We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

551 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 546: English reviews
Gilbert, Arizona
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it's a wonderful place. everyone is. friendly and helpful. I tell my friends if you want to stay. nice hotel. go to super 8 1719 Atlantic ave va bch va. I liked waking up looking at. the dolphins so quiet. I will be back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandmarosiero
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Dear grandmarosiero, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home and that you experienced no difficulties with our services or amenities. It means a lot...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent place centrally located staff was all friendly and helpful and they even have waffles in the morning the renovations are wonderful and i actually got to watch dolphins right from the balcony!! can't wait for my next stay w super 8!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phor R
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Dear Phor R, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you for taking the time to share this five star experience with our management, staff, and future guests. We hope to impress you again during your next visit and we thank you for sharing your...

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the super8 for the low price of the room especially since it was on the boardwalk. Room was clean, staff friendly. We noticed that a lot of work was going on and everything was looking good. Would like to come back when finished.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank packermom66
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, our high standards of housekeeping. We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable.

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This motel is an older motel but it was clean. The room I was in was on the 6th floor. It had a balcony so you could sit outside and was the beach. It's pretty close to most restaurants. The staff here is fantastic is really great. I would definitely stay here again. The price was good since I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. I am glad that we were able to meet your...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I would never recommend this place. Upon check in, I explained that my spouse recently had a stroke and could I have ground floor. I was told that since I requested a king bed, that all their king beds were in the 7th floor. Again, I told the lady that my husband just had a stroke, she proceeded to tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D4357SPpatriciat
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience you experience while checking with us. Rest assured that these things are addressed properly and right actions are to be done by the management. We promise that your concerns will be received by the right ears so the services are to be improved. We value our customers well and we are happy that you stayed...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 12 October 2016

When we checked in we quickly noted: Zero towels (like none); no back-up rolls of TP; toilet ran continuously (the only wall to stop it was to turn off water supply to toilet tank) - staff informed us new parts had already been ordered; extensive mold along bottom half of shower curtain & shower tile & grout; there were no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Dear Susanne B, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 455ronaldd
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 October 2016

BEDBUGS!!!! I was only there for one night, dropped like a log to sleep. When I woke up and discovered the bedbugs. I told management and they said they would get back to me and refund my stay. it has been over ONE WEEK!!!!! and she has been avoiding my phone calls.I called corporate and they said they couldn't do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mauro M
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Dear Mauro, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. The room was thoroughly inspected the next morning and no bedbugs were found and also the room was rented out, with no further bug complaints. I want to assure you that we are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although we...

Cobleskill, New York
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Was surprised to see laminate floors in the room. Not good when you have a toddler with you. Very slippery when wet. Also not easy giving a toddler a bath in a shower without a tub. Don't like a bathroom without a sink either because I don't like to brush my teeth in front of others. Other than that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loras933
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review in Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel. We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our floors and bathroom . We appreciate...

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#61 of 108 in Virginia Beach
176 reviews
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 108 in Virginia Beach
1,796 reviews
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 108 in Virginia Beach
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Virginia Beach
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 108 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#72 of 108 in Virginia Beach
471 reviews
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#28 of 108 in Virginia Beach
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1719 Atlantic Ave, intersection of 18th Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3424 (Formerly Sun and Sand Hotel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: €48 - €331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“o ocean front”
 of 5 bubbles grandmarosiero, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try another place”
 of 5 bubbles icdeer, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 203 is oceanfront, right across from the elevator and not very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles budsgirl76, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room was overlooking the beach I seen the fire works from my room the sun set was beautiful The A/C unit was pumping”
 of 5 bubbles tonyaw552, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay someplace else. There were people always waiting for the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles brendagauthier56, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay