We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Charleston East

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Charleston East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Charleston East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Pet friendly...neat and clean room... very reasonable price for the area/location!!! I would stay here again. Motel 6 is always my favorite place because they are pet friendly -- NO PET FEE -- and also because of the military discount. Thank you Motel 6! I also love the new "look" of Motel 6s --- Laminate floors...bright colors -- orange and...

Thank ChefGreenV
Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Room was fairly large but in need of some work. Floor was in rough shape but everything else seemed fine. Elevator seemed a bit "sketchy" and in need of serious modernization, but worked fine. Girl at the front desk was chipper and friendly.

Thank Wayne W
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

The girl at the front desk was hilarious, and not "ha-ha" funny but her demeanor was like that of s/one who had heard e/thing from every kind of joker who stays at a place like this. I found a knotted clump of hair under the covers so I slept in socks, track pants & a pullover. It was crazy cheap,...

Thank Frank H
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Charleston East, responded to this review

Frank, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rate policies and the inconveniences you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. Our staff aims to provide...

Jamestown, North Dakota, United States
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I put in my reservation two months before arrival and asked for a ground floor as having a pup along makes it much easier if she is right with me. I don't think they check anything other than no-shows as all the ground floors were already booked. That many schedule two months or more early? I was given a 2nd...

Thank Clifford W
Tri-Cities, Washington
Reviewed 28 January 2016

My 19 year old son is driving cross country with his young family (wife and 5 month old daughter) to Virginia Beach, VA and attempted to get a room for the night. He showed military ID, was asked for state ID and upon doing the math, the front desk clerk discovered that he was under 21 and denied him a...

1Thank Andrea U
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Old and run down, and literally 50 feet from the Interstate, so very noisy, but not much the staff can do about that. BUT, they can watch out for the clientele they rent to. Right across the street from a truck stop, which I watched my neighbor go "work" at during the day, then at night she was "working" in...

Thank SteelToe365
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 December 2015

For financial reasons, our family stayed there at least twice yearly for about 8 years. The "non-smoking" rooms simply are not. Every room we were ever in, even after they refurbished it a few years back, smelled like cigarette smoke, just some were worse than others. In the past few years we have spent the extra $10/night and stayed at...

Thank Ti H
Rainelle, West Virginia
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Booked a Non-Smoking room. The room she gave us REEKED of smoke and had no Frig or Microwave. We told her we wanted another room. She got us one that had a Frig and Microwave but it STILL smelled of smoke also. Then the phone didn't work, and they had to get us another one. Then my wife screamed when...

Thank Randy T
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Charleston East, responded to this review

Randy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest level...

Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed 27 August 2015

The price for this hotel definitely attracted me - it was only $50(including tax) for one night. The room was clean and did not have an odd smell of any sort. The floor was not carpet, so it was fairly slippery when wet. The front desk attendant was very friendly and accomodating. The bed was comfortable. The television did not...

Thank Caitlyn K
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

This is a horrible place to land! The first room the bed had stains on it and it smelled of urine. The second room still had stained bedding. Unfortunately, we paid before we saw either room and they girl told us we would not be refunded for 7 business days. We are on our way to bury my dad with...

Thank Kellie T
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Charleston East, responded to this review

Dear Kellie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and noise concerns you describe. We are proud of our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors, but are sorry to hear you did not enjoy...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (3)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (39)
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Room/Suite (12)
Bathroom (5)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
7.4 km away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
207 reviews
8.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston East

Address: 6311 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: €42 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charleston East 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Charleston
Motel Six Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Charleston East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go any place else”
 of 5 bubbles YiaYiaSays, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“request front of building”
 of 5 bubbles storminpumpkin, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“i prefer the 2nd floor--non smoking. third floor is smoking.”
 of 5 bubbles F4028ITjamesb, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any floor away from the highway side would be ok.”
 of 5 bubbles H895IBwaynew, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Booking early doesn't help. Maybe showing up early would.”
 of 5 bubbles CliffordW436, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5