We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Point at Poipu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Point at Poipu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

734 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Point at Poipu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 731: English reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you were hoping for a relaxing resort-type vacation on the beautiful island of Kauai, then you should stay elsewhere. The Point at Poipu is a timeshare condo (used to be an Embassy, then was a Sunterra Property now is a Diamond Resorts International property) which has definitely seen better days. If you are travelling with small children and you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tuscany885
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

We were are to sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations during your last visit. Our endeavour really is to exceed them and we clearly did not manage to do this for you on this occasion. As you have noted we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and we would like to take this opportunity to advise that...

Allentown, PA
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I just returned from a one week stay at this resort and found it to be accomodating, friendly and relaxing. This was our 4 th visit to the islands and our first stay on Kauai. Arriving in the dark after midnight, it was a challeng to locate, since signs to advertise are prohibited, but once we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FehrLadyAllentown_PA
Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We are owners with Diamond Resorts and as I learned to do a little research before going to the desination. So what I did was to email the resort about my request and they did a wonderful job to accommodate us. We had a wonderful vacation. We went on the upgrade tour and it was a pleasant surprise with no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vicky64120
Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We are owners with Diamond Resorts w/home location in Maui. Our reservation for Point of Poipu was for an partial ocean view. We were given room 7-102 which looked out over construction fencing about 30' away...absolutely no view of the ocean. The first floor of building 7 looks at either a large berm or fencing. After complaining to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank budagirl66
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Point at Poipu! We make every effort to fulfil accommodation requests made by our owners, members and guests, and we’re very sorry that you were disappointed with the first apartment you occupied. We’re extremely glad that it was possible to provide you with alternative accommodation which met with your...

Harwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our week at The Point. Used it as a base for daily travel to north, east and west shores. Handy for walks to Shipwreck Beach, Brenecke Beach etc. If you are not Diamond Resort members then it might come as a shock to find they will sting you for $25 per night for - wait for it -...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Glyn W
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay here at The Point at Poipu and we are glad that you found our resort ideally located for the activities you had planned. We would like to take this opportunity to advise that resort charges are quite common on the islands, however, we...

San Jose
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We are timeshare owners at the Point at Poipu and have been going every year for about the last ten years. There have been at least three companies that have tried to manage the property and the overall condition has varied with their financial fortunes. At the start, things were good. As the economy got worse, the state of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Halems
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay here at The Point at Poipu and for your continued ownership. We are truly appreciative for our owners here who have had to make a significant contribution to help cover the costs for this construction project. Your comments about the active construction and how it is not interfering with the...

Paso Robles, California, United States
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had a fantastic time at The Point at Poipu. Found a great deal on Living Social and stayed 6 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. There is no beach at The Point but just a short walk you can enjoy the beach next door at the Grand Hyatt or the opposite direction about 1/2 mile to Poipu State Beach. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve E
Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Our one week stay at The Point was very relaxing. We traveled with another couple and the second bedroom was acceptable for them. Accommodations were very comfortable. We had 3rd level room with a ocean front view - 9-302. With windows open we could hear the waves crashing on the beach - just what we requested. The staff was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wazoo34
Rancho Cucamonga
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What a beautiful place. The condo was large and had everything we needed. It was a joy to walk the grounds. There is access to the shore but no swimming, it's all lava rocks, but that is ok the pool was very nice. We would go to the shore at sunset and watch the spectacular show as the waves crash...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esther D
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review! We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Point at Poipu, and we hope we’ll see you again!

Ojai, California
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how large our condo was and how it was decorated. The resort employees were all courteous and very nice. The grounds are well taken care of and clean. The pool has the illusion of being a lagoon...a great place to lounge by or swim in. A perfect place for families or couples. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DLMDLR

1,083 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (578)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (190)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (497)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Pool (80)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (151)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: €262 - €741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Point at Poipu staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from The Point at Poipu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have 2-bedroom oceanview. New housing project going up with WALL will cut off most views from this facility within the next year.”
 of 5 bubbles FamilyTraveler1000, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never had luck requesting a room but they moved us once after a complaint. Ended up with a view with an incredible view.”
 of 5 bubbles budagirl66, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We used our timeshare points, but we had Ocean View which we really didn't need.”
 of 5 bubbles hallofaz, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Partial ocean view to clean front are nice but you pay more”
 of 5 bubbles elsalita, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a partial ocean view. Best value.”
 of 5 bubbles AbsolutelyDubrovnik, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay