We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiahuna Plantation Resort

AMOMAUS$241*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$480*
US$241*
Great Deal
US$442*
US$480*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kiahuna Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,595: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very nice resort.The condos are perfect for families with children. The pool is quite a walk away but we brought a double stroller (a must) with 2 children ages 2 1/2 and 41/2. Every person here is outgoing, friendly and helpful. A truly beautiful experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leenkat9
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review! Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a 10 day stay in one of the one bedroom ground floor condos. We booked the trip through Costco and were happy with our choice. The condo was in need of some renovation and new furniture, but clean and with a great view of the lawn and ocean (more or less depending if you are sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank colentina
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your visit, and nice comments! We hope that you will come back very soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 11 nights and could not have been happier with our choice. We booked directly with the owner via VRBO and stayed in unit #176. The condo was exactly as advertised by the owner. Check-in and check-out via Castle Resorts was extremely smooth and we especially appreciated the speedy check-in after a long day of travel! Do...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FamTravelCurator
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

What a nice, detailed review! Thank you so much! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Kalispell, Montana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time, as per usual :) It started out great with our check in with Liza, or Leeza (sp?) at the Outrigger front desk. She was personable, kind and full of information! We also enjoyed the surf instructor's friendly greeting each morning. Thank you for the attention of the cleaning staff and ground keepers that keep the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wm B
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wm B, Thanks for the five star review. We really appreciate it. See you soon for visit #7. Aloha, Gana Maheshwaran General Manager Kiahuna by Outrigger

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Since these are privately owned condos, the furnishings apparently vary by unit. Unit 5 is literally 10 yards to the beach on the ground level. Looking out right now on young kids surfing. Every conceivable kitchen amenity. Great landscaping. Well worth the splurge.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon H
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind review! Yes, Unit 5 is awesome as are all of our Beachfront units! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

New London
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed at bldg 16 #90 condo and it was average. No enough utensils for one thing, no flipper for eggs, toaster didn't work well (old).they had knives but not a sharp one in the place. Far away from what beach we did have, it was very small, couldn't sit on it. if you wanted to swim or snorkel, had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChopperNewLondon
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear ChopperNewLondon, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. Housekeeping is always willing to supply extra utensils and kitchen tools upon request. Unfortunately, we can't control the ocean nor the weather. At some times during the year our beach shrinks as the surf rises and our trade winds cease to...

Berkeley Vale, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a wonderful stay in Kauai and absolutely fell in love with the place. We stayed in a self contained 1 bedroom unit at the Kiahuna Plantation Resort by outrigger. What an awesome place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, a short walk to the waters edge at the beautiful Poipu beach, plenty of restaurants within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simmo2015
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear simmo2015, Thanks for the nice review. Congratulations on your baby. Hope you will visit again. Warmest Aloha, Gana Maheshwaran General Manager Kiahuna by Outrigger

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 10 days in a one bedroom water view. Our unit was further back from the water than we had liked, as are the majority of the condos here. Our kitchen was fully equipped with everything needed to cook all meals if you want. There is a full sized coffee pot. There are several grills on the property...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mel R
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind review. We hope to see you back again very soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

London
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Located next to our usual destination in Poipu, the Koa Kea, this was the next best choice for us when considering accommodating our 3 couple group. More affordable and sharing the same great beach, what the place lacked in amenities it more than made up for with it's lovely grounds and landscaping. The condos are somewhat tired and a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Watercrake
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear Watercrake, Thanks for the review. We are definitely a good value for the beach front location. Thanks for the recommendation. Aloha, Gana Maheshwaran General Manager Kiahuna by Outrigger

San Diego, California
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Stayed in building 34 in late February, 2017. Our stay was awesome and we will be coming back. Having a full kitchen, living room, bedrooms, etc was fantastic. Will break down our great visit. Location: A+ Our building had a straight shot view of the beach. So glad we got the ocean view. Sitting on our lanai with that great...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Greerman
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear Greerman, THANK YOU for your wonderful detailed review. We appreciate your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon. Aloha, Gana Maheshwaran General Manager Kiahuna by Outrigger

1,403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (935)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (180)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (143)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (291)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (448)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
Beach (36)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View (67)
Viewed
Pool (48)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range: €168 - €395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the ocean view!”
Greerman, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“choose a top floor room to avoid noise from the units above”
DanaEvaschuk, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground flr. room - no elevators that I saw.”
MsBunny2011, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Costs more to stay closer to beach but can be worth it”
adrock3000, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure you know exactly what you're getting when you book- many of the units are on the top level- 3 flights of stairs - no elevators.”
shmatter1, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$241* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$442
Hotels.comUS$480
PricelineUS$380
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates