We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Halemalu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Halemalu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This was our first trip to the Big Island, my family and I needed a place to stay at the last minute. All hotels were booked for the night. Luckily my husband found this place online which stated it had 4 rooms left for $110/night. Who would pass up a deal like that compared to 240+/night at a high-end hotel?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sha P
Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Eric is the owner and a wonderful, generous and informative host. The accommodation is large, clean, well fitted out and right next to all the major Captain Cook attractions. The accommodation is self contained with a most generous kitchen downstairs, full laundry and many other conveniences. As I said Eric is a great host and you deserve a night or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray K
California
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Nothing fancy but each unit comes with two bedrooms and living and dining area. Very spacious. There is a shared kitchen and a sitting room with TV downstairs. The owner made us feel very welcome. There are fruit and macadamia nut trees on the property and you can pick any that is in season. All in all, a nice clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor L
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Halemalu is a great location for exploring the 'real' Hawaii, away from the usual touristy areas and the set-up is also very good. Roomy two-bedroom suites + bath with communal kitchen & dining. Laundry facilities at reasonable cost and lots of good quality towels! If you're afraid of ants, stay away - it's the tropics, so they are there. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen V
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2015

I think this was the first time that after booking, I immediately received an email from the owner effectively writing ‘Are you really sure you want to stay here?. I’d thoroughly researched Halemalu before I’d booked so after finding no surprises in the email I confirmed our booking. When reading this review, have in your mind an upscale hostel rather...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DadandCab
Soldotna, Alaska
Reviewed 12 March 2015

I stayed five nights at Halemalu and it was not worth the $110 a night. The apt. was large two bedroom but hadn't been vacuumed in a while. The beds and pillows where very old and very uncomfortable. When my head hit the pillow for the first time I could smell that funky smell when you haven't changed the sheets...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim S
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

As the owner of Halemalu it always concerns me when I see a review like this especially considering the fact that I am also the one who cleans the rooms after each check out. The linens are laundered after EVERY check out. We NEVER leave unlaundered linens on the beds for the next guest. Again I know this as a...

Weil am Rhein, Germany
Reviewed 17 November 2014

The huge 2-bedroom suites are in a separate building with a fully equipped shared kitchen and lounge. There are a lot of different fruit trees on the property and you are free to pick whatever is ready for harvest. The location is perfectly suited for access to the Captain Cook/Keleakekua area, but Kailua is also within in 20min drive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nhf1980
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 7 November 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of July 2014. My husband woke up with such severe marks all over his arms that we thought he was having an allergic reaction. It turned out to be bed bugs and it was clearly a severe infestation. The worst part is that I called before making our reservation and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank brittanylwilson85
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

We have never had a bug problem before this guest arrived. The guest did not mention the problem to us until a few weeks after they departed. We would have given the guest another room had they notified us while they were here. Of course we did find the problem after they left and called in the exterminators to eliminate...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

You couldn't possibly do any better than this for the price. Two bedroom suite with kitchen and living room for $100. What a great deal. Suites are spacious, comfortable and clean. Owner was very nice and accommodating. When we told him our plans he actually let us know how we could have an even better time by tweaking our original...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luxzilla
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This place is not a fancy resort right on the beach, so if that is what you have in mind, it is not for you. It is a simple 2BR/1BA suite with a living room that will sleep up to 6. Super reasonable for a small group and a great location if you are trying to snorkel at Honaunau. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geosupergeek

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
0.8 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
18.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
18.4 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
18.0 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
436 reviews
9.0 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Big Island of Hawaii on the beautiful Kona coast, Halemalu has become a world premier individual, family, or group vacation rental property. The Halemalu Estate Villa is situated on a private five acre Botanical Garden Estate in Captain Cook and is ready to welcome you or your group. Our two bedroom suites offer a better value and are far more spacious compared to any hotel, lodge, inn or bed & breakfast. Plus our facilities are designed to accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Halemalu

Address: 81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Price Range: €115 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halemalu 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Halemalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Halemalu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are large, with comfy chairs. Upstairs and down. No lift.”
 of 5 bubbles raykool, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The ocean view rooms are the best because the balconies have a great view of the coast.”
 of 5 bubbles DadandCab, 19 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs, room West has the best view”
 of 5 bubbles ulisselazio, 4 Jun 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay