We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
07/06/2017 08/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hale Ho\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We spent a lovely week at the B & B with hosts Toby and Kirby. We actually stayed here last September and we promised we would write a review, but unfortunately things got hectic upon our arrival back home; it slipped our minds. The rooms and common spaces are beautiful. Just a short walk to the beach and only minutes...

1Thank William H
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We want to mahalo you for taking the time to write a review about us. Yes we did have an adorable baby ( an infant) with us and that is unusual as while we love babies ( especially our furry ones) our home is over 16ft off the ground so once babies walk they need to be about 7 for...

Reviewed 9 July 2016

We have recently returned from 5 nights staying at this Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful time. We haven't stayed at a B & B before, so we were not sure what to expect. Toby and Kirby are wonderful, friendly and welcoming hosts. They are very helpful in recommending different things to see and do, and lovely to chat...

Thank Kimberley M
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoy what we do and treasure the opportunity to create friendships with our guests and encourage them to make themselves at home. Glad you liked your breakfast, Toby really takes great pride preparing for his guests. We also love being so close to our great northshore beaches and don't...

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I came to Kauai after staying on Big Island for the first part of our honeymoon. We stayed at a hotel chain in Big Island, so we wanted to try a bed and breakfast while staying in Kauai. Hale Ho'o Maha met all of our expectations! Kirby and Toby were very welcoming and helpful. You can tell...

Thank Cory R
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so glad you chose to stay at our B&B...it is such a different way to see the island. We truly enjoy what we provide our guests and are grateful for your review of our home. Its true the WIFI can be spotty and then again you are on the northern tip of the most remote island in the...

Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Staying at a bed and breakfast like this is a great alternative to other options - local knowledge, great size rooms, good breakfasts, all you need for the beach and genuine people. Loved our 4 night stay - 10 minutes out of Hanelei in a quiet spot near the beach - a further 5 minutes on and you are at...

Thank Reece W
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Really loved and appreciated your review of our home. We have taken great care in considering not only our location but all the details that make our home a great spot for your northshore Kauai vacation. The nice thing about our island also it that you can drive from one side to the other in a couple of hours so...

Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We had booked the Papaya Room directly with the owner, Kirby, over the phone on 2.11.16. Kirby called us on 5.3.16 to tell us the room had been booked by someone else through EXPEDIA, prior to our booking. He said he just discovered the overbooking and that he would have to give the room to the folks that booked through...

6Thank Colleen W
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha Dear Wow, We want to apologize from our hearts for this situation. This normally doesn't happen and we know there is not another traditional bed and breakfast closeby on our northshore. We would like to make this up to you and offer you 'space available" 4 nights on us...if you will give us a try. Please let us show...

San Clemente, California
Reviewed 7 May 2016

The Hale Ho'o Maha is a great place to relax in the most laid-back part of a laid-back island. The hosts, Toby and Kirby are friendly and helpful. The facilities are beautiful and modern. Our room had a nice bath with plenty of hot water. There is Wi-Fi throughout the building and a computer and printer for guests to use....

Thank Frank M
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Mahalo Nui for your gracious review! We have taken great care to provide an environment that is both modern, beautiful and rich in "Aloha" for an authentic experience. So glad you took advantage of our extra amentities and helped us eat those jelly bellies...we wouldn't want to eat them all ourselves! Thankyou for the tip to update our DVD collection,...

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Hale Ho'o Maha (House of Rest) Bed & Breakfast for 3 wonderful nights in February 2016, and we would highly recommend it. As my wife said, it was like staying in a tree house as all the rooms and common areas are on the second floor served by a very unique elevator, and...

Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We want to mahalo you for your lovely review of our home and contribution to your holiday experience. We take great pride and pleasure in continuing to create a special, peaceful environment where the famous "aloha spirit" can be felt, understood and experienced. We so look forward to your future visits so we may become your island Ohana while we...

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We were at Hale O'o Maha for the entire month of February, 2016. It was a great experience. The host couple was wonderful. Facilities were great. Spacious rooms. Large bathrooms. Great showers. Views of tropical vegetation and mountains abound. Common areas are large. Full kitchen and laundry facilities available. Breakfasts were incredible. Omelets, french toast, pancakes, eggs benedict, on and...

1Thank Norman C
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha Charles Ohana, We were delighted to have you with us! We love providing excellent stays to our extended family! We are so glad you enjoyed your time. Toby will be so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts and our beach supplies. We got to relax with you here...you are both such great company! Please do return any minute you like...

Cupertino, California
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay while on the North Side of Kauai. The B&B is very well kept up. There are many amenities such as washer and dryer, hot tub, beach gear, snorkels, etc. The owners are pleasant and have a lot of information on what to do in Kauai. Toby's jokes need a little work, but he gets an A...

1Thank Richard F
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Ohana, We want to mahalo you for your sweet review. We are so glad you appreciated our attention to details and enjoy our knowledge of the island and (somewhat) our small town jokes. We will see about some updates there. Delighted you loved your breakfast...that is one of Toby's greatest artistic ventures besides auto works of art :o) Look...

walton on thames
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the mango room . The room is lovely with a great view of the mountain and ver well appointed. The bathroom had a great shower overlooking the mountain. Breakfast was cooked freshly every morning by Toby and it was different every time with fresh local fruit and original syrups.Probably someone with a healthy appetite might...

Thank toothlady66
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We also love the Mango room. The outdoor shower down next to the hottub is perfect for hikers returning from a muddy Kalalau trip. We are really enjoying preparing the fruit and vegetables from our garden and granted fruit is not as filling as say pancakes. We do offer these and french toast and perhaps big eaters need to...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (106)
View from Room (6)
Room/Suite (17)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Dining (3)
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Bathroom (1)
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Amenities (7)
Guava Suite (27)
Mango Suite (23)
Papaya Suite (27)
Pineapple Suite (27)
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Room/Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (3)
View from Room (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (6)
07/06/2017 08/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,708 reviews
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Kauai's famous North Shore, this new home features 4 tropical suites with ocean or mountain views. Exactly 110 steps to pristine Wainiha Bay and 15 minutes to great restaurants, golf, shopping, diving & snorkeling. Full breakfasts served each morning. Hula & lei making taught weekly. All suites have full private baths and lanai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7083 Alamihi Rd., Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Price Range: €222 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`o Maha Bed And Breakfast
Hale Ho`o Maha Hotel Hanalei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A little bit of the view of the ocean is the Pineapple Room”
M6818MRkellys, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Pineapple Suite has the best ocean view”
wendyw409, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All three rooms are just as good, and each has a different tropical theme.”
Hope4755, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Mango has an air conditioner if you need or want that.”
KimRinger111, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Pineapple room. It had some ocean views and an awesome shower!”
456WilliamH456, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates