We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chalet Kilauea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chalet Kilauea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Kilauea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Quad Cities, Illinois
Reviewed 15 February 2015

We stayed for two nights with another couple (two rooms). I made the reservations for both rooms, based upon the reviews and pictures provided. However, when we arrived, I was really taken back. I was embarrassed to tell the other couple that this was where we were staying. The ceilings were very low and it was damp with dehumidifiers being...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank FMOmbrello
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Fun place to stay. We felt that we really were in Hawaii. The Continental is very large and comfortable. We slept like logs. Bring food for breakfast. The restaurants around here are expensive (even for Hawaii) and run on island time. The parking spots are a bit narrow but we had no problems.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randalljay
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in the Continental room! We hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation and please come see us again on any future trips to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha!

Rotterdam
Reviewed 6 January 2015

After arriving we were quickly checked in, although the reception was said to be closed at around 5 PM (and we were about 30 minutes later) there was still someone present. We resided in the 'Java' room. Not the biggest but we don't really bother about that. I can imagine people complain about the edges of the bet (foot-end) sticking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaxPeen
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We are glad that you enjoyed the Garden room and found the complimentary WiFi and coffee to be a welcome amenity during your stay. It's great that you were able to enjoy the National Park and hope that you will come stay with us again if ever in the area....

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Chalet Kilauea was a lovely inn. There isn't a prepared breakfast, but plenty of oatmeal, coffee, and papaya- giving it a bed and breakfast type of feel. The location was ideal for visiting Volcaoes park, as well as Hilo and many locations on the windward side of the Big Island. The inn had lovely rooms, set in a rainforest. Try...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christopher M
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and were able to enjoy some of the local restaurants (Thai Thai) while you were visiting. We hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i. Mahalo and Aloha!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Its a beautiful, spacious, comfortable room with wall to wall windows to the garden, a huge bathroom and a shared jacuzzi steps away under a gazebo. The bed was comfortable for both of us... We like different firmness levels and the room looked and smelled clean throughout. We upgraded after having booked a different room in their nearby property which...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gerargcan
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience in the Bamboo room. It's great that you were able to make use of the jacuzzi while you were here! We hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i....

Carmel Valley, CA
Reviewed 29 November 2014

We booked this place through hotels.com and got placed in the Africa room. Apparently it is the smallest room they have. The room has no exterior windows. You have to step down and walk down a short hallway to get to open deck where coffee maker and refrig are. The bathroom requires quite a step down and switch is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CBELaur
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that you had a less than pleasant stay in the Africa room. Africa is one of the more popular rooms, as it is booked every night of the year. However, when guests have special requirements, we always recommend booking directly with us versus a third party website....

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early November 2014. We were originally booked into the Treetop (?) Room but couldn't get our suitcases up the narrow spiral staircase, and were concerned abut night-time trips down to the bathroom, on the main level. There was no closer or dresser in the bedroom, or room for a suitcase, so we figured...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adeliegentoo
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that we were able to move you into the right room for you. The Bamboo room is a great room. Also, we appreciate your feedback and recommendations. We have since replaced the lights outside with motion lights!!...

Cambridge Springs
Reviewed 16 November 2014

While in the area visiting the Volcanoes National Park, we stayed overnight here.... The grounds are landscaped beautifully, and the room we had " The Bamboo Room" , was awesome! Huge 2 person walk-in shower, plus fixed up really cool.... Well worth the price if you need to stay in the area overnight..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CharlieB24
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo for providing your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to provide the review. It's great that you enjoyed our Bamboo room!! It has quickly become one of the employee and guests' favorites with all of it's modern and artsy touches. We hope you will come back and visit on any future vacations to the...

Reviewed 14 November 2014

Lovely rooms...very spacious & quiet setting. The hot tub was nice, with fresh towels available at the hot tub gazebo. Our shower was huge. The only downside is the office wasn't open until 0730 for the fruit & coffee. There was a coffee maker in the room though .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crisscrossusa
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea Collection!! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for your travel plans. We hope you will visit again if ever in the area. Mahalo and aloha!!!

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 10 November 2014

The hotel it is very good located, related to the National Park, in less tan 5 min you are in the park. The Hotel is very nice, in the middle of the Woods, so it is very quiet. We got the Bamboo room which was great, very big, with nice bed and a super view to the center of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TotoOcadiz
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to provide comments on your experience of the Bamboo room. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the room and found that it was just what you needed for your stay with us. It's also great that our recommendations were helpful in planning your time in the Volcanoes National Park! We hope you...

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.4 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.9 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
726 reviews
36.4 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
36.7 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
86.6 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: €79 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chalet Kilauea staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Kilauea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are many types of lodging at the Chalet.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieH1962, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I can't speak to other rooms since each one is different, but 101 was generally ok.”
 of 5 bubbles travelreimagined_jen, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room thats advertised in ad with a kitch inside. Hope you like it hotf and sticky inside.”
 of 5 bubbles darcir714, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the Deluxe Bungalow!!”
 of 5 bubbles KailuaGal, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Accommodation decor varies wildly - call to be sure you get what you're after. We had room #4 which was delightfully unique.”
  • Cavernous Shower.
  • Quirky Kitchen.
  • Double Sinks.
  • Kitchenette and Gas Fire.
  • Jungle View and Plenty of Room.
  • Our Room's Entryway
 of 5 bubbles CKimoff, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay