We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston\/Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Michigan
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We were traveling south and this was a good stopping place before heading into the hills of West Virginia. I booked this ahead as it was a Friday night and I didn't want to not have a place to stay. Got a good price and we were happy with the stay. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable bed and a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganChocoholic
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear MichiganChocoholic, Thank you for stopping in and staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express-Charleston/Kanawha City. We are very happy to hear that you found our location to be clean as well as one that you wanted to come back to. We are sorry that we did not have a room for you on your return visit. We value...

Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I stayed here for a few nights while in the area for business. The facility was clean and quiet for the most part. I had a refrigerator in my room which was nice. I was very happy to have a nice ironing board, with a clean tight cover on it. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koressel
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Koressel, Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Charleston/Kanawha. I am happy to hear that for the most part you really enjoyed your accommodations and fitness center. I am sorry you were disappointed in our hot breakfast items, but glad to hear that you found other items to have that were satisfying....

NC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We just needed a place to rest along the highway during a long car trip. You know how you can end up in the wrong hotel along the highway? The one that is a little seedy? Well we tried to prevent it by staying in a big city and paying a little more. Oh we were wrong. This hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allergictraveller
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Allergictraveller, Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. It is unfortunate to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the condition of the hotel, specially the rooms . I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management to work on these points raised in your review to give...

Westland, Michigan
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stop while traveling down 77. This hotel will do just nicely. There place is updated, had DirecTV for TV. A few nice restaurants around to choose from. Staff is friendly and the rooms are cozy. Little more pricey than I expected for the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryan144144
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear ryan144144, Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and local eateries. I am glad you felt welcomed and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope to see you again, when passing through Charleston!

Sebring, Florida
Reviewed 12 June 2016

was on a motorcycle trip and they let us park our bikes under the front awning in the light thats a big deal to us. Close to highway but quiet at night, very good price. The room was goodsized and clean with a frige and microwave. the front desk staff was friendly and very helpful, ask for restuarant discounts(they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike m
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Mike M, Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate parking for your bikes. We hope that if you are traveling through Charleston again that you will come and see us again!

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Needed to visit family member who was at Charleston Area Medical Center (3 miles from this motel). Motel use to be a Comfort Suites but was taken over and renovated by Holiday Inn Express 3 years ago. Next door to Country Inn and Suites and several other chains (Knight Inn, Motel 6) and numerous franchise restaurants within 1-3 mile drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don49680
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Don49680, Thank you for a well detailed description of our hotel and our surrounding area. We appreciate all the kind comments! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and great tips for your fellow travelers possibly needing to stop in our area. We see you were vising family at the hospital we hope they had a...

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stay at HIE's all the time because they never let us down, this is right off the interstate and a short drive to the Capitol and the state museum. The staff here is very pleasant and there is a good steak place nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bountiful-IA
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Bountiful-IA Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel and continuing to enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Brand. I am pleased to hear that we were in a convenient location for you on the interstate as well as to local attractions and restaurants. Our staff take great pride in providing a level of service that is...

North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Check in was quick and easy. Clerk as friendly. Room was clean and bathroom stocked. The tv had more channels than most hotels. the bed was comfortable but I am tall the the covers would not reach my neck unless my feet hung over.. Breakfast was good but the eggs were chunky and hard to lift with a fork. Coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William B
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear William B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your TV channel selections and that you had great interactions with the staff. I will look into the issues you had with the eggs, but glad overall you enjoyed the Express Start...

Gladwin, Michigan
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We checked in here for one night on our way home from Florida. When we got in the room, we found it to be rather untidy - the floors didn't appear to have swept in a while and even more disgusting when we turned the bed back, there was a large yellow stain on the underside of the comforter that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike1697
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Mike1697, Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered and the level of cleanliness in the room you were assigned. Please be assured that these issues were immediately addressed and corrected. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I was tired after a four hour plus drive and was looking forward to an evening of relaxation. When I entered the lobby the attendant was on a personal call. She kept talking which appeared to be idle chit chat while I waited a seemingly long time. I'd have been impressed had she let her friend know immediately a customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Jim R, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for lack of service when you arrived and the cleanliness and maintenance issues you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I am pleased to hear that you had a positive experience...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
13.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
8.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: €98 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cincinnati
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a second floor room facing the highway but had a quiet night and nice view”
419cathyb, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room overlooking parking lot or your room will back up to freeway.”
Don49680, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Select a different hotel.”
JimR230, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room away from the washing room and away from the indoor pool.”
judyp426, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I suspect a room facing the parking lot, as mine was, would be quieter than one facing the highway.”
Dad58, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5