We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Kahana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Kahana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

987 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 950: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Kahana
 Click to rate
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My mother, auntie and I arrived in Maui on March 11th and departed March 18th, 2017. We loved the heated pool area, as well as the BBQ area. It was kept very clean. Our room was a little dated but was clean. We stayed in room# 406, could use a new mattress but the views were amazing. Since we went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amandaamariee
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were upgraded on arrival to a beautiful one bedroom condo. The views of the ocean and sunsets are amazing. The kitchen was great and having an in unit washer and dryer is nice. The beach is still a work in progress following a bad storm season but you still have access close by.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KOlsenFrank
Littleton
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wow! Ocean as far as you can see! Our travel agent put us in a 2 bed 2 1/2 bath condo. 2nd floor, right on the ocean. Due to recent weather, the beach had washed out but I am not a beach person. The room had a double Lenai and from it we watch whales every morning. The parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollyw741
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family stayed for one week in this 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath oceanfront condo (unit 210). Posted pictures accurately represent this unit. Both bedrooms are well-sized and the living/dining space is extremely spacious. The kitchen, while small, has all basic items needed for a short stay. The standout is the large balcony and ample outdoor dining/seating space. Yes, the furniture/décor...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Virginia412
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to tell others about the Royal Kahana. We appreciate your staying with us and hope you will return at some point Bob Gaddis

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had some challenges with our room when we checked in, but they were taken care of. There is not any beach access at the place, due to recent storms. The one bedroom room with an ocean view was clean and comfortable. We spent a lot of time sitting on the balcony watching whales.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank georgejune4
MauiBob813, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Mahalo George and June, We think there is not a better view in the islands than sitting on the lanai to watch the whales. Bob Gaddis

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great condo in an ocean front location. Everything you need with spacious bathroom and ample kitchen. Balcony for relaxing - make sure you get an ocean view so you can watch the whales. Quieter location but within a 10 minute drive from the busier Lahaina Only downside is there's no beach access with this property as it has eroded away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoragR1966
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha MoragR1966, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The property is very relaxing with it's ocean views and whale watching during the season. Unfortunately during the winter months our ocean erodes the beach and will normally return during the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a little concerned about some recent reviews, as we were returning with friends this trip, but once again had a wonderful stay. The facilities were great, both in our room and around the pool were the barbecues were immaculate. Sure, some of the beach has been washed away, but it was never a wide beach, and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Horst G
RickC108, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We've worked very hard to improve the landscaping and although we cannot control the high surf and the erosion it has caused, we are doing our best, as are our neighbors, to restore the beaches. The beach tends to narrow in the winter and return in the summer. Recently however, the return has been something...

Pasco, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not saying it was bad but do your research. No beach access, however the season was questionable. We were down graded after having booked 6 months in advance. Unable to obtain a written acknowledgment of a comp for one nights stay. We wanted proof to present to the travel agent. Only because it becomes he said, she said. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantilla
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Chantilla, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m sorry you were downgraded for the 1st night, however as you mentioned, you will receive a refund for your first night’s stay and I’m glad our Front Office Manager was able to get you into the correct room type the next day. In regard to the housekeeping...

spruce grove
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying in 513 and love it This is a nice quiet building and good for those who desire this. The concierge is also very helpful. If one is looking for peace and quiet and simplicity this is great. I did not notice many small children here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandra g
RickC108, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and like to view our resort as being away from the crowds, but close enough that you can just get in your car and be in the middle of it all within 10 minutes. It's a nice escape, a place to quietly enjoy the sunset from your private lanai or down by our pool. We hope...

Orpington, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have now moved on (again !) because we could not get two weeks at Kaanapali Beach Club through our holiday ownership and had to pay about US$ 1,600 for week here. Yes we had all we needed in our room but no beach until more or less our last two days. No fault of the hotel and they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis-and-Barbara
RickC108, Owner at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. The situation we face regarding our beach is shared by many of our neighbors on the west coast including resorts in Kaanapali and to the north in Napili. We are all working toward a regional solution in order to restore our beaches. With regard to restaurants nearby, we have several, but certainly not as many as...

1,403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (776)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
View from Room (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (225)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (617)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Ocean View Studio (73)
Viewed
One Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (99)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Oceanfront Apartment (126)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,440 reviews
5.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
3,817 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.1 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.7 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: €130 - €262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kahana 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Kahana staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Kahana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have great views, but I would recommend floor 3 and up for really good views”
 of 5 bubbles amandaamariee, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front room”
 of 5 bubbles georgejune4, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles MoragR1966, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view can be misleading.”
  • Room facing south
  • Studio room
  • Looking to the North East
 of 5 bubbles 525andreass, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We have stayed in Rooms 215 and 320, both are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles edr127, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5