We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hale Ko'olau

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hale Ko\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hale Ko'olau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Buckeye, Arizona
Reviewed 13 March 2015

The rental that we had at Hale Ko'olau exposed some great views of Oahu, no doubt. It was great to listen to the waves hit the rocks at night and get away from the hustle of a big city. Gotta say, it was relaxing to be here. Although we checked in and electronically signed a disclosure regarding critters, pests and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix C
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. I'm sorry that you had some issues with bugs, however as we point out to everyone, including in our rental agreement which is signed when booking, we do have a pest control company on contract which treats our property monthly. That being said, you are staying on the beach in a tropical environment with...

Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewed 9 March 2015

My husband and I have family in Oahu and visit Hawaii 2-3x year. We are quite familiar with VRBO and online vacation rentals. Upon arrival, after a 14 hour travel day, and car rental pick up, we visited with family in Kailua first. We phoned the property manager first and told her of our arrival. Our credit card was already...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Maura O
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your candid review. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider it towards improving our property and guest experience. I don't think that we deserve a 1 star review from these guests because we charged them our late arrival fee. Yes, we do call and try to determine all guest arrival times so we can have...

Reviewed 1 March 2015

We had a wonderful time. This was our first time in Hawaii and we definitely chose the right place to stay. Very comfy after a long day all over the island. Quiet, secluded, and the staff was always happy to help. We will recommend Hale Ko'olau to our family and friends. If you are looking for something thing on Oahu...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rcjury
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahaho for leaving us a review. We're happy that you enjoyed our property and found it to be perfect for first-time visitors. We normally receive more seasoned travelers who have already stayed at the busy resorts and discovered that there is a whole other side of the island which truly represents Hawaii where you can explore pristine beaches,...

Waipahu, Hawaii
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We had a great experience at Hale Koolau in September 2012. A large group of ladies got together to retreat. We stayed in the Mauka Makai and were very comfortable. We had adequate sleeping space and accomodations. 2 kitchens made our stay and activities very convenient. We had pregnant women, elderly and disabled women and everyone was very satisfied. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marcia H
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha Ladies, We're so proud that your group has rebooked with us for your retreat. It really says a lot that local residents who live here on O'ahu consider Hale Koolau to be a special place to get together and reflect on the importance of family and friends in a relaxing and comforting environment. We're happy we can provide such...

Reviewed 1 February 2015

After the awesome stay I had in this unit, reading the review from user "January S" made me chuckle. As a manager at an international hotel chain, I have encountered his kind before and let me say that there is very little that you can do to please these types of people short of comping their entire stay (even then,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Agwatson87
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your review about our Nani Kai Hale beach house. I'm so happy that you took the time to compare your experience with some past reviews which were off the mark. We never claim that our property is perfect. Our goal has been to provide affordable and family-friendly beach rentals and we feel that we do an...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Our stay at Hale Ko'olau was good but not great due to several shortcomings. Positives. The location was perfect for us as we wanted to stay on the North Shore away from Waikiki. We were able to drive around the entire island without much hassle and felt the property was ideally situated in this respect. Definitely centrally located to hit...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank StylinScotty
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you found the property to have too many shortcomings to overlook. I was the one who greeted you when you arrived and checked you into the rental. I carefully reviewed all our policies and procedures with you and gave you a tour of our grounds. You signed our Clean Guarantee...

Newport News, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 23 January 2015

This house is so dirty! Black mold in the bathtubs with mildew in the grout. Soap scum ring in the tubs! Mold and mildew in the kitchen sink. Broken drawers in the refrigerator and broken ice machine (have to buy bags of ice from store). Broken blinds in windows throughout the house. Dust everywhere! So dusty! The vent filter appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank January S
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your candid review. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider it towards improving our property and guest experience, however we are disappointed by the review considering that you arrived at the property four hours ahead of check-in and, despite this, we assisted you to bring in your luggage and check-in early so you could go...

Parlin, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 January 2015

My husband & I stayed here for a week over New Years. We loved it! The house was spacious and very clean upon arrival. Eventhough we didn't have ocean front, we could see & hear the ocean. The grounds were so pretty and the hot tub was warm for us each night. The location was awesome, a short trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tkellly
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your kind review. We're elated that you were happy with your rental and made the most of your time here on O'ahu. We're a family owned and operated business and work hard everyday to provide affordable oceanfront rentals and a warm atmosphere which embodies the Aloha spirit of our islands.

Irvine, California
Reviewed 1 January 2015

If you want to stay in a rundown Motel 6 but pay Hilton prices, this is the place for you!! We have stayed in many condo rentals on vacation and have never had one that was this ill-equipped and fraught with other issues. The furniture is very rundown with drawers that do not open or close, the fridge has a...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank 999LoveTravel
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your candid review. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider it towards improving our property and guest experience. We would like to point out, however, that we receive all our guests with a lei greeting and then provide them with the opportunity to review the homes upon arrival. We ask them to sign our Clean...

Hawaii
Reviewed 30 December 2014

The Lanai area was huge and had a fantastic view of the ocean. The upstairs unit was very spacious. The downstairs living room and master bedroom had great ocean views as well. The layout is great for families to spend time together. The owners are constantly improving the units by enclosing the parking so you don't see the cars when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Snakepants
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha, we're all happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return. We work hard everyday to provide the best customer service possible as well as affordable direct ocean and beachfront rentals which are family-friendly. Hau'oli Makakiki Hou!

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauula
2.9 km away
Courtyard Oahu North Shore
38.3 km away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
37.8 km away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,446 reviews
2.7 km away
Tiki Moon Villas
Tiki Moon Villas
#1 of 2 in Laie
122 reviews
19.2 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hale Ko'olau Hawaii Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Oahu is a family owned & operated business rated "excellent" on TripAdvisor and ranked the #1 specialty lodging in our area. Our oceanfront & beachfront vacation rental homes are located next door to one another in Honolulu, Hawaii in the small fishing town of Hauula on Oahu's North Shore near the Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay, Sacred Falls, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, Kualoa Ranch and many other wonderful Oahu attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Hwy, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717-9522
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Price Range: €94 - €426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko Olau Hauula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Ko'olau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hale Ko'olau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rent a smaller car because parking is tight.”
  • Unbeatable view
  • Master  bedroom
  • Kitchen with plenty of counterspace
  • Smaller bedroom
  • Small but adequate bathroom
 of 5 bubbles JessicaD346, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ocean front is worth it!”
  • High Tide at the
 of 5 bubbles 42waynet, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra money, especially since they get you away from the road, and are much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 121bobo, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask the staff when making your reservation. I did and Dave gave me honest and great recommendations for which unit to rent.”
  • Kuai Kai
  • Kuai Kai
 of 5 bubbles raelyni, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“If you have enough people and can afford it, get the 3 bedroom cottage as it is by far the nicest and most private”
 of 5 bubbles ebonyrempel, 15 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5