We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Point at Poipu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Point at Poipu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 756: English reviews
Start your review of The Point at Poipu
 Click to rate
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was here in Feb 2017 for a family reunion. There was a lot of construction, no beach access, and no restaurant, other than a little take-out grill at the pool bar. The room was large, but not a five star resort, as it claims to be. My biggest complaint with the resort is that the staff is not very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maryann H
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. By sharing your experience we are able to take note of when and where changes can be made to better serve our future guests. We greatly appreciate your assistance in this manner. We were pleased to hear that the bar staff as friendly; however, we regret to read...

Lac
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Diamond international needs to stop selling so we the existing owners can start using our resorts! It is really frustrating when you have to try to book 13 months in advance as a platinum member and when you are lucky enough to get something booked, they make you attend another session where they try extremely hard to sell you more...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Remoeduoh
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A little late with the review, my stay was in November 2016 at the Point at Poipu. Gifted a week at the resort and familiar with Diamond Resorts, the stay was great in spite of the weather. The staff is very processional, helpful. We checked in and asked for a different view room as all we were looking at was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JSSC2014
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! I appreciate the feed back even if you were here in November. It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team...

Turlock, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property does back up to the Ocean, however, no beach access! Unless you take a long trail down, over lava rocks! Construction was going on, but we didn't hear noise from it. We had a garden view, but ours was very nice, as we got a beautiful view of the pool. Our two bedroom was nice, however, the 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carol V
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed. We apologize for the pool and spa being down. Please contact us so we can see how we can assist you with points.

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Feb17-24, 2017. Staying here these days is a mixed bag. Your experience is likely to be determined by your distance from construction. We had booked this a year ago and had called asking for unit away from construction as soon as we heard it had started and were told no problem. We got bldg 2 overlooking the adult spa...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marnie299
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed. Please contact me at your so we can discuss your stay. Mahalo

Cincinnati
Reviewed 21 February 2017

My husband and I made reservations a year in advance for our 52nd wedding anniversary. We requested an ocean front room and the points were taken out of our account. We are Diamond Members. We were made aware of the construction but were assured it would not be a problem. We arrived early, 2:00 PM and told our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John_DCincinnati
Jamie S, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed. Please contact any of our Managers so we can discuss your stay. Mahalo

Auckland
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We stayed here back in July 2016 and I've purposely delayed my review because it didn't get off to a great start. As many have mentioned the construction going on at the resort did impact our holiday. We chose Kauai for its gentle pace and amazing scenery but to be walking through and facing a building site, was disappointing. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1Stylie1
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed. I am glad to hear our managers were able to assist you during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to...

Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stayed in an updated two bedroom condo on an Interval International Exchange. The rooms were not spacious, but well kept and nicely updated. We had a garden view on the lower level of the resort. This resort is large and a lot of construction is going on. We requested a room away from the construction area and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mparker
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed.

Otavalo, Ecuador
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Next time I'd splurge for ocean-view, I think, but the place was great. Very welcoming staff. Very clean. The condo was well-stocked with towels, soap, kitchen stuff, etc. Although we didn't use them, grills were available for use. We saw some whales on one of our morning walks which was amazing. I have to say the pool is VERY pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andra C
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Point at Poipu in the future!

Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Recently stayed at the Point at Poipu during our visit to Kauai from Jan 7 to the 14th. the location is great but the accommodations are pretty average. Our unit was very dated and in need of a renovation. It was spacious and fairly clean but not spotless. the kitchen had the basics. We are Embarc members and had access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lea O
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and grateful your chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacation. ™. As we continue to make improvements at the resort we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

1,103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (598)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (497)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Pool (80)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (151)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: €235 - €618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Point at Poipu staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from The Point at Poipu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about construction!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 443maryannh, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request pool view, as ocean view is limited!”
 of 5 bubbles carolv185, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request build #8 or 9 ocean view and I would request a corner unit”
 of 5 bubbles John_DCincinnati, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Condo by the sea!”
  • Sunrise @ The Point, Poipu
 of 5 bubbles 1Stylie1, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They do have elevators to cut down on stair climbing if that is a concern.”
 of 5 bubbles mparker, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5