We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

142 reviews
Save
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (22)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good38%
  • Average23%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“travel stop”(2 reviews)
“room was clean”(14 reviews)
“parking lot”(10 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Fitness centre
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Special Offer: Save on Hotel Packages!
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (142)Write a Review
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
36
53
32
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
36
53
32
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel stoproom was cleanparking lotstopping placefreeway sidetexas roadhousewalking distanceindoor poollight sleeperflat screenbreakfast was includedstopping pointroad noisegood nights sleepovernight stopwould recommend this hotel to anyonebob evans
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 140 reviews
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were concerned about noise from the highway, but turned out it didn't affect our sleep. Rooms very clean. Front desk was very helpful and suggested a great place to eat. Breakfast was nice and great coffee. Wish they would not use styrofoam plates.More

Thank JANNETTE E
Response from Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha CityResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jannette E, Thank you for such a positive review. We are happy that you were able to get a good nights rest while staying at the hotel. I am glad that the staff was accommodating and helped getting you around the area for a...More

Reviewed 1 January 2018

The front desk agent was RUDE and condescending from the moment we got there. There was a mixup as we were traveling on my husband's company's corporate card and they had not received the authorization form from his boss. We were inquiring about other options...More

Thank jessray00
Response from Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha CityResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Jessray00, I do apologize about the situation during your check in process. Due to strict regulations on CC authorizations, we did not have the proper documentation to let this guest check in with the card that the reservatiosn was made with. We take great...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

On our way back from Kentucky, we were running late, so we elected to stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Charleston-Kanawha City. The hotel was a great facility-soft beds, nice rooms, wonderful breakfast, the staff were courteous, and a quiet place. The only 'knock'...More

Thank James H
Response from Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha CityResponded 31 October 2017

Dear James H, Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you had a difficult time parking in our parking lot. it does get a little tricky to park when we...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We reserved ten rooms for our school as we were participating at a competition the next morning and it could not have been any better. When we arrived; since we had coordinated with the staff days before, our rooms and keys were already labeled and...More

Thank Bruce G
Response from Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha CityResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Bruce G, Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay. I am happy to hear that everything from booking the hotel, accommodations, breakfast and the personalized Customer Service that you received from Patty exceeded your expectations. We were happy to host your...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017

We had a reservation but either them or us screwed it up. It really didn't matter because they took our money and we didn't get a room. The lady couldn't have been more rude, We'll lodge a complaint with our credit card company. We went...More

Thank Planefun601
Response from Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha CityResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Planefun601, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience that you had at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the staff interaction that you had encountered. We would like to discuss the financial issues with you personally...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345628
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (2)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
deb m
1 December 2014|
Answer
Response from Patrice L | Property representative |
Dear Deb M., We are accept only service animals at this location. Patrice L. General Manager
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Go somewhere else"
Read review
"We stayed on the 2nd floor near the stairs; seemed quieter."
Read review
"opposite from the highway"
Read review
"The rooms to the street side (away from I77) are quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing