We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,480: English reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

To be fair, they are renovating the hotel. I would wait until the renovation is done. This hotel has the most beautiful location in Hilo. The views of the bay are breathtaking. The hotel however is very run down. The view from our lanai almost made up for it, but not quite. The staff was very nice and breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dlsalatino
auckland
Reviewed 15 May 2013

NOT GREAT... I spent a night at the Castle Hilo Hawaiian hotel to visit the volcano - I am not a 'fussy' person with regards to hotel rooms - but I did not like this hotel - the room was scruffy with wallpaper coming away from the walls in the corner - the outdoor furniture on the deck was rusty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank annemoore
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I do apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I will share your thoughts with the management team and check the areas of concern. Due to feedback from our loyal guests, the owners are currently refreshing the hotel's guest rooms. They've started in April and will...

Itasca, Illinois
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The reason is if you wish to take a fabulous drive around the Big Island, your best bet is to do it this way. Starting out from Kailua-Kona take I90 through Parker Ranch. Stop off there at L&L BBQ for a fun lunch. Go into Parker Ranch Store for free samples of "jerky". Proceed to Highway 19. You'll see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
New York, NY
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The staff is terrific and tries hard, but this is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The rooms are musty, even mildewy, and nothing works. The electric outlets haven't been updated in decades, there are no amenities in the room, I can't begin to list all the things I did not like about this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mem212
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Aloha! Please accept my sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations. Living in the tropics where humidity is very high and with open air through our lanai doors, mildew does occasionally form. We do our best by general cleaning our rooms twice a year by wiping down our walls with a sanitizing agent. I will have...

Longmont, CO
Reviewed 8 May 2013

It was a bit tricky to find in the dark, but a pleasant surprise once we got there. It definitely appeared to be the best of the lot around bay. Its date of construction was irrelevant to us. The most important thing is that it's comfortable, quiet, clean, and offers decent food at fairly reasonable prices. I think it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ginakLongmont_CO
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A very sedate mature hotel in the 60's style. Very clean and calmly managed. Particularly liked the open feel of the lobby. We had a problem with the movies on demand but that was sorted out and refunded by the hotel. Rooms on the bay side have a superb early morning view of Hilo and Mauna Kea. Parking is plentiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarthRamsey
Salem, OR
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Castle Hilo Hawaiian is in a good location. It was easy to access the local restaurants, an impressive farmer's market, and several parks that run along the waterfront. The need for updating is being addressed as they are working on updating the hotel which is a lengthy process. Our standard room was spacious enough, and had a private lanai...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michellee5000
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Everyone loves the slower, 1950s style of Hilo; so why do reviewers try to make it otherwise? Hilo is not Kailua-Kona. Hilo is not Kona. Hilo is not Disneyland on the beach. HILO IS NOT a an endless party for bored mainlanders. You come here for a window of an old Hawaii rapidly disppearing with the influx of scared, insecure...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pelhamgirl
San Carlos, California
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Hilo Hawaiian is a strange place. There's good and bad here. I'll start with the bad. The hotel looks like it was probably built in the 1950s. The rooms look like they haven't been changed since then. Linoleum floors in the bathrooms, worn-out carpet, dated furniture. The air-conditioner gave out a musty / moldy smell. Even though our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Majka
Reviewed 29 April 2013

horrible! we paid over $250 for a SUITE that is ugly, old, outdated, & pretty small! for this price we couldv had a nice room at the hilton in waikaloa. TV's are attached to the walls, so if you bring a xbox or something you cant use it! if you want internate, you HAVE to go to the lobby. NO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omgicantbelievethis
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests: Aloha! Please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations. We are not the Hilton Waikoloa and we do not claim to be. Our suites are the largest and most expensive rooms we have and I am sure suites at the Hilton Waikoloa must be a lot more than $250 a night. They probably also charge...

745 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (723)
Viewed
View from Room (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (199)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
98.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
84.7 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
654 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
88.7 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Price Range: €131 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
Beaver Creek, Canada
4 months ago
washington state
Phoenix, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a bay view for the best view is you are wanting to see the best views”
 of 5 bubbles johngA8896FZ, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great views from 8th floor”
 of 5 bubbles LuckyGirl03, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors toward the ends are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can upgrade to the water view, it's worth it”
 of 5 bubbles 788debras, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to get a waterfront room.”
 of 5 bubbles 154jillianr, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5