We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lumeria Maui Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lumeria Maui Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lumeria Maui Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
Brookline
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Really special place. Serene. Beautiful decor Creates a gorgeous atmosphere Would loved to have the time for yoga offerings. Road to Hana and the town of paia very close. Very wonderful alternative to big resorts

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 288danitb
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear 288danitb, Thank you sharing this kind review with us. We are certainly different than many accommodation establishments, and given we are a school with boarding, it cant but not shape the uniqueness! We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy more of what we have to offer. We would love to share the expereicne with you,...

Toronto
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We came to Lumeria after a disappointing experience in Hana and had only one night but wished we'd been able to stay longer. The grounds are amazing and we had the pool and jacuzzi to ourselves after a late check in. The room was clean and modern and featured a really cool four poster bed. Great shower, too. The included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Evan, Thank you for sharing this review with us. We are so pleased we could turn around your experience in Hana and ensure you left Maui feeling the way it should! Our property has so much to offer and we are glad you had a small taste of what an experience here can feel like. Our classes are certainly...

Covington, Louisiana
Reviewed 3 November 2016

After spending many days at a magnificent beach resort in Wailea Lumeria was a most welcome change! No TV and AC (not needed) I was not even aware of the yoga and other classes offered but took advantage of all offered. The food is all organic and delicious. The chef made a Kabocha soup out of this world. I wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tula12345
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear tula12345, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time on Maui and grateful you took the time to stay us at Lumeria. We are very happy you were pleasantly surprised by our extensive programming; its a core feature of our property and one we treasure. Our food, kind-natured staff combined with...

Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Lumeria is a unique property in Maui - peaceful, beautiful rooms with comfortable beds, luxury decor and high ceilings that make you feel like you're staying in old Hawaii, lovely buildings, grounds and views, a nice pool and jacuzzi, healthy meals, wonderful educational programs and warm and friendly staff. Highly recommended as a retreat stay in Maui - you won't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank randyp536
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear randyp536, Thank you for sharing your review with us and choosing to stay at Lumeria! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we agree, a stay at Lumeria is truly one of a kind. Its always special to receive feedback from our gusts who truly dive into many of the aspects Lumeria is recognized for; especially our...

New York
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We booked a special online for a garden room with breakfast-Paid in full and a no cancellationagreement-What we got was a room facing the parking lot, heard cars coming and going , and the only garden was the greenery on the fence 'hiding' the parking lot- We complained, and to the staff's credit, they moved our room-next room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGal45
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear TravelinGal45, Thank you for staying with us at Lumeria Maui and sharing your feedback. We do apologize that your room was not up to your expectation and you felt the additional charge for our retreat fee was unacceptable. The $25.00 per person per day retreat fee covers the cost of our organic breakfast, access to our daily classes and...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I'd loved the property... well-kept and beautiful. It would definitely relax me if I went there for the resort aspect of vacation. I particularly loved the fire pits to sit out in front of at night and just enjoy the fresh air and relax.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikaf556
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Erika, Thank you for staying with us at Lumeria and sharing your review with us. Well-kept and beautiful is certainly how Lumeria has been described and we are so pleased you made the most of our special stay. We have so many aspcts that make the property stand out and your support & feedback encourages our team as we...

Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Everything about Lumeria was wonderful! The staff was incredibly accommodating; food was delicious; grounds are beautiful; yoga and the spa massage were just what we needed to unwind. It's off the beaten path, which made it the perfect getaway location, but it is a decent drive from many places you may want to visit on Maui - just something to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly421
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Carly, Thank you sharing your positive review with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Lumeria and you immersed yourself well into the many aspects that make Lumeria the special place it is! We are certainly not a hotel or resort and pride ourselves on being an educational facility. This does put us off the beaten track...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The property is well groomed. Garden setting is beautiful. I carefully researched my trip to create a healing retreat. The "included" classes I wanted were not offered during my 5 day stay. One of the staff members I met with to review which class options were available was short, dismissive and rude with me. She gave me a weekly schedule...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StacyAnn B
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear StacyAnn, Thank you for staying with us at Lumeria and sharing your feedback with us. Whist we do appreciate you enjoyed your experience of the grounds, we are dissaponted that the remainder of your stay was so poor. We do apologize for this expereicne and please know that your feedback has been taken with the upmost care and sincerity....

texas
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We loved this place. 12 foot ceilings. Lots of windows and a gigantic ceiling fan keep things comfy in any weather. Cosy bed. Breakfast. Coffee 24 hours a day. Lovely grounds. Hammocks. Pool. Hot tub. and yoga. Far away from the maddening crowd. As others have said, there is room for growth, but well worth it if you need some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lolabrigitta
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear lolabrigitta, Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. We are so pleased you loved the property and enjoyed participating in our much of our offerings here! Lumeria has so much to offer, and we agree, there is always room for growth. We are currently looking into ways we can package up some of our favorite...

Half Moon Bay, California
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My second stay at Lumeria. All the good things are still good (although I missed chocolates with turn down in the evening, I wonder why that stopped?). And my one criticism still stands -- they AGAIN mixed up my room reservation. It blows my mind that this beautiful property, with it's fabulous location, excellent guides and instructors, comfy beds, great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mojumi
Douglas D, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Mojumi, Thank you for sharing your thorough review with us. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your times spent at Lumeria, with the exception of your booking experience! We are sorry you have had this happen on two occasions as this is clearly not an issue we want to be having with our guests. We are in the...

337 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Guest Room with Day Bed and Balcony with Garden View (25)
Viewed
King Suite with Day Bed and Deck to Garden (31)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
40.1 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
35.5 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
403 reviews
25.6 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,053 reviews
36.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
36.5 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Price Range: €417 - €606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lumeria Maui Retreat staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Lumeria Maui Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the king courtyard room is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 645liaz, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from the parking lot/road.”
 of 5 bubbles KingTheWanderlust, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the parking-lot side of the hotel (good advice everywhere in Maui)”
 of 5 bubbles xrayspec, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose ocean side for the BREEZE”
 of 5 bubbles 634ah, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Mr room was next to the restaurant so a little less private than I would have liked.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaW784, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5