We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Sands Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 317: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Sands Resort
 Click to rate
Pelham, Alabama
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Pretty dated but clean-staff was friendly and ready to assist. Nice access to beach from room. Very convenient to shops bars and restaurants! Can see the Neptune statue in the near distance and horseback riders passing by on the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JWeaver032
Danville, Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Victor was a man who gave me a pretty bag with a nautical theme! The hotel was clean and the staff were nice. I liked the soap dispensers! I loved the balcony view. The hot tub, pool, and sauna were very nice! I would come again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mjbindewald
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First stay for 2017 always impressed with the accommodations here at the Ocean Sands Resort room is always clean and ready waking to see the Ocean out the window is awesome.. First time I had a chance to sit out on the newly added balconys relaxing the sound of the Ocean then there is the pool area away enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
Maura P, Resort Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Keith, Thank you for your outstanding review of our property. We are grateful that you continue to choose the Ocean Sands Resort for your Virginia Beach vacations. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities that we proudly offer. The team here at VSA Resorts looks forward to providing you and your family...

Newburg, Maryland
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in room 601. When getting off elevator hallway smelled like stale cigarette smoke. The room had an even stronger smell of stale smoke even though a no smoking room. Black mold found in the bathroom shower faucet handles. On the positive note new balconies are awesome. As owners at Ocean Key, we were very surprised to see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabra S
Maura P, Resort Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback and I absolutely agree with you that you should not have experienced the concerns in the bathroom. That specific area is part of our housekeeping and maintenance checklist, and it is very disappointing that it was missed by both departments, including the inspector. As a vacation ownership member with us, I’m sure you know...

Hollywood, Maryland
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We had a beach front room with two balconies one from the bedroom and one from the living room. The first room we were put in was the last room they had. We arrived at 430pm and the room looked as if it had not been cleaned in a month. I am so grateful that I brought my Clorox wipes,...

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacrenaM
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that your received inaccurate information regarding the size of the bed and pullout sofa sleeper and that we did not meet your expectations, your experience did not meet our expectations either. Thank you for the feedback as it helps us improve.

French Creek, West Virginia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Clean units, pool, lobby. Washer dryers work fine but need updating. There is a bar/restaurant onsite end of march to ?. Foods good. Lots of local restaurants that are good too. This is a public resort but it it also a time share. If that's what your looking for keep me in mind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clns0426
Maura P, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic Trip Advisor review. I am glad we were able to provide a clean Virginia Beach vacation for you. We look forward to hearing from you again soon to plan your next Ocean Sands vacation!

Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Ocean Sands Resort my favorite resort in Va Beach. Where front desk, hospitality & housekeeping are very efficient. Maura Pratt, mgr. & Charles Wright, asst. mgr. are the absolute best! The balcony 😬

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tass127
Maura P, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Ocean Sands Resort. We sincerely appreciate your willingness to share such wonderful thoughts about our staff and the balconies. We hope to continue to be your favorite vacation ownership Resort in Virginia Beach. It’s always a great day with VSA Resorts!

Flint, Michigan
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Mouse & roach. Need I say any more? Stayed at Ocean Sands Nov 6-9, 2016. In the first room a mouse ventured into the room from under a refrigerator. After switching to a second room I killed a roach with a body/thorax of approximately 1.5 inches. In the second room, loud noise from the refrigerator was followed with water leaked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hcford1185
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that you experienced these concerns during your stay - it is truly not a normal occurrence, even with the change in weather at the oceanfront (warm to cold). Although the resort was undergoing renovations during your stay, your service should not have been impacted. Fortunately, our contractor was able to address your concerns immediately. Michele C.

Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewed 15 November 2016

great location close to everything. Visited family only .8 miles from resort. View of the ocean excellent and easy for walking on the boardwalk. Although several restaurants were closed we did come across a couple that were withing walking distance that we enjoyed very much. One of them being 204 pizza and the other doc taylors which was excellent. a

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank moer401
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Va. Beach vacation with us and agree that Doc Taylor's is excellent. We are truly fortunate that we have great local restaurants within walking distance during this time of year. Hope to see you back soon! - Michele C/

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I don't know what happened to this place, but our room was seriously gross! The floor was sooooo sticky that I had to wear shoes allllllllllll of the time! The bathroom was filthy! The toilet seat was broken, no hot water, and there was dirt all over the light switches and door knob. The pull out couch was grimy. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marymb4
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I assure you that any and all issues are being addressed and corrected. I did review our action logs but see no report of any of these issues. I do take them seriously. I hope you will reconsider giving us another opportunity to provide you and your family with the Vacation Experience that you...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 km away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
914 reviews
0.3 km away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
211 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
598 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
311 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Johnny Mananas
Johnny Mananas
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: €90 - €337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Sands Resort staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Baltimore, Maryland
1 month ago
Champaign, IL
12 days ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Sands Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are both full beds. Also check the air system before running it. We opted out not to use it for health reasons but we had good weather that week.”
 of 5 bubbles MacrenaM, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room the better to spot the dolphins!”
 of 5 bubbles clns0426, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This resort is ideal for families and fun.”
 of 5 bubbles tass127, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“6th floor has laundry and pool”
 of 5 bubbles murphysmom22016, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on a high floor because folks hang out on the boardwalk which makes it a bit uncomfortable to sit on balcony at times.”
 of 5 bubbles MarylanderLaPlata_MD, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5