We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
551 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9046
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$310
View deal
Travelocity
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Kohea Kai Maui
Updated 26/08/21

About

#2 of 5 in Kihei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our beachfront hotel offers the perfect location for your dream Maui vacation, destination wedding, or honeymoon. We are near the Piilani Highway 31, and our family-friendly hotel is just fifteen minutes away from the Kahului Airport (OGG.) Our ideal address is nestled along the southwest shore of Maui. The pristine sands of the five-mile beach of Mai Poina ‘Oe la’u are just outside your door. Our hotel is a leisurely stroll from Kalepolepo and Waipuilani Beaches. Our central location keeps guests near other popular areas of the island like Wailea and Makena, as well as Lahaina and Hana, making us an ideal choice for your exotic getaway. Guests of the Kohea Kai Maui experience the best that Maui has to offer
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
194Reviews16Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 124
  • 37
  • 20
  • 2
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TiaMariaMorrison wrote a review Apr 2022
Kitchener, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed here during the last two weeks of March. We were very disappointed with this hotel. The pictures the hotel posts have nothing to do with reality, The hotel (NOT A RESORT BY ANY STRETCH OF THE IMAGINATION) is extremely run down. We rented a junior suite (room # 323). I can't understand at all why it was called a suite. It was simply a large room with a small fridge and a sink included. PROS: The location is fairly good, although with all of the construction around the hotel it can take up to a half hour to travel to the the part of town that has most of the restaurants and shops (obviously this is not the hotel's fault, its just something to be aware of). The staff are very welcoming and responsive to requests for more towels, etc. The pool area is pretty and nicely maintained (note: the pool is very small; its a dipping pool not a full-sized pool). There is a hot tub and a picnic area. CONS: As I've said, the biggest problem I had is the price you pay for such a run down hotel. I was shocked when we first drove up. The parking lot is very tight. The carpeting on the stairs is filthy and ripped. The door to our unit looked like rotten wood. The inside of the room is a little better. The room is large and clean but that's about it. Our 'junior suite' looked nothing like the pictures, We had a 'garden view' room with a view of some shrubs and trees that surround the parking lot. The balcony was horrible, old cast iron furniture and tiles missing from the walls. Not a place where you would enjoy sitting. The curtains were old and dirty looking. The bathroom was nice, although the window has no covering and is made of glass blocks that provide a sense that you are on display to people passing by. The chair in the room is old and dirty. The hotel describes a roof top balcony from which you can sit and watch the sunsets. It's true that the sunsets are pretty but you wouldn't want to sit on this patio. The furniture is extremely old and cheap, needing to be replaced. There is a bathroom but it is filled with storage materials. Overall, by suggestion is to keep looking. There must be something better available for the price than this 'resort.'
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Maybe check out the rooms by the dipping pool. They don't look quite as run down from the...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations, your feedback will definitely help us to continue on improving our services. Thank you for your stay with us and hopefully as things progress you will reconsider and give us another chance to accommodate you on your next visit to Maui. We appreciate your time and Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
N1120A wrote a review Apr 2022
San Diego, California83 contributions98 helpful votes
If this place was say $99 a night, I'd probably rate it higher. The reality is that they're currently getting $300+ a night and the hotel just isn't worth that - not even close. The good: Staff are polite and the rooms are spacious and clean (maybe too clean, given the extreme smell of bleach after getting housekeeping). Fridge is an excellent size. Wi-Fi works generally decently. The Bad: Overpriced, poorly located, deceptive title as a "resort," a very tight parking lot, a resort fee that is not disclosed at booking, the bathroom has neither a toilet paper roll holder nor a proper towel rack. We got one tiny bottle of shower gel and no hand soap, making us need to break out our reserve to wash our hands and use shampoo for showering. Honestly, the Days Inn is better at the budget end and probably cheaper. Definitely not coming back to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Labor shortage has been a challenge for us, however if things are forgotten it can be easily be delivered. So Thank you for sharing and take care stay safe!
Read more
Karen M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had a great time at Kohea Kai. Great location easy to get to food and beach. Staff was quick to respond and very friendly. Rooms were clean and had the items we needed. Grounds were beautiful and well kept! Would stay again! Karen M
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Thank you kindly for your awesome review! We really appreciate your feedback, your time and stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future should you decide to visit Maui again.
Read more
Ramey501 wrote a review Mar 2022
San Francisco, California11 contributions3 helpful votes
I was hoping to love this place after I read the reviews. Maybe it just depends on what room you stay in, but I’m paying $415 for a room with locked windows and cinder block walls. (Yes the windows are locked close) I wanted to change hotels when I checked in, but it was too late. If my expectations were set at a $150 a night motel, I’d have been fine with it. But this is the least nice place I’ve ever stayed for $400 in my life. This is not a resort and should not be charging $25 a night for a resort fee. It’s a motel that should be advertised as such. I know I’m not the first person upset that I’m paying $25 a day for a beach towel and some ice water and a plastic cup in the lobby. I’m sure the staff is very friendly as other reviews have said but I haven’t had much experience with anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. I apologize for failing to meet your expectations and hope that you will give us a chance in the future as we work to improve our services. The amenity fee helps us provide more than just a towel and ice water. The amenity fees provides the in room amenities as well as parking, wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, coolers, bicycle rentals, to go snacks in the morning and afternoon plus more. Thank you again for sharing, we really appreciate your time.
Read more
Jack H wrote a review Mar 2022
Roanoke, Virginia8 contributions7 helpful votes
The resort is a gem with a friendly staff. During our stay, Carol, Tevita, and Luseane were very courteous and helpful. For example, they gave us pointers on major sites to see in Maui. They provided us ample, quality snacks in the lobby. It's a relaxing resort with a nice hot tub and small pool. Our room was nice and clean. Thank you for a superb stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Thank you so very much for your awesome review and high scoring! We really appreciate your time and feed back. It is always a great feeling to read reviews acknowledging the hard work that my staff and myself put into this hotel. Thank you very much for your stay and on behalf of Tevita, Carol and the rest of the Kohea Kai Ohana we appreciate your stay and hope that you stay with us again.
Read more
Max S wrote a review Mar 2022
Pewaukee, Wisconsin6 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at Kohea Kai Maui in late February. The property was adequate, but we did not think it matched up to the rather lavish descriptions posted on its website. We do not consider the property a "resort". It is a normal hotel. Our standard room was clean, but very small. The grounds were well-maintained. The staff was friendly and courteous. We appreciated the use of beach chairs, towels and a cooler. The website says they have "upscale amenities"; we thought that was exaggerated. The website states they have :"24-hour front desk staff" but at check-in we were given a front-desk number to text between 6 am and 10 pm. Parking for the building we were in was VERY TIGHT quarters that are drive-in and back-out only, The "beachfront location" property description is a bit of a push, considering the beach is across South Kihea Road, a rather busy street. The "breakfast" offered was granola bars and coffee; no juices, tea or any other beverages. We prepaid for the reservation and were surprised when we checked in to be told that there was an additional $25 per day "resort fee". Perhaps this was disclosed on the website and we missed it, but to any travelers considering this property, beware of this charge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feed back because these are ways that our hotel can improve on our services. Due to the pandemic and the labor shortage that seems to be all around it has been a great challenge for my staff and myself. We may not be here physically for 24 hours, but we are available 24 hours. Thank you again for sharing, Thank you for your time and your feed back is very important to us. We hope you enjoyed Maui and hope to see you in the future. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
Inspire627336 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
This place was the worst. The ceiling is so thin - if you’re on the ground floor you hear every single step the people above you make. The entire hotel is generally shabby and just the opposite of a place to relax and unwind. There is no sound proofing what so ever and it made for countless sleepless nights due to noisy neighbors. There is no overnight reception (staff in general is non existent) so if you have any issues after 8pm you’re left with just a number to text. There is otherwise no staff on site overnight. Good luck getting any positive response to your texts. Would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If you’re forced to stay here - if this is literally the last hotel with space on Maui - then...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 18 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We had made attempts to reach out to you, our office was open during the hours we have posted and the after hours number responds rather quickly. We could have assisted you with looking into other options to move to, but was unsuccessful both times and I am sure you were out enjoying Maui. However, we are always here ready to assist. We appreciate your feed back for these are ways that will help us to improve our services. We hope you enjoyed your time on Maui.
Read more
Kathy C wrote a review Mar 2022
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States54 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed 1/26-27 for 1 night. Wish we could have cancelled and found a different hotel, but was non-refundable and pretty late when we arrived. So embarrassed to admit we paid over $400 so stay at this hovel. We don't mind older hotels if the interiors are clean and well maintained. This place has cinder block walls, dirty broken tile floors, rusty peeling plumbing......the photos say it all.....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 16 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feedback for these are ways that we can improve on our services. We hope that you enjoyed MAUI and ALOHA to you!
Read more
Alan B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We would have loved to stay here, but this hotel really screwed us over. We booked a room through our Credit Card rewards site 3 months ago. The hotel oversold their rooms and decided to tell us our reservation was cancelled 3 days before we leave for Maui. Trying to book a replacement 3 days before our trip was almost impossible. We booked a “Deluxe Suite Penthouse with Ocean View” through this hotel, but we had to settle for a hotel that wasn’t even near the beach. This is our honeymoon, so this kind of service really puts a sour taste in our mouths. Please think twice about trying to book a room from this place… you might find out a couple days before you leave that they have no room for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Aloha and Thank you for your feedback. We apologize but due to unforeseen circumstances with the room we could not rent out the rooms for safety reasons. Our other Penthouses were already booked which we would have been happy to upgrade you to, but sadly had to make a difficult decision by contacting your booking agent immediately which was back in January. We made several attempts to your booking agent to make sure that you were given amicable time and notice to find other accommodation. We were assured that they were going to take care of you and nothing was needed further. Again, we apologize and hope that in the future you will give us a chance to serve you. Thank you Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
Tom S wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
- little to no amenities. tiny pool essentially not usable. gardens are nice. they provide beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, to take to the beach. also short term bicycle rentals. - room service only by request. They forgot one of the two times we asked during the week... - clean but rundown rooms in need of renovation/upgrades. we had a tiny carpeted but cute balcony with partial ocean view. - no breakfast due to covid - across the street from nice public beaches. the street is a busy highway but not too loud. - central location
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Expect basic lodgings. nothing more.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We appreciate your time and stay as well as for your feed back for these are ways that we are able to continue to improve on our services. We hope you enjoyed Maui and hope that you we may be able to accommodate you again in the near future. Stay healthy and safe! Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$303 - US$441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kohea Kai Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Nearby attractions include Massage Maui Style (0.8 km), Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary (0.5 km), and Kalepolepo Beach Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kohea Kai Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monsoon India, Isana, and Brekkie Bowls.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (13.8 km), Haleki‘i-Pihana State Monument (15.9 km), and Chee Kung Tong Society Building (14.0 km).
Does Kohea Kai Maui have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.