We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Island Inn

Show Prices
#1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

718 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garden Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 700: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Garden Island Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room large and almost anything we needed was available to be borrowed on a trust basis (DVDs, beach chairs, boogie boards etc.). We were even offered free snacks to take to the beach. it was clean and comfortable. A great place to see the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Linda N
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Aloha, we are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you! We are small, as number of rooms, but we are huge in what we try to provide to our guests. We are so fortunate to love providing guest services on the most enchanting Hawaiian Island, the "Garden Island"...Kauai! Room 16 is awesome, so glad you...

Allyn, Washington
Reviewed 25 January 2015

I just love charming little places and Garden Island Inn didn't disappoint. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The room was charming and roomy. The grounds lush and inviting. They even have a supply of beach chairs, floats and beach towels to borrow. Really came in handy. I found the location great. There are several restaurants, a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank CindyinWA
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review! Charming, roomy, lush and inviting...all great descriptions of our hotel. We are so glad you were not disappointed from reading about us to actually being a guest with us. We look forward to your next visit, and do check out the second and third floor rooms! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne

Los Angeles
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

This was our first visit to Kauai and we were made to feel at home. Very welcoming. Very warm and friendly. The folks in the island are very laid back and friendly. Everyone is very happy. This place is very affordable and extremely welcoming. Truly, a home away from home.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank KSR532
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted your Kauai vacation was filled with happy, friendly experiences. Our staff is so remarkable, we appreciate hearing from you that they exceeded your expectations. Aloha is in our hearts and you having a great time makes our day! Please come back soon. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Onalaska
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

Our second time to stay here. So nice and charming and friendly! Love the paintings and decor! Easy walk to beach and places to eat. Also love the music outside and amenities. Maybe just a little overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SharynLee2014
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

We are a great little place full of tropical art and the gifts of aloha to our guests. Thank you for your repeat visits, we look forward to seeing you again. We love making tropical pumpkin pie and coffee for you in the mornings and picking the tangelo fruit from our tree for you to enjoy as well. I think...

Oregon
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We stayed here for 8 days, visiting to celebrate a family member's 90th birthday. We chose the Garden Island Inn because of its location and reviews. We were not at all disappointed - in fact, it was better than we had expected! Our room was on the bottom level, with a lovely garden area in front and waterfall in back,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Andrea D
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

"Better than you had expected', your experience does not get any better than that!! Thank you so much for spending 8 days with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel with all of our extras, and our wonderful staff. It is easy for us to get attached to our guests and enjoy learning of your daily adventures and island...

Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We stayed here for 2 weeks. We wanted a place centrally located with free wifi and mini kitchen (microwave, SMALL fridge, sink and very small counter area). The bathroom is small without a tub. Free DVD's, beach towels and beach toys. The beach is across the road, through a park and around a stream, a bit of a hike if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aussie1fan
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for two weeks! We are so blessed to have the "very friendly and helpful staff" we work well together, your comfort and guest experience is top priority to us. We do have a selection of room sizes and interior packages bigger mini kitchens, larger mini refrigerators, even bathtub shower. It is so important to...

Niagara
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I had booked the Garden Island Inn because it was minutes from the airport and given a late afternoon arrival by air , driving to our eventual destination was something I wanted to leave until the next day. We were familiar with Lihue from a previous trip and new the Inn was walking distance to many shops, restaurants and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niagaranomad
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! Your 5 stars on the one night stay mean a lot to us. It is nice to get off the plane to tropical paradise and start to relax and unwind. Our wonderful staff makes booking, checking in, checking out and serving you a pleasant experience. Extraordinary guest service provided with ALOHA is our signature...

Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 3 January 2015

My family of 4 stayed here 1 night following a long flight to Kauai. Garden Island Inn is so charming, comfortable, and clean. The staff at Garden Island Inn could not have been more helpful or friendly. We loved being located right across the street from a lovely beach, shops, and restaurants. Dinner at Duke's after a long flight was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jerri R
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, glad you feel you discovered a GEM! It is good to get off the plane to unwind before more travel to your final destination. Many of our guest choose us as we are so close to the airport, and still a lovey resort at Kalapaki Beach! We enjoy families, children enjoy feeding...

Missouri
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We only had a room for one night but would be glad to stay longer. The owners really make you feel like you are family staying at their home and do so many little things that no other place would think of. This is an excellent location where you can walk to restaurants, shopping and a great beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grotimax
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 23 December 2014

My husband and I stayed here only for one night before moving into our timeshare resort, but would have liked to stayed longer. Garden Island Inn is a real gem on Kauai. Across the street from Kalapaki Beach and a couple of miles from the Lihue airport, it would be a great place even for someone who doesn't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Matter_of_fact_8

527 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Orchid Room (50)
Viewed
Palm Room (40)
Viewed
Second Tropical Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Tropical Room (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Price Range: €138 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Island Inn staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Brooklyn, Michigan

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no bad rooms here. All have a "garden view" with some with partial ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles knspence, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift at this property, so specific a ground floor room unless you want to lug your bags up concrete stairs.”
  • One of two paintings in my room
  • Painted room door - they all are
  • Painted light switch in my room
  • Painted door to my room
  • Even the rock door stop is painted
 of 5 bubbles GrantM317, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“3 or more travelers go for the Condo”
 of 5 bubbles kevinp1966, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back side is quieter has view of garden. Front side faces ocean Good view”
 of 5 bubbles donalde989, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have beach facing balconies. Suites are available.”
 of 5 bubbles drdavepittman, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5