We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Save
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good26%
  • Average15%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“other guests”(7 reviews)
“night's sleep”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
48
22
20
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
48
22
20
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmet great peopleother guestsnight's sleepstayed here for nightsclean sheetskalalau trailbeach houseliving areacentral locationcurfewislandalohahammocksearplugsbeachesroosters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Good location just off main highway which brings traffic noise but also convenience to town amenities. Good parking, nice garden in need of care and could be spectacular with input. Firstly, beyond anyone's control are the valley full of crowing roosters a supposed icon of...More

6  Thank kimiora3
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Overall we had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and the owners cooked dinner for everyone on christmas day. Met some cool people at the hostel and has a nice family feel. The bathrooms were a little bit dirty but not bad for...More

Thank miagasero
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Let's start with the good things: You are only a short walk away from the town center and the beach. End of good things. Where shall I start. The people working (and living there) are weird and more concerned about their fun than anything else....More

11  Thank Katrin G
Response from GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 19 July 2017

Aloha, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and felt we didn't clean well enough for you. We have completely renovated one of our dormitories and given people, such as yourself the option to choose a newly renovated dormitory. We hope you will choose...More

Reviewed 21 January 2017

Cool staff, cool people. We changed hostel after our bad experience at Beach House. The vibe of Honu'ea Internation Hostel was more respectful for travelers. We met great people there. I recommend this place more than the other one.

1  Thank Zoey F
Response from GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 19 July 2017

Aloha, Mahalo for your review and hope to see you again soon! A me ke aloha

Reviewed 14 January 2017

This hostel has cool and friendly staff, a quiet atmosphere and a nice location. It has a big lawn suitable for morning ab-training. Unfortunately no breakfast included. Easy to get to know people. Reccomended!

Thank Therese M
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
awilson021576
22 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dmitri O | Reviewed this property |
You can get a locker(sort of) for a few bucks extra. Frankly not a particularly secure locker, but it seems like there's nothing to really worry about in that place.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"private room back of hostel not on roadside"
Read review
"Windows next to stairs in courtyard seemed like a bad idea. People up and down them all the time."
Read review
"Second floor, you hear less the roosters."
Read review
"Get the superior/deluxe private room - you're away from the dorms and wont have to worry about waking..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing