We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hana Maui Botanical Gardens

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hana Maui Botanical Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a 2 night stay in the "Marine Room". Very dark at night with no night lights. lots of signs posted to avoid using too much electricity due to it being solar powered (and yet an empty glade plug in was left in the wall socket). Pleasantly surprised by the water actually being hot in the shower. No cell service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Owl2014
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Aloha, Sorry, you were not happy. I don't think you have ever been off the grid? That means there is no utility lines to the property. I do have solar electric which means the sun (if it is shining) fills up large expensive batteries during the day and then we use that at night. Like a car battery. It also...

Koloa, Hawaii
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Sleeping in Hana, Maui is pricey, but this was a place we could afford, 4 miles from town. JoLoyce is very friendly and informative. The Marine Studio we stayed in is cutely decorated with all manner of marine life. We slept very well in the comfy queen bed, and it is very dark and quiet at night, being far from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe_Scarf
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 20 June 2013

First, I want to start off by saying that we are NOT city people. Out of the 3 nights that we spent on Maui, 2 of them were in Hana at the Botanical Gardens B&B. (And Hana is certainly not known for shopping and nightlife). If you need white-glove service, chocolates on your pillows, and fancy amenities, this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hugallama
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had a nice stay at this simple but lovely cottage in the middle of the botanical garden. We stayed 3 nights at the marine studio. It is a nice apartment. Everything was clean and well prepared. It seems that JoLoyce had made to many bad experiences with people using to much electricity, as there are many signs around to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sustorevilo
Cape Cod
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Arrived after the 4PM check in time. While driving to the carport, we heard voices from the darkness under a tin roof yelling for us to stop and back up. We backed up and got out of the car dodging dog poops along the way. JoLoyce introduced herself and explained a few things about the room. Upon entering the "flower...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank travelerz20
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Me and my two friends went for the road to Hana, not really knowing what to expect. We booked last minute and this resort looked like the only one that had one night stay and cheapest solution possible, despite of the reviews not so reassuring. I have to say that the place was spotless, no bugs at all and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paolo C
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Awesome spot if you want to enjoy all that Hana and the surrounding area have to offer!! Very affordable and very fun!! We would get up early every morning and watch the sunrise at Waianapanapa State Park... only a 10 min drive away... The sunrises alone are worth the trip! Have a BBQ at Hana Bay a 15 min drive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony T
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed for one night in December. We stayed in the flower suite at a discount because the owner said there was no fridge. As it turned out, there was no oven either. We weren't told this, so we bought a frozen lasagna to cook, and then figured out we couldn't cook it there. The owner never greeted us, did...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BradHawaii
Sherbrooke, Quebec
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Really not fancy. Really not. A bit run down also. But Jo Loyce, the manager, accepts one-nighters, which is a great advantage in a place (Hana) with so few lodging options. Jo Loyce is a courageous woman, who runs this B&B despite a physical handicap; and with a smile on top of that! I'd upgrade the place to average if...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank lelecabral
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Aloha, thank you for your review. One night stays are very difficult, that's why most places won't do them. I know when you are on vacation, time is limited, so I decided to let people stay with a small increase in price of $25 to makeup for the extra work. It also means that it gets cleaned each time and...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Read all the reviews and know that it is exactly what people say it is. We were prepared for that going in, and really just needed to save money. We ended up staying there as little as possible, waking up early and heading out, and hanging out in Hana until we were ready to fall asleep. Pros: Cheapest accommodations in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Elicia B
Rainbow44, Owner at Hana Maui Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Aloha, I am sorry that you were not happy being here. I do my best to explain that it is not fancy but comfortable. It is a farm stay. I will print out your review and give it to my cleaner. He does sweep and mop the floor with vinegar and wipes the counters with it. It is not poison...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
6.5 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
6.2 km away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
626 reviews
69.6 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.6 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
9.7 km away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
32.2 km away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#1 of 2 in Makawao
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A large easy to walk garden with semi tropical fruits and flowers. A fee of $3 per person is requested. Area is approximately 10 acres and takes about 15 minutes unless you want to relax more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hana Maui Botanical Gardens

Address: 470 Ulaino Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Price Range: €272 - €628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens Bed And Breakfast
Hana Maui Botanical Gardens Hotel Hana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hana Maui Botanical Gardens staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hana Maui Botanical Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“would not recommend”
 of 5 bubbles SC821, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“There are only 2 choices for rooms. The Marine Room was nice and large.”
 of 5 bubbles 224williamd, 18 Nov 2014 | Read review
“If you don't need a fridge, does not neet to cook, chose the Flower Studio.”
 of 5 bubbles lelecabral, 28 Apr 2012 | Read review
3 of 3