We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save
Share
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8017
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotelUS$1,205
AscendUS$1,047
TripadvisorUS$1,047
Destinia.com
Trip.comUS$1,205
getaroom.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (58)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Updated 02/06/20

About

#175 of 247 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
HTL 587 is conveniently located at 587 Eddy Street in the heart of Downtown San Francisco. Our central location allows guests to easily access acclaimed gourmet restaurants, popular bars, Union Square, cable cars, and nightclubs, As well as major attractions like Fisherman’s Wharf, The Embarcadero, the Golden Gate Bridge, and Pier 39. Impeccably designed modern guest rooms deliver a blend of comfort, luxury, and urban style. HTL 587 brings urban style and modern architecture together in a newly remodeled boutique hotel. Take in our on-point metropolitan décor set in open common areas that invite social interaction, or sit back, have a drink in a quiet nook and people watch as the city activity surrounds you. Our guests can enjoy our on-site Vietnamese restaurant, Saigon Sandwich as well as additional complimentary amenities. HTL 587 also offers Valet Parking, Late check-out, and a convenience store, however; these additional amenities may incur additional fees.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Massage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Desk
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Hindi
102Reviews3Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 27
  • 24
  • 13
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christian B wrote a review Mar 2020
Barcelona, Spain147 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
To all the travelers. Following you will see the experience I had with this hotel planning our visit to SAN FRANCISCO. See following how everything happened chronologically: We booked a flight to San Francisco, a RV, a NBA match tickets and the hotel. All happened between january and march 2020. See the last photo attached for better and extra details. On 12th March, Mr.Donald Trump announced that residents of Schengen zone were not allowed flying to EEUU for at least the upcoming 30 days. In different days, from Nwg Airlines, NBA and RC COMPANY we were contacted and told all our cancellations were going to be cancelled automatically bcs of the D.Trump measures and announcement. Having seen this situation I decided to contact the Ascend hotel collection and I asked, exceptionally to be refunded due to the Mr.Donald Trump's decision, so the point, I understand is that if I am not flying to United States it is not because of me, it is bcs simply I am not allowed to fly to United States. The most surprising thing was the hotel's response, a lack of humanity and a sense of professionalism considering they do work and they do operate in the hospitality sector. Just caring about money. To all the potential visitors, thanks for taking the time for reading my experience with this hotel & please, make sure you know where you are going to book after having seen by yourself how do they treat they guest and customers. Apologise if my english is not as perfect as I would like it to be.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: take a look directly the first foto attached
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 1 Apr 2020
Thank you for your review. We do not actually take payment from our guests in advance of their arrival, so we can only assume that your reservation was not made directly through us. Certainly we do not have your money, we are actively working with guests who had reservations with us to cancel their bookings. We suggest that you contact your booking provider, and see if they will refund you, we are sorry that we are unable to resolve this for you. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
Yasmin W wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This hotel is situated in a very bad neighborhood. You cannot even go to the nearest parking lot, a block away without walking to dozens of homeless people, occupying the pavement. This is definitely not a hotel any women on her own should stay, if she would want to leave the hotel, come and go freely, without being scared. People are also screaming and shouting outside of the hotel during the entire night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Hi Yasmin, Thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us recently; we very much appreciate it. The area in which we are situated can, at first glance, be a little off-putting, but our guests are never troubled by any of the homeless people in the area. Thankfully, the city authorities are putting measures in place to improve the lives of the homeless people in the city, and we look forward to the improvements that this will make to our area. We hope that you will return to see these improvements, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you on this occasion, and we hope to do so again. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
Lauren S wrote a review Nov 2019
Poole, United Kingdom66 contributions39 helpful votes
Once you get inside this hotel it is comfortable.The reception staff are very friendly and answered all our questions.Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet and clean. the bathroom was fine with fluffy white towels and products.The shower did need a bit of a tweak to get it to work though.Beds were mega comfortable. Breakfast was basic but adequate. So, the hotel is situated unfortunately where loads of homeless people congregate.I have to say that we walked down to Union Square and back several times and nobody bothered us at all.It was reassuring to see police cars parked at various junctions.We always came back to the hotel in daylight or if later in an Uber. Personally, I would stay at this hotel again as it was value for money in a very expensive SanFrancisco
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 6 Nov 2019
Hi Lauren, We're happy that you found our hotel a suitable place to meet you needs, and that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room. We are glad that our staff were their usual helpful selves, and trust that you had a good nights sleep. We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the terrific value that we provide in San Francisco, and that the location of our property suited you. We hope that you will return to stay with us when you are next in the city. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
Frank wrote a review Sep 2019
San Francisco, California9 contributions9 helpful votes
The rooms are comfortable! They have nice beds, good bathrooms, a coffee machine. The only downside to my room was that the bath thub plug is missing. Also you hear easily noises coming from other rooms or floors, for example a running shower. Breakfast is very limited Using the BART train station nearby (CIVIC center) it’s easy to go to many locations in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ptownp wrote a review Sep 2019
15 contributions29 helpful votes
This hotel is in the middle of the most sketchy part of the whole city. Avoid at all costs. Lots of open drug use, used needles, screaming, shouting and sirens. The walk to the BART station is awful so you have to take taxis when arriving or leaving (at any time of day or night). Inside it’s alright. And breakfast is ok, hostel style. Staff OK but not particularly accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 17 Sep 2019
Thank you very much for your review, we are always interested to understand our guest's perceptions of their stays with us. Whilst there is evidence of homelessness in this general area, this is visible throughout the city, and many of our guests enjoy our central location, and proximity to so many of the city's wonderful attractions. It is a shame that it didn't appeal to you more on this visit, but we are looking forward to the improvements that the city authorities are planning for the homeless people throughout the city. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and experience these improvements when you return to the city. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Tenderloin / Theater District / Little Saigon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Which popular attractions are close to HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Nearby attractions include Asian Art Museum (0.4 km), San Francisco City Hall (0.5 km), and Civic Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brenda's French Soul Food, Bourbon and Branch, and Tommy's Joynt.
Are there opportunities to exercise at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of San Francisco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (4.9 km), Golden Gate Bridge (6.7 km), and City Lights Booksellers (1.8 km).
Is HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.