We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northshore Hostel Maui

Save
Share
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“north shore”(80 reviews)
“pancakes”(39 reviews)
“quiet hours”(30 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
Self-Serve Laundry
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Northshore Hostel Maui
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
256
139
29
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
256
139
29
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorepancakesquiet hoursprivate roomthe kitchenrental cardoor codeairport shuttlepancake mixgreat place to stayfree coffeeenjoyed my stayfelt safelight sleeperother guestsair conditioneriao valley
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
191 - 195 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bed bug bites showed up on me on second day of my stay. The first night was quiet, then two new guests arrived and they were always slamming doors. You could hear door slamming during the late hours of the night. Staff never told them...More

1  Thank Lupe210
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Lupe, We are sorry your stay at the Northshore Hostel was not a positive experience. Had you brought your concerns to our attention while you were a guest we would have worked hard to make your visit pleasant. Upon learning of your complaint (after...More

Reviewed 11 October 2013

staff is super cool. they give you a door code, so if you arrive when they are not there, you don't have to wait. i booked a hostel in kauai, got there after hours, and no one answered the door. suck... i arrived at northshore...More

Thank Donna H
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 11 October 2013

Mahalo Donna, we are happy that you had a good experience with us and hope to see you again someday...aloha!

Reviewed 10 October 2013

I love the Northshore Hostel. My boyfriend and I stayed there for our first three days while we were looking for housing on Maui and I stayed there a couple of nights ago for work. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating and the guests...More

Thank Rebecca W
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 11 October 2013

Mahalo Rebecca, thanks for your kind review and best of luck to you!

Reviewed 3 October 2013

During my stay I have met a lot of great people and friends, now. We went together for snorkling, street festival, festival at little beach and enjoyed the evening in the living room. Even if you travel alone like me, you are not alone when...More

Thank Alinschen
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 11 October 2013

Mahalo Wowi!!!

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Clean, comfortable. friendly and super helpful. Thank you! I got a private room and the experience was WAY better than some hotel would have been. They ckecked me in early after I had no sleep on the flight. Free pancakes.

Thank pdb_9655
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we're happy to help our guests enjoy their visit to Maui! Aloha....

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$86 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$86 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (5)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Eugene K
11 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Amity S | Reviewed this property |
About 2 miles. Looks like you can take the Maui Bus as well.
0
Votes
Khandi K
3 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Michael D | Property representative |
Hi Khandi, it is safe to walk to Maui Beach hotel but much easier by taxi.I f you are willing to pay the staff to drive you (which I cannot arrange) you might as well take a taxi or perhaps you might contact the tour company... More
1
Vote
Krista S
8 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Michael D | Property representative |
Hi Krista, it is always easy to meet people here at the hostel...the kitchen and the lobby provide great opportunity to socialize! We hope you enjoy your visit, thanks for writing!
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Easy access to the whole Island"
Read review
"Ask for a private room with a window to the outside, our window was to the hallway."
Read review
"Although my room was overlooking the street, noise was not a problem."
Read review
"only stayed in one room. was very adequate"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing