We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Honu\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had the time of my life staying at this hostel. This was my first big solo trip and my first time staying a hostel. I felt completely at home here and it felt like everyone was a big family by the end of my stay. The hostel is a block away from lots of shops and restaurants and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria C
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I called to make a reservation 8 months in advance as I wasn't able to do this online. The simple answer was that reservations can only be made up to 6 months in advance, but the way in which this was delivered was very rude. I was bounced between different staff who were both dismissive of everything I was saying,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Simon T
GM_Honuea, Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Aloha, We remember you very clearly as you called on Tuesday 4/4 looking to book in December. I am very sorry if you thought I was rude, but I was merely trying to explain, several times, that we do not accept reservations more than six months in advance. Personally I don't think it should have gotten as far as needing...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2017

i saw very bad comments on the trip advisor but i thought its ok place to stay . location is good in centre of kappa . there is a organic super market near by and only few minute of walk to the beach . I stayed in a girls dorm and the room is okay but they will need to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank persi73
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Good location just off main highway which brings traffic noise but also convenience to town amenities. Good parking, nice garden in need of care and could be spectacular with input. Firstly, beyond anyone's control are the valley full of crowing roosters a supposed icon of Kauai - crowing at 1am,3ametc. Staff helpful, friendly. Hostel in addition to the manager, is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kimiora3
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Overall we had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and the owners cooked dinner for everyone on christmas day. Met some cool people at the hostel and has a nice family feel. The bathrooms were a little bit dirty but not bad for a hostel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miagasero
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Let's start with the good things: You are only a short walk away from the town center and the beach. End of good things. Where shall I start. The people working (and living there) are weird and more concerned about their fun than anything else. I arrived at 11, during opening hours but before the official checkin. I knew that,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Katrin G
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Cool staff, cool people. We changed hostel after our bad experience at Beach House. The vibe of Honu'ea Internation Hostel was more respectful for travelers. We met great people there. I recommend this place more than the other one.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoey F
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This hostel has cool and friendly staff, a quiet atmosphere and a nice location. It has a big lawn suitable for morning ab-training. Unfortunately no breakfast included. Easy to get to know people. Reccomended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese M
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel has a great atmosphere and lots of character. It is fairly small so that it is super easy to get to know people, and I loved hanging out on the patio with the other guests! The rules about quiet times and the use of the kitchen made total sense to me as they put everyone in the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uta F
New England
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I hate to leave a bad review, but I have stayed in hundreds of hostels and have stayed in only one other hostel as poorly kept as this one. They sweep daily and clean the bathrooms and kitchen. Lots of other places are grimy, doors have holes in them, one of the dorm doors to the outside does not lock...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ExploringCuriously
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for leaving a review. We are happy you had a great stay despite our minor flaws. We do clean daily and try our best to make sure all questions are answered as thoroughly as possible by our one person office staff. We are available every day 11am-9pm for questions, comments or suggestions. Or I am always available by email....

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.1 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
324 reviews
3.0 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
747 reviews
7.8 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,244 reviews
2.5 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aloha and welcome to our family owned, family operated 34 person hostel on the amazing island of Kaua'i! Our hostel has enforced quiet hours from 10pm-7am. We are not a party style hostel. We hope guests will take advantage of our low prices and quality service so that you may enjoy Kauai hikes and outdoor activities that are our premier location provides. Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai resides in the heart of Kapa'a Town, across the street from Kapa'a Beach Park! Take a stroll or bike down the 7 mile Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("The Path that Goes by the Coast") that stretches from Wailua Town past Kealia Beach Point with amazing surf and spectacular views! Or, do some shopping at some of the best locally owned shops on Kauai. Dine in amazing restaurants or cook your own food in our large, newly decorated kitchen/common areas. We have two dorm rooms with ten beds, women's only dorms, four private rooms (inside the dorms), and two deluxe rooms. All dorms have a private room and a shared bath en-suite. The two deluxe rooms are in the main house, share a bathroom and do not have restrictions on kitchen hours. We have common areas available to all registered guests that include lanai (covered patio), several garden seating areas, hammock and TV room. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and Free WiFi is provided for all registered guests. Please, registered guests and new check ins only. *We most always have room for walk-ins 3pm-9pm, aloha! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: €22 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai HI - Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private room back of hostel not on roadside”
kimiora3, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Windows next to stairs in courtyard seemed like a bad idea. People up and down them all the time.”
252wilsont, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Second floor, you hear less the roosters.”
schalifoux1, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get the superior/deluxe private room - you're away from the dorms and wont have to worry about waking people up! :)”
BrokeTraveller88, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Listen when they say no food in your room or you will end up with ants in your bag which isn't too fun :')”
C2173QIlauraw, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates