We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kihei Surfside

Save
Share
2936 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9698
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#21 of 69 Speciality lodging in Kihei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our Condo resort is located in south Kihei, just on the border of Wailea, on Maui. Our renovated resort has 82 luxury condos, all with oceanfront views. We are walking distance to some of the most beautiful beaches and revered restaurants on the island. Quieter than most of the resorts, you can find a shady spot under a palm to enjoy the view of Lanai, Kahoolawe, and West Maui mountains. A perfect place to watch whales during the season. Come and make our beautiful island retreat yours the next time you visit Maui.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor dining area
Beach
Mini golf
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Snorkelling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
73Reviews7Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 11
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mary h wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
We really enjoyed Kihei Surfside. It is directly on the ocean and the views are amazing. We came in February and were treated to spectacular Whale sightings. Bring your binoculars. Our unit 505 was well appointed although the shower was a bit old/dated. We did not need AC as it was relatively cool but if you come in the summer that may or may not be an issue. There is no resort fee which is nice and they have a lovely pool. We couldn't use the lawn game supplies due to Covid but hopefully that will change soon. Most of the people who rent or live here are very quiet and it seems like a retirement community. We had two teenagers and were able to respect the quiet atmosphere. But if you have younger kids and don't want to worry about them making noise and bothering neighbors this may not be a fit. I loved how quiet it was and this is one of the reasons I would come back. It is right nextdoor to a lovely sand beach that you only have to walk a short ways to get to. OH, and the sunsets right out your lanai are amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from KATHERINE STEINBERG, General Manager at Kihei Surfside
Responded 3 Mar 2021
So great to hear you had a good stay! We really do work at making the Kihei Surfside a special experience for all who come. Covid-19 has presented its challenges, but we have managed to create a safe and enjoyable time for those who venture over here. Come back soon and stay longer next time!
Read more
jmiertschin wrote a review Dec 2020
Los Angeles, CA9 contributions2 helpful votes
Loved it here. Great location just between Kihei and Wailea. Keawakapu Beach next door is amazing. Saw quite a few turtles and tropical fish there while snorkeling in late November. The grounds at this place are very well kept. We saw the groundskeepers at work everyday and they always did a very nice job. Pool was also always heated to a perfect temp. Got our rental through Maui Tropical Realty and found them very easy to work with as we had to work through some C19-related cancellations. Highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get up high if you can, great views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from KATHERINE STEINBERG, General Manager at Kihei Surfside
Responded 4 Dec 2020
Mahalo! Thanks for taking the time to review the property. We are so happy you had a good experience here and hope you will return soon.
Read more
Parent wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution4 helpful votes
The location of this complex is amazing but there are two elderly "owners" who are unfriendly, aggressive and rude towards families and children and it unfortunately over shadowed our time there. The two husbands approach the children directly and tell them things like to go back to their units. The manager was friendly but essentially did nothing to help us. I have been travelling to Maui for 30 years, as a teen and now as a parent and I have never experienced such rude and non family oriented people as at Kihei Surfside. I will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KSSGM, General Manager at Kihei Surfside
Responded 9 Jan 2020
It is always unfortunate when we have an unhappy guest. I was glad you took the time to come and speak with me about your experience. I’m sorry you didn’t come to me before the end of your stay when I couldn’t affect the outcome and your negative review. My staff and I strive to make the Kihei Surfside a place for all our guests to enjoy. We have House Rules, which are listed in our handout when you registered your car. I'm not sure that you had the time to read the brochure because if you had, you would have realized that we do not allow loud pool games, floats and/or activity on the lawn after quiet hours. Some of our guests are older, this is true. Several of the guests here at the same time you were, commented on your party being overly loud and disrespectful towards your unit neighbors and in the pool area. At one point, one of the gentlemen you had in your party, threatened one of the Grumpy old men you referred to in your review. I have to say that the majority of our guests enjoy the resort and have an overall good experience when staying here. Our house rules may be stricter than some others, but that is why we have return guests, year after year. The house rules help create a place where one can rest and play without disturbing or being disturbed. Sometimes you win and sometimes you learn. Thank you for your review. We will be more proactive in our attempt to inform our guests about our House Rules in the future to avoid disappointing outcomes.
Read more
Bob N wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed here September 2019. It's an incredible location with right on the ocean views that are great to see. There is a walking path between the condo and the ocean where people stop to look at the view. They also look right in the condo sometimes. But we never had the temperature at night go below 80 degrees in the condo. and even that is ok if there are fans but there were not! At least not fans that worked. The ceiling fans were completely worn out and could not even stir the air on their highest setting. And the floor fan in the one bedroom was completely choked with dust. Finally took it to the office and had the maintenance man blow the piles of dust out of it with their power air pump. When my wife and I used that it would only blow enough air to cool one of us. The second bedroom had a tiny fan that was plugged in inside a locked closet so it could not be moved and it could not be aimed at the bed because the wire was too short. For a condo charging luxury prices, this was really poorly taken care of. I've written notes to both the owner and manager but have heard nothing for more than a month.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KSSGM, General Manager at Kihei Surfside
Responded 26 Oct 2019
Dear Visitor - I am the General Manager of the Kihei Surfside and want you to know I hadn't been appraised of your problems and am so sorry to hear your visit was not a good one. The majority of the visitors who are lucky enough to get into 101 each year are normally quite pleased with the unit. As you say, it's right on the ocean with unobstructed views of Lanai and Kahoolawe. The weather has been very hot this past summer and fall. I would say ridiculously hot. Record temps each day make it difficult to cool off during the night sometimes. I thank you for the heads up on the fans in the room, I will be checking with maintenance for this unit today! I'm so sorry I wasn't notified about your troubles. My Staff and I try our hardest to make each and every visit here a good one. If you will come back, I promise to be available to you, should you have any problems in the future here. Thank you for your review, even though it was only one star. We need to hear the bad with the good. It can only help us to be better going forward!
Read more
Cathy C wrote a review Oct 2019
6 contributions3 helpful votes
This was the perfect place for us to spend a relaxing week in Maui. Having read all of the great reviews we knew this place would be nice but it truly exceeded our expectations. The view from the balcony is breathtaking and the grounds are very peaceful. Really enjoyed watching the beautiful birds as well as the turtles on the rocks below. Though we enjoyed spending time at the many beautiful beaches in Maui our favourite spot was at the edge of the grass overlooking the rocks and ocean. Here we rested comfortably in our lounge chairs under swaying palm trees enjoying the beautiful breeze - heaven on earth! (and no sand). Though there are great restaurants nearby we chose to eat in for the most part to enjoy the beautiful view and sunsets (stopped at Costco after landing in Kahului to stock up on drinks and food - also a nice Foodland store nearby). We were very happy with the location of this property. It felt somewhat secluded yet everything you need is near by.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Navigate334237, General Manager at Kihei Surfside
Responded 20 Oct 2019
Thank you so much for the lovely review. My staff and I strive to make the KIHEI SURFSIDE’ special place. We hope your return to our beautiful island and make the KIHEI SURFSIDE’ your new home here.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$256 - US$496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kihei surfside hotel kihei
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kihei Surfside
Which popular attractions are close to Kihei Surfside?
Nearby attractions include Maui Professional Photography (1.3 km), Island Art Party (4.9 km), and Saint Theresa Roman Catholic Church (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kihei Surfside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kihei Surfside?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kihei Surfside?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Kihei Surfside?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kihei Surfside?
Conveniently located restaurants include South Maui Fish Company, Honolulu Cookie Company, and 808 Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kihei Surfside?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kihei Surfside?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Kihei Surfside have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Kihei Surfside accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.