We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alamar Resort Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Alamar Resort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

The check in and parking was easy, the owner was a very nice woman who shared a lot of detailed instructions and expectations that helped a lot. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. our stay was quiet, the hotel was full but you wouldn't know it at night because it was so quiet...

Thank Alan G
Happy_Traveler23451, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and, for your very kind words about our staff, clean quiet hotel, and, location. It was our pleasure to have you stay at the Alamar. We look forward to seeing you next time !

Reviewed 21 June 2016

I recently spent a weekend at The Alamar Resort. I found the room to be cozy, large and clean as a whistle! The atmosphere was just lovely and the owners were simply delightful and so very attentive to my needs. The staff was also very cordial as well. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood with a wonderful, artsy...

Thank Amy Z
Happy_Traveler23451, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review

Thank so much for staying with us , and, for your very kind compliments on our rooms, staff , and, neighborhood. It was our pleasure to have you with us , and, we look forward to seeing you next time !

Reviewed 13 June 2016

I was overcharged and lied to buy the site manager. She lied and told me that she did not receive my reservation from trip advisor even though I was charged a 1 room night's stay 10 days before my stay. She then charged me for the whole stay once we checked in. At check out on Sunday I made her...

2Thank Diane F
Happy_Traveler23451, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review

The Alamar Resort Inn is a clean, quiet , family oriented hotel ,and , we work very hard to provide that environment, and , care very much about each and every guest experience. While we never want to make a mistake , unfortunately, in this case we did. Our system did not reflect this guest's initial payment so at check-in...

Washington Dc
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

CLEAN! Very close to beach and boardwalk! Stayed over the weekend with our two small children and dog. The room was immaculately cleaned, the pool sparkled, and the staff was very helpful. Will definitely stay here again!

Thank Matthew M
Happy_Traveler23451, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your compliments on hotel and staff. It was our pleasure to have you and your lovely family stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time !

Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We were supposed to stay here for a very good price on the weekend of may 20, but two weeks before we were supposed to go our reservation was cancelled because our credit card could not be charged. I contacted my bank and they said the charge had been put through but someone must be taking it off again. I...

2Thank jessicahU7442MS
Happy_Traveler23451, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review

The Alamar Resort Inn requires a 1 night deposit for all reservations in order to secure the reservation. When the credit card was declined, the guest was sent two emails from the booking company, requesting an alternative method of payment within 24 hours. Since that was not supplied, the reservation could not completed and had to be cancelled. Our policies...

Chicopee, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 22 May 2016

First off I have to say this is the cleanest motel room that my wife and I have ever stayed in! Not only is it clean but good size rooms, with very comfortable beds and full bathroom. My wife and I were both able to get 8 hours plus of great sleep every night. We were staying with our 15...

Thank Jeremy B
Ashland, Virginia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Alamar. Tina (owner/operator) was accommodating, friendly, fun and helpful to me and to my dog's first visit to the beach. I appreciated the rules and regs, especially the no smoking, and in an area where wild parties and "spring breakers" are the norm I had a nice quiet place to be and not...

Thank Bryarsmom
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel room had locked box over thermostat. Towels felt like Brillo pads. Television volume would decrease then completely turn off on its own every 30 minutes. Room decor was from the 60's with flower wallpaper included. For the most part the front desk was answered by voicemail instead of a human being. Bed was uncomfortable. The only two good things...

1Thank Deedster2
Happy_Traveler23451, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review

The Alamar Resort Inn is a family oriented hotel with rules, and, policies in place to maintain that environment. It is our right , and, in fact , our responsibility to maintain that environment. When this guest checked in, they were told that we do not allow unregistered guests or parties, and, that is on the check in form that...

Reviewed 5 January 2016

This is a perfect place to stay. Our room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The property is well maintained and well managed. The staff and owner were very willing to help with any requests. We never felt hovered over as some have mentioned. Instead, we felt secure and comfortable the hotel was well run. I felt comfortable letting...

2Thank Hank C
South Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 September 2015

The hotel staff, Tina, service was excellent. Whatever you need she handled immediately. The room was very large and the decor was very nice. We were happy that it was so close to the beach..approximately 3 blocks. Entire facility was attractive, clean and the continental breakfast was good. I will definitely stay when I return. Carol Janes

Thank Carol J

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (60)
Room/Suite (16)
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Dining (3)
View from Room (2)
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (112)
Pool (9)
Queen Anne Room with Two Queen Beds (15)
Queen Anne Suite (27)
Dining (5)
Standard Two Queen Transitional Room (18)
The Hotel (17)
Transitional Suite (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,669 reviews
19 Atlantic Hotel
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
320 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Cerca Del Mar
Cerca Del Mar
#92 of 109 in Virginia Beach
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
686 reviews
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Be...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
272 reviews
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family Style Hotel. We are about cleanliness and quality rooms. We offer a continental breakfast may 1 thru September 15th. We are a 2 minute walk to the boardwalk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alamar Resort Inn

Address: 311 16th Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: €74 - €525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamar Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamar Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamar Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alamar Resort Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Alamar Resort Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms nice &clean”
 of 5 bubbles tusimfamily, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I had a first floor room facing the pool. I had no complaints about the room.”
 of 5 bubbles ArikT, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are looking to party on your stay, choose a different hotel please !”
 of 5 bubbles 486jeremyb, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Room was large”
 of 5 bubbles 233carolj, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If you want to cook your own meals reserve the suite. Full stove, fridge and microwave.”
 of 5 bubbles 578jameelr, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5