We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Canoe Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chetek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 235: English reviews
Start your review of Canoe Bay
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Do NOT get intimidated by the approximately 5 hour drive from the northern Chicago suburbs. Canoe Bay is worth it, even if it's just for 2 nights- which is what we did. If I had to choose between Canoe Bay or Kohler for a couples weekend away, Canoe Bay would win hands down! We splurged for a freestanding "cabin." If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravel833
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last spring we stayed at Canoe Bay and were delighted with the accommodations, food, services, and setting. This winter, with lots of snow on the ground, we returned and were even happier with everything. Can't recommend this lovely resort more highly, but consider it a six-star location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbmarcus
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband took me here for my birthday in July. What an amazing experience. On our visit we toured the gardens, which are impressive and the on-site produce is used in the so much of the food served. The wine list is wonderful and the attention to detail is fantastic. We'll return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 30 December 2016

A great place to relax and unwind with top notch food and accommodations. Beautiful lake location with the very best in service. Once you go, you will be back! No children! No Smoking! Great relaxing place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice couples resort. Buried in some heavy woods and thus private. Accommodations, food and service were all very good, but pretty pricy. Plenty to do for active types or couples just looking to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom J
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 15 October 2016

This is a quiet, personal space in a nature setting away from the normal rush. This is a five star luxury retreat (a Relais & Chateaux property) – a 300 acre forested country estate 10 miles from a four-lane highway. There is a picturesque small lake at the center of the resort area. The rooms and cabins are scattered over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike B
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My now wife, then girlfriend spent a long weekend here. It was very quiet and we were never bothered. The cabin was super nice, well equipped and cozy. I proposed here. This is a great place to come and be alone, top notch! We would certainly come back again. It is so quiet and beautiful. The grounds and amenities are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason C
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 October 2016

What fascinates me to no end, is how many people in this world are thrilled about spending $600/night to stay in a tiny wood cabin. I am definitely going to look into building something like this as a retirement project since sooooo many people are willing to part with BIG money for nothing but quiet space.........cause that's ALL you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhgdds
Chicago
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We visited Canoe Bay for our 15th wedding anniversary. While the room was very nice and the grounds were pretty, the overall experience for us was disappointing. To start, the resort seemed to make a big deal about how difficult the resort is to find to the point of making me apprehensive about finding it and feeling stressed. We found...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank purplevelvet
Lisa D, Owner at Canoe Bay, responded to this review

Dear PurpleVelvet, We’re honored you selected Canoe Bay as a beautiful, comfortable site for your special getaway. Your observations about the driving directions are appreciated! I’ve toned things down a bit on that count, and am glad to know you had no trouble finding us. However, we are dismayed that our food program is apparently at odds with your preferences....

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I must admit I came up by myself this trip while my wife was in Europe. I came up only to fish in the beautiful, peaceful lake. The trip was not successful catching the bass I envisioned due to the extremely hot weather this summer, but the buckets of bluegill and perch caught proved to be fun also. I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onceinawhile31

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetek
12.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
26.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
25.6 km away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 7 in Rice Lake
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
Gathering Place Resort & Lodge
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This resort is for adults seeking seclusion and romance; children are not allowed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canoe Bay

Address: W16065 Hogsback Rd, RR 1, Box 28, Chetek, WI 54728
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Chetek
Price Range: €256 - €687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Chetek
Canoe Bay Hotel Chetek
Canoe Bay Wisconsin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canoe Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Canoe Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There appear to be no bad rooms here”
 of 5 bubbles jasoncF3453GN, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask around and see if friends will let you stay at their lake home on a weekend......”
 of 5 bubbles mhgdds, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I doubt if you could find a "bad" room here.”
 of 5 bubbles onceinawhile31, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a stand alone cabin-the decks are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles NancyGivs, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Library rooms=wonderful, but not as private. Cabins=awesome+private. Restaurant building rooms=least favorite+employees milling around.”
 of 5 bubbles EVLightning, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5