We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

    4532 Lehua St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in KapaaSee available hotels in Kapaa
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Overview
    • Excellent43%
    • Very good25%
    • Average16%
    • Poor8%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (124)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 107 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    I had a great time, staff was friendly, great location and good settings outdoor. I met a lot of people there and visit the island having fun! The dorm was cute, confortable, clean. The kitchen is small for so many people and just to bad...More

    Thank lochbee
    Reviewed 29 October 2017

    Do not book this hostel unless you like cockroaches and dirty rooms! Pros: Good location, ok friendly staff, nice atmosphere among travellers We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and it was definitely not a great experience or worth the money! We had planned...More

    4  Thank fknielsen
    Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

    Really enjoyed my week on Kauai was very sad to leave. Partly down to this hostel which is a lovely chilled place to stay whilst on the island. Kapaa is a very central location and easy to get everywhere from the hostels location in Kapaa...More

    Thank 08Kates
    Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

    I had the time of my life staying at this hostel. This was my first big solo trip and my first time staying a hostel. I felt completely at home here and it felt like everyone was a big family by the end of my...More

    Thank Alexandria C
    Response from GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 19 July 2017

    Mahalo nui for staying with us and taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. A me ke aloha

    Reviewed 5 April 2017

    I called to make a reservation 8 months in advance as I wasn't able to do this online. The simple answer was that reservations can only be made up to 6 months in advance, but the way in which this was delivered was very rude....More

    8  Thank Simon T
    Response from GM_Honuea, Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 8 April 2017

    Aloha, We remember you very clearly as you called on Tuesday 4/4 looking to book in December. I am very sorry if you thought I was rude, but I was merely trying to explain, several times, that we do not accept reservations more than six...More

    Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
    2,191 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.8 km
     
    Garden Island Inn Hotel
    832 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Lihue
    13.7 km
     
    Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
    6,630 reviews
    #2 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    25.7 km
     
    Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
    1,071 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Poipu
    26.8 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersSilver level
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Multilingual Staff
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$25 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Hawaii >
    • Kauai >
    • Kapaa
    • Also Known As
    • Kauai International Hotel Kapaa ,
    • Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai HI - Kapaa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (36)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Hee Fat General Store
    481 reviews
    .25 km away
    Java Kai
    658 reviews
    .14 km away
    Wailua Shave Ice - Kauai
    131 reviews
    .37 km away
    Pono Market
    410 reviews
    .37 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Duke's Kayak Adventures
    156 reviews
    .08 km away
    The Glass Shack
    20 reviews
    .27 km away
    Elevate Wellness
    149 reviews
    .31 km away
    Coconut Coasters Beach Bike Rentals
    187 reviews
    .50 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    awilson021576
    22 March 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Dmitri O | Reviewed this property |
    You can get a locker(sort of) for a few bucks extra. Frankly not a particularly secure locker, but it seems like there's nothing to really worry about in that place.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "private room back of hostel not on roadside"
    Read review
    "Windows next to stairs in courtyard seemed like a bad idea. People up and down them all the time."
    Read review
    "Second floor, you hear less the roosters."
    Read review
    "Get the superior/deluxe private room - you're away from the dorms and wont have to worry about waking..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing