We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hale Ko'olau

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Hale Ko\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hale Ko'olau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I stayed at this vacation rental and chose to have my wedding at the Nani Kai Hale House. I personally rented a one bedroom for my fiance and I to stay in and between family and friends 6 other accommodations were rented out as well. We had the unfortunate luck of having our wedding a midst 3 different hurricanes circling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ashbeanpdx
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your detailed review. We're happy that everything worked out and you enjoyed this location for your wedding. The flash floods this summer were unfortunate and, as you point out, very unusual. Considering that parking garages in the Waikiki area flooded and destroyed cars, caused sewage spills, etc., we're counting ourselves lucky. Again, mahalo for your kind...

Buckeye, Arizona
Reviewed 8 September 2015

This was our second time visiting this year from the mainland (5 nights). We were alone the first time to scope out the location for our kids and extended family. This time, we came back with 9 and it was awesome. We had the 4 bdrm/2 ba home with the lanai on top. It was perfect for us. The A/C's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Felix C
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're delighted that you liked our rentals so much you returned with the entire family.

Guilford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Great location right on the water with decently kept grounds, though the laundry facilities are pretty expensive. The rooms were a mixed bag: modern appliances and good A/C, but there was a lot of chipped paint and rust everywhere. Also, one of the chairs completely fell apart as one of our friends was just sitting on it. The manager said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IceSlicer
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your candid review. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider it towards improving our property and guest experience. You stopped by to tell me that you had broken a chair. I asked if it was one of our plastic/outdoor chairs and you said it was. I told you that, unfortunately, people lean back on chairs,...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Our family of four stayed in the Hale Mauka unit here for 5 days in August 2015.The managers who run the place were nice, the unit seemed recently cleaned, and the ocean is right in your backyard, but the unit itself was somewhat of a disappointment overall. It clearly hasn’t been updated in many, many years, and there are chips...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TXTraveler424
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your candid review. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider it towards improving our property and guest experience. We would like to point out, however, that we receive all our guests with a professional greeting and then provide them with the opportunity to review the homes upon arrival. We ask them to sign our Clean...

Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed 12 August 2015

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Molokai studio and loved it. It's a bit rustic, but it was perfect for what we wanted. The staff was wonderful and quickly took care of the only "problem" we had when we arrived (the sliding glass door was not closing properly - and they immediately fixed it as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soonercc
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay in our Molokai studio and that we were able to handle any concerns you had. We do work hard each day to make sure that our property is as well maintained as possible based on our price and location.

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We were in the "Spray" efficiency. The location of the unit was great and the furnishing detail done well! Enjoyed the kayak but especially being right on the water. Truly had spray coming at high tide that come over the seawall. There was a full moon that was beautiful that made the tide slightly higher. Price was good and owner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wayne T
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed our property and what we have to offer. We really do work hard each and everyday to provide affordable beachfront property that is family and budget-friendly.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 August 2015

I have never been to Hawaii before but wanted to stay away from Waikiki/Honolulu because it is so crowded and touristy. So glad we did! We rented a two-bedroom condo on the beach. It had a comfortable living room with two futons as sofas and a decent kitchen. Each bedroom had comfortable queen beds with the front most bedroom overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha L
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Dana Point, California
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We are absolutely in love with this property! We stayed in one of the oceanfront units, and we had a wonderful stay. You just can't get more oceanfront than this, and one of the many highlights was the waves splashing onto our deck every day. The jacuzzi that sits less than 10' from the ocean was one of my favorite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bob O
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with a memorable and affordable beach house during your trip.

Texas
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Met up here with other family that rented a total of three units. Only one of the units performed as it should for the entire week we were there. Our unit, the Kamai, had a plumbing leak that was discovered very early on in our stay. Second floor sewage leaked down into our bathroom and if you timed things wrong...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ken C
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your candid review. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider it towards improving our property and guest experience. We are sorry that the guests staying in the rental above yours didn't supervise their small children in the shower and allowed water to overflow onto the bathroom floor. This was, as I explained to you, the...

saugus
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We stayed here in the 3bd/1ba unit. We were in Hawaii to celebrate our 25th anniversary with our 2 adult children and one of my son's girlfriends. This place is very special. To be this close to the ocean for the price was amazing. The grounds were beautiful and Rea was very attentive and helpful during our check in. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ExploreronTheGo1
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the islands someday.

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauula
2.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
38.3 km away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
37.8 km away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,727 reviews
2.7 km away
Tiki Moon Villas
Tiki Moon Villas
#1 of 2 in Laie
143 reviews
19.1 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hale Ko'olau Hawaii Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Oahu is a family owned & operated business rated "excellent" on TripAdvisor and ranked the #1 specialty lodging in our area. Our oceanfront & beachfront vacation rental homes are located next door to one another in Honolulu, Hawaii in the small fishing town of Hauula on Oahu's North Shore near the Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay, Sacred Falls, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, Kualoa Ranch and many other wonderful Oahu attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Hwy, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717-9522
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Price Range: €88 - €401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko Olau Hauula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Ko'olau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hale Ko'olau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rent a smaller car because parking is tight.”
  • Unbeatable view
  • Master  bedroom
  • Kitchen with plenty of counterspace
  • Smaller bedroom
  • Small but adequate bathroom
JessicaD346, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ocean front is worth it!”
  • High Tide at the
42waynet, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra money, especially since they get you away from the road, and are much quieter.”
121bobo, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask the staff when making your reservation. I did and Dave gave me honest and great recommendations for which unit to rent.”
  • Kuai Kai
  • Kuai Kai
raelyni, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“If you have enough people and can afford it, get the 3 bedroom cottage as it is by far the nicest and most private”
ebonyrempel, 15 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5