We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Suites

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 444: English reviews
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Disgusting upon arrival. I didn't mind that the hotel was dated, but could not tolerate the filth that I found upon walking into the hotel. We were very excited to be at the beach, but that excitement went away quickly when I saw the room I had paid for. The bedspreads were grimy as I could see in the bright...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anon2014a
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm shocked at the experience you mentioned, as it definitely does not sound typical. All of our bedspread duvets are new to the beds as well as our sheets. Most all of the rugs in the rooms have also been replaced. All of our rooms are inspected prior to arrival and I have thoroughly researched...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family and I stayed from July 3rd through the 7th, and had nothing but issues after check-in! The couch reeked, and once we pulled out the sleeper, it smelled worse than a cats litter box! Tried to give the kids a bath after their time at the pool, but there was no hot water after running for 20 minutes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J M
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear you had these issues. I did look into everything during your stay. I'm not sure what may have spilled on your sofa mattress, but I am glad my staff was able to assist you in moving rooms. However, it does not please me to hear your new room had...

Wellsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I spent a week at ocean suites motel and it was the worst motel that we have ever stayed in , first when we got there , our room wasn't ready and they changed our room # three times then it was so small and crowded and there was only 3 of us . We were on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy i
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I have researched your stay to be able to address the problems you experienced. I'm sorry your room was not available when you arrived, however our check in time is not until 3pm. I do see that we were able to check you in at 2:30, 30 minutes early. The elevator did malfunction on the...

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I booked 5 days , everything was perfect ,we added 3 days Very clean The entire staff , from any department always had a smile on their face Very friendly Perfect location Very helpful front staff Returning in October !

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joyce M
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback! So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much you added on nights! Glad to hear the staff went above and beyond. Customer service is key for us! See you back in October!

Bronx, New York
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family and I stayed at Ocean Suites from June 25th to 28th. The place was clean and comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly and always asked if there was anything we needed. The ocean view was superb!! It really met our expectations, see you guys next year and thanks again for our 10% discount on our next visit!! Ever...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Karen1265
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We love to hear positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you next time!

Henderson, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I want to first say that this is a nice budget friendly all suite hotel. We were there for Father's Day weekend and had an enjoyable time. The only complaint I would have is the issue with the problematic elevator. The elevator was non operational for a while and made the trek to the 6th floor a little cumbersome but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin G
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our elevator definitely gave us some trouble during your stay. I am so sorry for any inconvenience it may have caused. It has been fixed and is working great now. We look forward to seeing you back for your next visit!

Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ocean Suites is ideally located in the middle the boardwalk. My sister and I were there to visit her son who had just moved to VB. We felt vey safe in our top floor suite. They have excellent security measures. Staff was friendly and eager to please. They gave excellent recommendations for places to eat and were agreeable to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet S
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves! The guest key access only doors are definitely a great security feature and keep non-guests from accessing the floors. I am very sorry our pool was not open yet, but it's up and running now, come back and see us!!!

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My family and I stayed here from June 1st through the 4th. At first we were a little disappointed at how small the hotel and the room was, but the fact that we had a room on the bottom of the hotel vastly made up for that. If you stay on the first floor, there is a sliding glass door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sade865
Lauren M, Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I am very pleased to hear you and your family had a great vacation. We would love to see you back in the future!

High Point, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked through an online agency and the pictures were VERY misleading. Arrived late and night manager "Derrek" was very kind. This was the only acceptable amenity, however. The accommodations were very substandard. Our room was on the 8th floor but the elevator only went to the 7th floor. Room was very tiny and had an odor! Upon seeing the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PastorShermanMason
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The pictures online are deceiving. Decent service, but the room was not worth the price we paid. We had a good view of the ocean; however, the room was tiny and HOT. It took hours to get the temp in our room down into the mid 70s. Lastly, the elevator, when it was actually working, shook like crazy and worried...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen_1202
Lauren M, General Manager at Ocean Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the size of your room, but happy to hear you were pleased with our staff and service. We did have a slight hiccup with our elevator but it has since been serviced and is in great working condition. I apologize for any inconvenience this may...

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (86)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Queen Suite (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
338 reviews
1.4 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
911 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
327 reviews
0.7 km away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
458 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Suites is an all Suites Oceanfront property. All rooms come equipt with a microwave, refridgerator, iron, ironing board, toaster, and two stove top burners. We also provide a 37" LCD Flat screen TV and DVD player in the living room with a private balcony overlooking the ocean. We offer FREE WIFI, Local calls, in rooms safes, and Local TV Channels, as well as on site laundry for our guest. Our outdoor pool is open during season daily from 10am till 10pm weather permitting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Suites

Address: 2315 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3201
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: €85 - €317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Ambassador Suites Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Suites staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Philippi,WV
over a year ago
Piqua
1 month ago
2 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select a room at a different hotel.”
fdw9652, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Parking spaces are small, so be careful if you have a big truck, it might be a little tricky to manuever.”
fivefoot1, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor, very quiet, excellent view of boardwalk and ocean”
982sharynm, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All have ocean view.”
fireelfemtp, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the second floor or higher.”
PRMom2000, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5