We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kauai Palms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kauai Palms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kauai Palms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with a full kitchen for three nights late-Nov, which felt like a studio apartment. At this location, you are walking distance to Kauai Brewing Co., a delicious saimin stand, and Dani's restaurant (go for the kalua pig omelet for breakfast with guava juice, yum!). My room was cozy and quiet (I found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyson C
Kettering, Ohio
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I stayed here in an upper single for four nights in November. The first night the room was a bit warm (no air conditioning), but the next day the trades started blowing and the rest of the stay was comfortable. The check in was after hours and by phone but was OK. All my interactions with the front desk the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SenseIntoDollars
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We booked for one night after a long flight from Atlanta. Since we had a condo booked for our stay we decided to stay the day of arrival in Lihue. This hotel is an old motel that is clean but dated. No frills. Lovely management. Window unit air conditioners. Within walking distance to local restaurants. We ate at a local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaperin0
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us after your long trip. We are lucky to be located near the airport and restaurants that serve such good food!!! I am sorry about the hair dryer not being in your room, we keep the hairdryers at our front desk and are ready for our guests to use. As for the area, looks...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Went to Kauai for the trekking/camping and got completely rained out.. After two nights in the wet we decided on skipping yet another one and find refuge at the Palms. The description in the lonely planet was very accurate! Staff was top notch and facilities fabulous. Great value for money and very tidy. ..after that more rain whilst tenting.. wished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rideOmat
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for your kind response. I am so glad we were here for your shelter needs. I do remember that weekend was very wet!!! Hope you will come back to Kauai for another camping trip where there will be nothing but sunshine and clear nights for you. Mahalo, Maria

Belmont, New Hampshire
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Unit #27 - unit infested with little bugs, housekeeping staff has no regard for guests (unit located next to housekeeping/maintenance area and staff noisy/inconsiderate), unit stove/oven broken for years (we paid full price for a functioning fully equipped unit with a kitchen and were not offered compensation for broken appliances), no toaster, only enough utensils/pans/dishes for 1 person so plan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gregg M
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. We make every effort to accommodate all our guests and to provide a pleasant experience. We immediately reviewed your stay and noticed that you were with us for four nights and double checked the room for your comments and did notice that there was not a...

The Dalles, Oregon
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Our stay here was pleasant enough and the cost was less than most. We chose this place for our first night on the island because it was close to the airport and we knew we would be tired. The room was clean and comfortable, though small and a little bit rustic. There wasn't much space to put luggage without tripping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DianeA51
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us on your first night to Kauai. Traveling can be tiring and I am glad we are near the airport for your convenience. We do have rooms which are just the right size for two person and rooms big enough for four persons. Thank you for the comment about the door. We will be...

Seattle
Reviewed 3 November 2016

This is a cute quirky airport side hotel. I throughly enjoyed my stay, the price is a great value for proximity to airport. Friendly staff, hot coffee in the morning, parking, clean, kitchen aminities. Make time to get Siamin at the place around the corner also! Overall awesome experience. Mahalo!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shauna S
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed 2 nights in this motel. The location is ideal, 10 minutes from the airport. Rooms are simple but comfortable. Free coffee 24/7, laundry. No breakfast. The staff is really friendly and always willing to help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaDeBxl
Michigan
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

This motel is a charming, very clean yet older one that we stayed at while waiting to move on. One mile from the Lihue airport makes life easy while in transition. It is so quaint that we loved it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and we would definitely stay there again for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichiganCathy
Wadsworth, Ohio
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Perfect place to land after a really long flight. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Older hotel but well maintained and managed. Would recommend for business trip and for budget conscious travelers. Free parking but no pool or other features there if you want a resort type hotel you will be disappointed. I was very happy there for my first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blueheaven111f

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.8 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
732 reviews
5.2 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,222 reviews
2.3 km away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
9.9 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
10.3 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Price Range: €83 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kauai Palms Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Ottumwa, Iowa
Ottumwa, Iowa
8 months ago
South Lake Tahoe, California

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Palms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check the 'terrible reviews' as well, not just the 'good reviews'”
Savvytravellers54, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get air conditioning. Some rooms don't have it. You will be glad you did.”
debrasB151EE, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have beautiful views of the interior mountains and cross-ventilation.”
KarenA368, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor has mountain view.”
billandgerry2015, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The top floor rooms !”
shaktim2017, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5