We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kauai Palms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Kauai Palms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 255: English reviews
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff was great about accommodating my late night arrival and made sure I could get into my room. I also loved the little mini-kitchen set up and could make nice breakfasts/lunches to take with me for the day. This is also a great place to stay if you want to spend a little time seeing more of the local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdhunter2017
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were very impressed by the hospitality and welcome here! Mokihana, the site manager, organized our late arrival very well and communicated with us effectively before we even left from Seattle. Very recommended and we would book again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
new york city
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, comfortable room, ceiling fan, cable TV, small fridge. Walls are then, so loud fellow guests can be a bother, maybe less so in warmer weather with windows closed and AC on. Friendly, helpful staff. Very close to airport. Lihue is a good location for exploring Kauai.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got in around 3pm December 23. Our room was ready and waiting for us. Maria at the desk was very kind and helpful. We stayed in room 4. The window A/C was more of a fan than air conditioner, but we stayed cool enough with the ceiling fan as well. The room was small and basic, but clean, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with a full kitchen for three nights late-Nov, which felt like a studio apartment. At this location, you are walking distance to Kauai Brewing Co., a delicious saimin stand, and Dani's restaurant (go for the kalua pig omelet for breakfast with guava juice, yum!). My room was cozy and quiet (I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyson C
Kettering, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here in an upper single for four nights in November. The first night the room was a bit warm (no air conditioning), but the next day the trades started blowing and the rest of the stay was comfortable. The check in was after hours and by phone but was OK. All my interactions with the front desk the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SenseIntoDollars
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We booked for one night after a long flight from Atlanta. Since we had a condo booked for our stay we decided to stay the day of arrival in Lihue. This hotel is an old motel that is clean but dated. No frills. Lovely management. Window unit air conditioners. Within walking distance to local restaurants. We ate at a local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaperin0
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us after your long trip. We are lucky to be located near the airport and restaurants that serve such good food!!! I am sorry about the hair dryer not being in your room, we keep the hairdryers at our front desk and are ready for our guests to use. As for the area, looks...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Went to Kauai for the trekking/camping and got completely rained out.. After two nights in the wet we decided on skipping yet another one and find refuge at the Palms. The description in the lonely planet was very accurate! Staff was top notch and facilities fabulous. Great value for money and very tidy. ..after that more rain whilst tenting.. wished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rideOmat
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for your kind response. I am so glad we were here for your shelter needs. I do remember that weekend was very wet!!! Hope you will come back to Kauai for another camping trip where there will be nothing but sunshine and clear nights for you. Mahalo, Maria

Belmont, New Hampshire
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Unit #27 - unit infested with little bugs, housekeeping staff has no regard for guests (unit located next to housekeeping/maintenance area and staff noisy/inconsiderate), unit stove/oven broken for years (we paid full price for a functioning fully equipped unit with a kitchen and were not offered compensation for broken appliances), no toaster, only enough utensils/pans/dishes for 1 person so plan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gregg M
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. We make every effort to accommodate all our guests and to provide a pleasant experience. We immediately reviewed your stay and noticed that you were with us for four nights and double checked the room for your comments and did notice that there was not a...

The Dalles, Oregon
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Our stay here was pleasant enough and the cost was less than most. We chose this place for our first night on the island because it was close to the airport and we knew we would be tired. The room was clean and comfortable, though small and a little bit rustic. There wasn't much space to put luggage without tripping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DianeA51
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us on your first night to Kauai. Traveling can be tiring and I am glad we are near the airport for your convenience. We do have rooms which are just the right size for two person and rooms big enough for four persons. Thank you for the comment about the door. We will be...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.8 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
685 reviews
2.2 km away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
349 reviews
9.8 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,156 reviews
9.9 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
30.6 km away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Price Range: €84 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kauai Palms Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Ottumwa, Iowa
Ottumwa, Iowa
4 months ago
South Lake Tahoe, California

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Palms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms may be quieter as less traffic outside your window”
 of 5 bubbles mdona, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I liked the second floor, but stay in a downstairs for air.”
 of 5 bubbles SenseIntoDollars, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No rooms are worth renting. We paid $125/night for a dump! Photos are decieving.”
 of 5 bubbles 982greggm, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are cheaper, and my friend said that her upstairs room didn't have any ants!”
 of 5 bubbles peaceofkaike, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The extra $ for room with AC is worth it; even if windows have screens, there may not be windows on opposite sides for a good cross-breeze.”
  • Some of the grout lines have minor stains but it was a clean bathroom.
  • Decently clean bathroom with some upgraded fixtures.
  • The mini fridge was in the back of the narrow closet; hard to reach but nice to have.
 of 5 bubbles stevenalice, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay