We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Dunbar\/Charleston Area
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 401: English reviews
Start your review of Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
 Click to rate
Kearneysville, West Virginia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinhS5837KL
Avon, Indiana
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrishV4412QO
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff but....no elevator, the TV remote nor the light behind the chair didn't work. The most disturbing was two large hairs were in the shower. I can deal with the lack of elevator, burnt out light, no remote but the hairs in the shower were very disturbing. I had to clean it myself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcaster
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for that, and will be checking into the matter. I hate to hear that you didn't have the best stay possible. Thank you for letting me know.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. However, there were two large hairs in the shower, the remote didn't work and the lamp behind the chair didn't work. I can overlook the light and remote, but the hairs in the shower were disturbing. I obtained cleaning materials and cleaned it myself.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 334dalec
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here Mar 19 . The Hotel is being updated Our room was clean and beds comfortable and clean . Overall it was a nice place to.stay and in a decent area but not really a tourest.area . Some nice restaurants nearby. And quite close to the hwy .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve h
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate it, and are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay.

Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the worst experience I've had with a hotel. I stayed on night paid cash and then they charged my credit card for 5 nights. The bath room wall had roaches crawling down it and the bath tub and shower was full of pubic hair and shampoo. Totally disappointed and disgusted. Spoke with manager. Didn't help

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 157shelial
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were two issues with this place: no elevator and I was put on the third floor and accessibility. It was hard to get to because of road construction. It was also very busy and loud. The good thing was that the staff was very courteous and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the loudest I have ever stayed in! Constant doors slamming and closing all night. People in and out up until 3 am....then garbage truck ran and was loud. People in parking lot all hours of night with loud vehicles. Train track right next to hotel. Then they were under construction so by 7 am Penske truck there...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahmV7345QZ
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am so very sorry to hear that. Anytime you have noisy guests, please just alert someone at the front desk, and we will do whatever we can to quiet them down. The construction you mention, would be the re-tiling of our floors? We are doing that, but we haven't had any trucks unloading anything, so am not sure about...

Greenville, Kentucky
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were only 2 flaws with this hotel - there was no elevator so I had to lug my heavy suitcase up the stairs and it's in a very busy area so you hear a lot of traffic and outside noise.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacy H
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback. I am so sorry you had to haul our bags upstairs, I know that can be a pain. I am very glad to hear you'll may come back and see us again!

Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was close to the casino and a half way stopping point on a long trip but the area seemed like it might be unsafe. I'm not familiar with this town and it seemed quite run down. The staff was quite friendly and we had a comfortable night rest but I wouldn't stay there for longer than an overnight...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimberlys679
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I do appreciate your feedback, and hate to hear you felt unsafe. I have never had any issues like that, and I have worked here for 10 years now. Happy to hear you slept comfortably and enjoyed the staff! I really do hope you can come back sometime!

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
4.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
477 reviews
3.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
900 reviews
15.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
7.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
244 reviews
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Address: 911 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Price Range: €56 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was beside the lobby where everyone checks in and out Gave us total PEACE and QUIET and PRIVACY.”
 of 5 bubbles 897kims897, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Easy on/off from I64 for an overnight stop.”
 of 5 bubbles 638sharrons, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor would probably be better. The basement rooms had a lot of noise from above. But no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles caseyUs, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, just stairs to the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles nleff, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you can, try speed testing your wifi connection to make sure you're using the fastest (there are multiple)...one was over 50Mbps!”
 of 5 bubbles johnathonm113, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5