We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hale Ko'olau

    54-223 Kamehameha Hwy, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717-9522
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in HauulaSee available hotels in Hauula
    Traveller (117)
    Room & Suite (40)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Prince Waikiki
    323 reviews
    #1 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    37.5 km
     
    The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club
    540 reviews
    #2 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    38.2 km
     
    The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Waikiki Beach
    344 reviews
    #3 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    38.1 km
     
    Trump International Hotel Waikiki
    2,947 reviews
    #4 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    38.4 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent61%
    • Very good21%
    • Average8%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible6%
    25 Jul 2016
    “Perfect little place on the beacj”
    16 Jan 2016
    “Beautiful location but.....”
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Self-Serve Laundry
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (160)
    There are newer reviews for Hale Ko'olau
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    41 - 45 of 160 reviews

    Reviewed 13 March 2015

    The rental that we had at Hale Ko'olau exposed some great views of Oahu, no doubt. It was great to listen to the waves hit the rocks at night and get away from the hustle of a big city. Gotta say, it was relaxing to...More

    Thank Felix C
    Response from Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olauResponded 17 March 2015

    Aloha and mahalo for your review. I'm sorry that you had some issues with bugs, however as we point out to everyone, including in our rental agreement which is signed when booking, we do have a pest control company on contract which treats our property...More

    Reviewed 9 March 2015

    My husband and I have family in Oahu and visit Hawaii 2-3x year. We are quite familiar with VRBO and online vacation rentals. Upon arrival, after a 14 hour travel day, and car rental pick up, we visited with family in Kailua first. We phoned...More

    7  Thank Maura O
    Response from Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olauResponded 15 April 2015

    Aloha & mahalo for your candid review. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider it towards improving our property and guest experience. I don't think that we deserve a 1 star review from these guests because we charged them our late arrival fee. Yes,...More

    Reviewed 1 March 2015

    We had a wonderful time. This was our first time in Hawaii and we definitely chose the right place to stay. Very comfy after a long day all over the island. Quiet, secluded, and the staff was always happy to help. We will recommend Hale...More

    2  Thank Rcjury
    Response from Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olauResponded 13 March 2015

    Aloha and mahaho for leaving us a review. We're happy that you enjoyed our property and found it to be perfect for first-time visitors. We normally receive more seasoned travelers who have already stayed at the busy resorts and discovered that there is a whole...More

    Reviewed 17 February 2015

    We had a great experience at Hale Koolau in September 2012. A large group of ladies got together to retreat. We stayed in the Mauka Makai and were very comfortable. We had adequate sleeping space and accomodations. 2 kitchens made our stay and activities very...More

    2  Thank Marcia P
    Response from Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olauResponded 13 March 2015

    Aloha Ladies, We're so proud that your group has rebooked with us for your retreat. It really says a lot that local residents who live here on O'ahu consider Hale Koolau to be a special place to get together and reflect on the importance of...More

    Reviewed 1 February 2015

    After the awesome stay I had in this unit, reading the review from user "January S" made me chuckle. As a manager at an international hotel chain, I have encountered his kind before and let me say that there is very little that you can...More

    3  Thank Agwatson87
    Response from Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olauResponded 13 March 2015

    Aloha & mahalo for your review about our Nani Kai Hale beach house. I'm so happy that you took the time to compare your experience with some past reviews which were off the mark. We never claim that our property is perfect. Our goal has...More

    Prince Waikiki
    323 reviews
    #1 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    37.5 km
     
    The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club
    540 reviews
    #2 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    38.2 km
     
    The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Waikiki Beach
    344 reviews
    #3 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    38.1 km
     
    Trump International Hotel Waikiki
    2,947 reviews
    #4 of 84 hotels in Honolulu
    38.4 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Room amenities
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Air Conditioning
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Hot Tub
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$99 - US$450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 16
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Hawaii >
    • Oahu >
    • Hauula
    • Also Known As
    • Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula ,
    • Hale Ko Olau Hauula
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (117)
    Room & Suite (40)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Dining (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (78)
    Bathroom (5)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Papa Ole's Kitchen
    396 reviews
    .57 km away
    Seven Brothers Burgers
    465 reviews
    3.53 km away
    North Shore Tacos
    353 reviews
    .42 km away
    Alii Luau At The Polynesian Cultural Center
    637 reviews
    2.81 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Mahina Hawaii
    209 reviews
    1.86 km away
    Gunstock Ranch
    540 reviews
    5.52 km away
    CLIMB Works - Keana Farms
    1,168 reviews
    7.35 km away
    Polynesian Cultural Center
    6,862 reviews
    2.59 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    dgwells
    14 April 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Hale K | Property representative |
    Aloha Dina, You've sent your message directly to us at Hale Koolau. We're sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations, however we do not control the review process as that is done by Trip Advisor so you'd need to... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Rent a smaller car because parking is tight."
    Read review
    "Ocean front is worth it!"
    Read review
    "Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra money, especially since they get you away from the road, and are much..."
    Read review
    "Ask the staff when making your reservation. I did and Dave gave me honest and great recommendations for which..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing