We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maui Sunset Condos

Save
Share
1032 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9197
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (294)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (445)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 15/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Maui Sunset Condos
Updated 15/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 69 Speciality lodging in Kihei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Sauna
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
544Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 184
  • 53
  • 29
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bradley C wrote a review Mar 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
The room it’s self was awesome, it has all the accommodations that you need to live comfortably while here, from kitchen supply’s to beach toys. The only huge deal breaker for me and why I rated so low was because of the air conditioner units, I understand that the island life is supposed to be open air but us as spoiled mainlanders this was a big disappointment. They have timers on them so every four hours they shut off. It was so hard getting a good nights sleep because of this, by the end of the week our entire group was just exhausted from the up and down every night to switch them back on. We really enjoyed everything else Maui sunset offered us and provided..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Vacation Rental, Owner at Maui Sunset Condos
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha, Great to see you enjoyed the property and location. The combination of ceiling fans and a/c units usually do a good job of keeping guests comfortable. Maui Sunset is on of the few condo resorts with A/C on the island . The timers were installed in an effort to be more efficient since most electric comes from oil, both expensive and bad for our environment. We are having our maintenance crew go in and inspect to assure best operation. We do hope you chose to return to Maui Sunset in the future despite the a/c frustration. Mahalo, Steve
Read more
Yulya Ogly wrote a review Dec 2020
Portland, Oregon9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Everything was great! Condominium has everything that you would possibly need to feel like your home! Kitchen fully stocked with every possible utensils you need. Had dishwasher, washed/dryer, big fridge. A lot of beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, body boards. Clean! No smells. Super quiet inside and outside. Plenty of parking. Gorgeous View of the beach from balcony! Gardens well maintained. We traveled with 3 kids, youngest 9 months and this place was perfect for kids. Plenty of comfortable sleeping space. Customer service was amazing all the way through. Check in was fast. Location is in the center of everything food/beaches. Would definitely recommend this to everyone. Hope to return very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Vacation Rental, Owner at Maui Sunset Condos
Responded 1 week ago
Mahalo! Thank you for taking a moment to share why you loved the stay in at Maui Sunset. The large condo suites are a great way to spread out and get comfortable, especially during the COVID time we are living in. Mahalo, Steve
Read more
Jim_Reviewer41 wrote a review Dec 2020
Corona, California185 contributions35 helpful votes
I unfortunately had to check out less than 24 hours due to a family emergency and fly back home and asked for a partial refund and was DENIED. I gave one star ONLY because of their POLICY. You'd think they would be more sympathetic to my situation even if they do have a policy in place. Things happen. They didn't even offer me a future travel credit or anything. Besides the policy, their property was beautiful. It is right on the beach and has a lot of amenities. The condos are spacious, clean, have a full kitchen and look really nice. As a plus, the lanai faces toward the ocean. I understand they are a small business and times are tough but help me help you like I was trying to do.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Vacation Rental, Owner at Maui Sunset Condos
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha, I'm sorry to hear you had to return so early from a trip to Maui. I wasn't able to find your reservation, however reach out to me and I can research it for you. Cancel polices do differ depending on where you made your reservation. Usually a booking through the Maui Sunset site will give you the most flexibility, however we do recommend trip insurance. OR, at the minimum to use a credit card with travel perks...most offer free insurance for an interrupted trip. Hope your family is ok, and we would welcome you back in the future. Mahalo, Steve Maui Sunset Vacation Rentals
Read more
Voyage785477 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I enjoyed my time, would have loved to bring my small dog. We are Maui residents and decided to stay in Kihei because we could not travel because of Covid. It has a lovely pool, I was the only one at the pool most of the time. Very few at the resort because of Covid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Vacation Rental, Owner at Maui Sunset Condos
Responded 2 Sep 2020
Aloha!, Glad you were able to take a staycation at the Maui Sunset. Sadly pets are not allowed at the Maui Sunset, perhaps someday they will change that rule. Hope you come back again soon, Mahalo
Read more
Jeanmarie E wrote a review Aug 2020
San Diego, California3 contributions7 helpful votes
On March 14, 2020 – My husband and I called Maui Sunset Condos to see if they had availability. The representative we spoke to said they did and they were running a special. She did not mention that the special was non-refundable even after we told her the dates we were interested in booking and given the Covid-19 situation going on by then. Instead of booking with her over the phone, she suggested booking online using their website. We booked our March 23-29 stay using their website at the special rate the representative referred us to, for a total of $1478.33. Nowhere during the booking process was it made clear the stay was non-refundable, if we had seen a non-refundable warning, we wouldn’t have booked do to the uncertain travel situation with Covid-19 and. On March 19, 2020 - California went under Lock down AFTER we made the reservation, residents were ordered to Stay-at Home. On March 21, 2020 - Hawaii went under Quarantine AFTER we made our reservation and BEFORE our scheduled arrival date at Maui Sunset Vacation Rentals on of March 23, 2020. On March 21, 2020 - We cancelled our reservation with Maui Sunset given that the Governor of California shutdown the state. I spoke to Maui Sunset about receiving a full refund and she said then that the rate was non-refundable, and we could either stay with Maui Sunset before Dec 2020 with a 6 night credit, or get 50% refund. I explained that we were unable to travel due to the Covid-19 situation. I told them I wanted a full refund. To make matters more difficult on March 22 Southwest Airlines cancelled our flight to Hawaii due to the shutdowns that were occurring in California and the quarantine measures now in place in Hawaii. I was seeking a full refund due to the extenuating circumstances in this situation. First no indication was provided on the booking website that the reservation was non-refundable and second we have no idea when or if we can travel to Hawaii given the unknowns in the travel/tourist industry today. The business owner said he had refunded the full amount back to our credit card at Chase. I called Chase and they said they did not get the refund back from Maui Sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Vacation Rental, Owner at Maui Sunset Condos
Responded 2 Sep 2020
Aloha, Thank you for giving us a chance to reply publicly to your situation. The confirmation notes we have do differ from your review. When you made your reservation it was clear it was a special, the special notes explained the nature of the discount because of the Covid uncertainty. The rates were non-refundable, however we have been very flexible during this Covid situation. The reservation was for March 23rd and on March 21 you called to cancel. Hawaii was open for travelers, and the quarantine did not start until March 26th. Some States had Stay at Home Orders so we offered a future travel credit for the 6 nights, or 50% refund to the credit card. Neither were accepted 4 days later on March 27th you initiated a charge back with the credit card company. Once it goes to the credit card company it is out of our hands. The credit card company eventually sided with us on June 24th. This is an unfortunate situation that is super rare. We tried to offer you options, you declined them at every step. Instead deciding to post negative online reviews. As a small business we have been devastated by the Covid shutdown. We mourn the loss of our neighbors on the island and pray for a safe way to travel again in the near future. Mahalo
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$215 - US$419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
maui sunset condos hotel kihei
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Maui Sunset Condos
Which popular attractions are close to Maui Sunset Condos?
Nearby attractions include Island Art Party (0.8 km), Saint Theresa Roman Catholic Church (0.9 km), and Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Maui Sunset Condos?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Maui Sunset Condos?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Maui Sunset Condos?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Maui Sunset Condos?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maui Sunset Condos?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maui Pie, Miso Phat Sushi, and Coconut's Fish Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Maui Sunset Condos?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Maui Sunset Condos?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Maui Sunset Condos?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (15.2 km), Chee Kung Tong Society Building (15.4 km), and Kamalo Wharf (13.7 km).
Does Maui Sunset Condos have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.