We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilltop Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilltop Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I came to Pullman - Palouse region - for a week-long photography tour. I enjoyed staying at the Hilltop Hotel for the rooms were large, simple and comfortable. This is a great price-value combo. I did get the impression though that the hotel was greatly understaffed. The rooms were not cleaned well every day. I especially doubt if my room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bojantercon
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel! We apologize if you feel we were being wasteful; when photography groups come into town we try to make breakfast easy for our guests and give them the ability to eat on-the-go. On any normal day at The Hilltop, we always try to offer real dishes and cutlery to...

Skaneateles, New York
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

If you are planning a trip to Pullman, this place is great! Beautiful room, free breakfast and great views. Book well in advance because it fills up fast. Breakfast wasn't great but it was free. I was able to walk to town from the hotel which was nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tanya. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are in the process of improving our breakfast selection and changing what is served day to day. We enjoy seeing reviews like this so we know what we're doing right and where we need to improve. We hope to see on your next...

Wimberley, Texas, United States
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We were looking for something in between $60 and $150 and we were hoping that the Hilltop would be a nice fit but it made us second guess the downtrodden looking $60 choice. Nothing was bad but we basically didn't feel that there was any bang for the buck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sir. We are sorry that your stay was not all that you had hoped. We are an independently owned and operated hotel. We strive to give the "Hometown Hospitality" we take so much pride in, to all of our guests. We are in the process of updating the hotel, from breakfast, to the rooms and...

Reviewed 12 July 2015

I spent a week here as part of a group in June and July 2015. To be honest, my expectations were not massively high, especially as I had just spent some time in The Ritz London and the Four Seasons in Seattle, but I was proved totally wrong. My room was large and the bed really comfortable. Although I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We are improving our breakfast every week- we had fantastic homemade pancakes just yesterday! We are very proud of our fantastic staff- we are lucky to have them! Again, thanks for taking the time to review The Hilltop!

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Yes, it's on a hilltop and overlooks the town. I liked my room. With my power strip I was ok for charging electronics and powering the laptop. After a week there my main negative observation is that breakfast is a spotty thing. Several mornings you could tell that the previous day's sausages had been reheated on the grill, resulting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DayTripDude
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We pride ourselves on our unique location in Pullman that we have been located for over 60 years; Hometown Hospitality is our motto and we make sure that we embody it to the best of our ability. Breakfast is something we have been working very hard on, we...

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 24 June 2015

This was a great hotel to stay at, the rooms are big & roomy as is the bathroom. The staff is exceptional, very helpful & friendly. There is breakfast every morning. The dining room is open & the food was good. Barb, the owner is the nicest lady around!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roni C
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! Our recent remodel and renovation of rooms has been such a wonderful addition to The Hilltop and we are so glad you are enjoying it as much as we are! We are very lucky to have such a fantastic, hard-working staff who do everything they can to make our guests comfortable. It...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 21 June 2015

This was my second stay at this hotel. I stayed on an "off season" day. Since my last visit in August 2014, the property's renovations seem to be complete. TV, microwave and fridge now housed in a cabinet (before, they were merely placed in the room). Very pleasant foyer stocked with cold water and coffee, very welcome after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JSWKingsfield
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is so great to hear that you have noticed the hard work we have been putting into upgrading our hotel since your last stay. We are doing more and more every day to continue improving our operations. Being an independently owned and operated hotel, we pride ourselves on...

Redlands, California
Reviewed 21 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel in mid June for a photography workshop. It is located close to a big university. It is a short drive to most restaurants in Pullman, and there aren't very many. The room was a decent size. We had a king bed room, and it had a desk, an armless upholstered chair (which is not very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdmcdm
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Our property has been in Pullman for over 70 years and we are continuously upgrading our grounds, rooms, and service! We pride ourselves on our "Hometown Hospitality"! We do hope you stay with us again in the future!

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Not impressed the breakfast is so bad I could not even eat it no muffins just nasty eggs sausage, the pool was filthy and the free computer never worked this was my 2 time staying here and I don't think I will be choosing this one in the future. Go Cougs!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cougers
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are independently owned and operated hotel and are currently upgrading our breakfast and wireless access throughout the hotel . Our pool is maintained everyday by our very hard working housekeeping staff. The lobby computer is up and running again- it was a hard drive issue that was unforeseen. And we...

New York
Reviewed 16 June 2015

I lead photo workshops for Muench Workshops - The Hilltop is a perfect choice for photographing The Palouse. Centrally located, clean comfortable rooms, and on-site dining that suited our schedule perfectly. The staff are simply amazing - everyone, from the housekeeping crew, to the desk attendants, wait staff and chef. And the owner/manager, Barb of course! Everyone went out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awmuenchworkshops
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We so enjoyed having your group at the hotel! We strive to provide "Hometown Hospitality" and are glad we were able to live up to your expectations. Again, Thank you!!!

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pullman
3.2 km away
Residence Inn Pullman
Residence Inn Pullman
#1 of 6 in Pullman
179 reviews
2.5 km away
Quality Inn Paradise Creek
11.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moscow Pullman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Best Western Plus University Inn
13.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moscow
36.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilltop- Lodging, Cuisine & Spirits is your "home away from home." Locally owned and operated for over 40 years, we pride ourselves on our Hometown Hospitality. We have 115 rooms with a King or Double Queen, Indoor Pool, Restaurant & Lounge, and a wonderful staff. Or enjoy a Themed Spa Suite overlooking Pullman and the home of the Cougars- Washington State University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163-2862 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Region: United States > Washington > Pullman
Price Range: €107 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Pullman
Hilltop Hotel Magnuson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilltop Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor ,No one moving about above you,Furthest from lift ,Not so many people passing your door.”
 of 5 bubbles 215nigela, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great views from the north side of the building. :)”
 of 5 bubbles 669terrib, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the views of the hills are spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles EVancouverMom, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms on valley side facing northeast have a view over the valley towards Pullman.”
 of 5 bubbles inklinglover, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good view of WSU Campus. Lounge is WSU Cougars themed. Easy access to all Pullman and university locations.”
 of 5 bubbles kfrankk, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5