We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nob Hill Hotel

Expedia.comUS$197*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$209*
US$197*
US$209*
US$209*
US$197*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Nob Hill Hotel
Nob Hill Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 490: English reviews
Start your review of Nob Hill Hotel
 Click to rate
Diamond Creek, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well I had some trepidtion having read the reviews but overall it was a reasonable hotel to stay at. We booked through Expedia - no issues. The hotel is old and dated. It is clean which is the main thing. We had a twin queen room. There was a queen and a double in it. Add three suitcases and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James_B789
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not a bad place - staff were fine, good location for visiting places. Bit dated in places but the room was clean. Room was incredibly small, no balcony and looked out onto the street so noise was constant through the night. Don't expect huge amounts but not a bad little place. (Didn't have breakfast there as it was closed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emihobbs
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay with us so thoroughly. We are very happy to provide our guests with a clean room in a great location, and we are happy that this was your experience. We hope that you will stay with us again when you're in the city! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Leamington Spa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a filthy dump this hole is and that's unfair to ... dumps and holes. They take a damage deposit of 100 US. I couldn't cause 100 dollars worth of damage to this place! It looks like it has been updated since the dawn of man and its filthy to boot. No AC and no real lock on the door....

 Report
Helpful?
23Thank Jon G
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and that our hotel did not suit your needs. We have an older property, but we maintain it and clean it to the very best of our ability. We apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations on this stay. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Nob Hill is an old and charming hotel. The best is that is very near to many if the attractions. Walking distance to Fishermans Warf, Pier 39, Union Square snd cable cars almost outside the door. Also clise to Lombard street snd Filbert Street. By car nit so far from Twin Oeaks and Painted ladies. The interior is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeA S
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the charm of our hotel! Thank you for your recommendation, we are delighted to have met your needs so well. Do come back to visit us again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Managment

Reviewed 19 April 2017

We were travelling around the USA and stopped into San Francisco for a few days at the end of March 2017. We'd booked to stay at the Nob Hill Hotel which was a bit more expensive than we had wanted to pay but thought that we'd treat ourselves at this point of our travels. The location is quite good -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David H
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to San Francisco, but it's very disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are known for our friendly and helpful staff, so it's particularly upsetting to know that you did not receive the hospitality and level of service that we aim to...

Reviewed 14 April 2017

From the very moment we walked into this hotel we were beyond disappointed. In real life the hotel is severely outdated and nothing like the pictures. We went in expecting kitsch and overly decorated rooms in a fun way and instead we were met with a dirty, old and musty room with overused furniture. We received absolutely no customer service,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Andrew, We are very disappointed to read your review. We do have an old hotel, and many of our guests love the charm of our property, we remind them of a bygone era. In saying that, we understand that some guests prefer a new, modern looking hotel, and we cannot pretend that that's what we are. We are sorry that...

London
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We loved the location of this hotel. We found some great local restaurants up the hill and enjoyed the short walk down to Union Square. The rooms have the old world decor and it's fairly unappealing, but the location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TallyHo_8
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that, despite our decor not being to your taste, you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our location does make exploring the city remarkably easy, doesn't it?! We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I know SF is expensive and that this was not the Hilton but I stayed here for nearly a week and that was too long to put up with it. The breakfast was terrible (hardly any choices, A LOT of sugar, pastries and bagels not fresh), the gym as well -> every 10 minutes the lights will just turn off,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa G
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Teresa, We are very sorry to hear that you did not particularly enjoy your stay with us. It is a shame that you did not alert us to the minor issues in your room whilst you were here, and we would have been very happy to rectify them for you. We are disappointed that you did not like our...

Boone, NC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Nob Hill and really enjoyed it! Our room was the penthouse with outdoor rooftop patio and very charming. We ate both evenings in the small attached restaurant and it was very good! Would return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cindy, I am very happy to hear that our hotel met your needs and expectations; it's great that you enjoyed our charming penthouse room. We are delighted that you would choose to stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for your review! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Nob Hill was an experience and different to other areas in San Francisco. It was a great location with a short walk to the cable cars to access Chinatown and Little Italy. We had a hire car so it was easy to get around. The hotel offers a lovely continental breakfast. There is also a wine reception each day in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa B
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Nob Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, thank you for your review! We are delighted that you liked the charm and the quaintness of our building so much, and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much. It's a shame that you didn't get to enjoy our wine reception; you'll have to make another trip here to do that! We hope that you...

446 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (25)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (28)
Viewed
Double Suite (25)
Viewed
Double Suite (Street View) (26)
Viewed
Garden Suite (37)
Viewed
King Room (35)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (29)
Viewed
Queen Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,294 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#101 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
2,290 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
992 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#133 of 228 in San Francisco
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The historic Nob Hill Hotel was established in 1906 and fully restored to its original grandeur in 1998. Each guest room is beautifully appointed in Victorian antiques and exquisite velvet and satin bedding. The Nob Hill Hotel is ideally located in the serene Nob Hill district of San Francisco. The hotel is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and Moscone Center. Cable Car is located two blocks from the hotel's door leading you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Crooked Street, and Embarcadero. Experience the warmth and charm of the Nob Hill Hotel and discover your second home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nob Hill Hotel

Address: 835 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5927
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: €130 - €316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nob Hill Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Nob Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nob Hill
Nob Hill San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nob Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
New Jersey
over a year ago
5 months ago
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Nob Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 405 was good”
  • Extremely comfortable bed
Moraleet, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have to be in this area geographically & there is no better price available on a 3 star hotel - do it.”
elenamP6030TF, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“To select a good room, book in another hotel.”
JDG500, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Away from the noise”
JamesBond0007, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Splurge for the penthouse suite”
spazgirl, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$197* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$209
CheapTicketsUS$197
TripAdvisorUS$196
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates