contributions52 helpful votes
I think this was the best staffed boutique hotel I've ever stayed in. Everyone was courteous, knowledgeable and extremely attentive. I was here for 5 days and received consistent service at every turn. If you are not familiar with this area (Tenderloin) it might be overwhelming or scary, but the hotel makes it incredibly clear that it is located in this area! I still don't understand why people are so outraged. Hotel 587 calls itself a "Tenderloin Hotel." It is the responsibility of us, as visitors, to know what area we are booking in! The hotel itself was spotless and nicely decorated with modern finishes. It had some thoughtful amenities like breakfast, coffee and an upscale vending machine with vegan and organic meal options. Again - What made this place so special was the staff - kind, courteous and each person went above and beyond to make my stay wonderful. For the price, convenience and hospitality - I can only give this hotel a glowing review!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 15 Sep 2019
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, and thank you for your gracious comments. We much appreciate the kind compliments, especially about the service you received during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed, glowing review, we value you as our esteemed patron and look forward to seeing you again when you return to San Francisco. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmyLou812 wrote a review Sep 2019
Saint Louis, Missouri88 contributions58 helpful votes
I made a huge mistake by not checking a map before I booked this hotel. The site said that it was near Union Square (which is true), so I booked it for 2 nights. As I walked from the BART station to the hotel, my heart sank when I realized my mistake. It's surrounded by homeless people who can be very intimidating. As I walked to Union Square in the afternoon, a man got about 3 feet from me and threatened to slap me. This morning when I tried to get an Uber, the first driver cancelled and the second admitted that he was nervous about the call because he was worried that a homeless person had gotten hold of a cell phone and called Uber. The hotel itself has been tastefully remodeled and the staff is friendly, which is why I gave it 2 stars. The original elevator with a door and gate was off putting, as was the fact that the rooms are not air conditioned and the street noise is very loud with the windows open. I will admit that I was pleasantly surprised to see that the street is very well lit after dark, so I wasn't as nervous about taking an Uber back to my hotel on the second night. I'm very comfortable in urban settings, and I felt very unsafe at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Hi Amy Lou, Thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us recently; we very much appreciate it. We are very pleased to know that our property appealed to you, and that you found our staff to be friendly. We are sorry that the location of our property did not particularly appeal to you, but, despite the homelessness that is visible, it does offer many advantages as a base in this area, and, as you mention, it is very well-lit at night. There are plans to improve the plight of the homeless people in the city, and we look forward to the improvements that this will make to our neighborhood. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to San Francisco to see these improvements for yourself, we would love to welcome you back. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StJ0hn wrote a review Aug 2019
Liverpool, United Kingdom7 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, the hotel staff are welcoming and helpful, our room was clean, and spacious, the hotel feels quirky, it has a modern interior design and yet the building feels older and traditional. The bed is comfortable, there is noise from the street but by closing the window you can deal with that. The breakfast buffet is fine and will meet a travellers need, maybe the pastries could of been fresher and option of a yogurt pot would be welcome. The location is good for downtown, bus stop is outside hotel, there are lots of homeless people and characters on Eddy Street, this did not cause us a problem and is not the fault of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for advice on how to turn the shower on.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Aidandec1 wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions5 helpful votes
I took a trip to San Francisco with my 75 year old mother. We are from Chicago and are used to living in a large city and seeing crime. Hotel itself was nice. Super cute vintage feel. The location is awful. No parking so we had to park about 5 blocks away and walk through a terrible area. Tents filled with homeless people. We saw people smoking crack, shooting heroin and people peeing on the side walk. People were selling drugs and chasing us. Do your research and stay in another neighborhood. It felt very unsafe. There is a police presence but something has to be done.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 16 Jul 2019
Hi Aidan, We are very happy to know that our hotel appealed to you so much, and that you liked the vintage style of our property. We are situated in what is very much an up-and-coming part of the city, and one that the city authorities are spending time and money on improving. We hope that you might return at a future time to see these improvements, to enjoy our hotel, and enjoy all of the local amenities and attractions. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tmastin wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Our family owns a change of choice hotel, so we are very lucky to receive friends and family discount, we mostly stay at choice hotels so when deciding to travel to California from Maryland for vacation we started our adventure in San Francisco. I booked our room approx 5 months before our trip and when we arrived we discovered that our hotel was is in a sketchy area of town called Tenderloin area. When we arrived at our hotel we were told that they had no parking and we had to find our own. My husband drove around for approximately 45 minutes till he found a garage about 5 blocks from hotel.which cost $45 a night. These 5 blocks are covered with homeless tents and drug paraphernalia. One morning we walked to car where my (2)14 year olds were able to see how a homeless man insert a drug filled needle into his bloody leg. Im a 48yo and I found it very terrifying. Our last night there my husband dropped us off at front door and my daughters and I were approached asking if we wanted to purchase some heroin when I asked gentleman to please leave us alone he them began to get mad and get closer and started then asking for money. I was trying to get my key out so my daughter who was scared began to knock on door the inside workers just watched WWE wrestling in lobby. I was very upset and spoke to gentleman at desk he stated well I guess it’s a good thing it’s your last night here. The rooms were small but clean. The elevator is very old and dangerous. This property is one of Choice Hotels higher end Hotels, very far from high end. We stayed at several other choice hotels along our 10 day travels in California and none of the hotels were as bad as the one in San Francisco. Save your money and stay in a nicer area. We had a great trip but our stay in San Francisco was our least favorite because of our hotel choice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 3 Jul 2019
Thank you for choosing our property for your stay in San Francisco, we were very pleased to host you. We are very sorry to read that our hotel was not in a location that was entire to your liking, and that you were disappointed with this. Unfortunately, homelessness is an issue in most cities throughout the U.S, as well as our beautiful city, and we are sorry that this was somewhat disconcerting for you and your family. Thankfully, the city authorities have put a plan in place for improving the city, and we are looking forward to the tangible benefits that this will bring to both this area and the city at large. We hope that you will consider returning to witness these improvements when you are next in San Francisco. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$416 - US$420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Tenderloin / Theater District / Little Saigon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Which popular attractions are close to HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Nearby attractions include Asian Art Museum (0.4 km), San Francisco City Hall (0.5 km), and Civic Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brenda's French Soul Food, Bourbon and Branch, and Tommy's Joynt.
Are there opportunities to exercise at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of San Francisco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (4.9 km), Golden Gate Bridge (6.7 km), and City Lights Booksellers (1.8 km).
Is HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.