We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Camp Olowalu

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Camp Olowalu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
New England
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This campground is located on the water but is protected within trees. Some sites have a picnic table while others do not. The shower is outside but has four walls and is pretty basic. The bathrooms are port-a-potties, but they are well taken care of and even have a light inside. There is a covered area for washing dishes, filling...

1Thank ExploringCuriously
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

So, we were there for 10 days (with a small budget). The first 5 days, we were on the "real" camping area : tents are on mud, no grass!, the toilets are horrible and the showers are ok, but cold. So after 5 days, we decided to pay ourselves a little luxury and try the tentalo and then, boum! Everything...

2Thank Julie C
Camp O, General Manager at Camp Olowalu, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate your review, I feel like I wanna talk with right before you left, that would be even more appreciate it, it really help us grow. I'm not sure what did you mean with Horrible and "lost", we have brand new portable toilets with solar lights, and we keep them really clean, please forgive us if there was...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great weekend campout/surf camp with friends. I have driven past this place numerous times without noticing the cool campgrounds. Rented a "tentalo" for a weekend. Wow! It was awesome. The tent cabins are as deluxe as can be, you have your own private hot shower, sink, King bed, pillows, sheets, cooler and even a safe to lock...

4Thank topcatus
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Great campground super friendly staff. Great place to say.Very safe ocean front sites. Spectacular views of the ocean and mountains.Walking distance to store and farmers market .Short drive from airport and short drive to Lahaina town.

4Thank Steve W
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We spent a weekend in a tentalow on this campsite. It was luxury camping, they provided towels, blankets and pillows. Every safari tent has its own shower and sink, two beds, a safe, solar light, mobile phone rechargers and a cooler. In front of the tent are two beach chairs. There are flushed toilets in the back of the tent,...

4Thank Sandra F
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Decent campsite that they are tightening up with new construction. Will probably be fairly nice in a year or so when they've completed construction. The management showed very little Aloha and some strange "uppityness" for a campground with overfilling port-a-jons and permanent "homeless" residents. No matter the Aloha or completion of construction, the site is so close to the road...

1Thank Spydergyrl
San Diego, California
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Have stayed here over the years and seen/commented on the changes. Was here in 1/15 when it appeared that foundations were going in for "yurts" but was told by manager no, no yurts going in. Well several months later, I noticed the frames going up as I drove by and though they might not technically be yurts, the "tentalow" is...

3Thank KayClifton
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We were camping in our own tent for first three nights and then upgraded to the tentalow. The grounds are beatiful. Right on the beach. All tent sites are private and shaded. Facilities are simple - cold shower and portable toilets but everything very clean. The tentalows are awesome. Spacious, comfortable, with own outdoor hot shower, sink and mirror, lights......

1Thank sportjanie
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Camp olowalu was a great camping ground in my opinion. Nice facilities- showers, sink, wifi at office, porta potties ( cleaned and refilled with tp every day ). Many cute chickens ( also cute baby chicks following the hen) and cats help keep down the bug and mice population. Reasonable price. Nice and clean area- nicely delineated camping areas for...

1Thank strawberryle1monade
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 April 2016

This was a great campground to setup base while exploring the West side of the island. The camp sites are mostly shaded and are a short walk from the parking lot. Basic cold showers and porta-pottys for the campers. Short drive to Lahaina and Kahului. High recommend!

2Thank Joseph S

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (77)
View from Room (12)
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Room/Suite (5)
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Bathroom (3)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (24)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
9.9 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
9.2 km away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#30 of 42 in Lahaina
61 reviews
10.9 km away
Puunoa Beach Estates
Puunoa Beach Estates
#23 of 42 in Lahaina
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Old Lahaina House
Old Lahaina House
#8 of 11 in Lahaina
133 reviews
11.7 km away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#7 of 11 in Lahaina
12 reviews
5.1 km away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Camp Olowalu is an affordable alternative to hotels while being even closer to nature. Visiting this rustic retreat is like visiting Hawaii the way it used to be - a peaceful and fun tropical paradise year-round. Experience some of the best whale watching, snorkeling, and kayaking Maui has to offer right off our beachfront property. Hike multiple nearby trails and discover the traces of ancient Hawaii. Adventure is waiting for you right outside your camping grounds. We offer our cabins for group events and tentalows and the camp sites for individuals ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camp Olowalu

Address: 800 Olowalu Village Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9702
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Camp Olowalu Hotel Lahaina
Camp Olowalu Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Camp Olowalu staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Camp Olowalu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Campsite 13 is pretty awesome!”
  • Our view from campsite 13
KatieQ02, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“State Campsites were great!”
J5163HNstevenb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the oceanfront sites are epic, but sometimes flood - so I also like #2 ..”
Lovejoy2012, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask to camp next to the ocean”
Amandags3, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tent site #33 by the beach!! Bring hand sanitizer & soap; large, tough tarp to prevent tent puncture from Kiawe thorn.”
drdavidl2014, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5