We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Key Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Key Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 418: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Key Resort
 Click to rate
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Spent another great week at the Key. They never disappoint. Bill Mitchell and his entire staff are always very accommodating and are very responsive. Located across the street (Atlantic), very short walk to the beach. Indoor pool and hot tub available on the first floor. Daily towel exchange and laundry service as well. Front desk is staffed and ready to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winskins
Chester, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ocean Key Resort is nice. The bedroom was a little small but bearable. The sitting room was a nice size. We had a beach front view which was really nice. The resort is located at the far end of the strip across the street from the beach. The place was very clean and pretty modern. It appears there may have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rioland
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ocean Key resort was great! It's more of a hotel setting but much better! We had a one bedroom condo with a full kitchen! We had a great ocean view the beach was our backyard and the sun rise was our alarm clock!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melloandee
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for your anniversary trip at the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach. We appreciate your great feedback and look forward to your future VSA Resort vacations with us.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a few days here during spring break. First impression, it is a very clean location. It is right across from the boardwalk but it is near the end of the boardwalk so it is pretty quiet. The pool is adequate. It can get a bit rough with too many kids. Unfortunately, my daughter who loves to swim declined...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaytam
BMitchellvsaresorts, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate you selecting Ocean Key Resort for your first Virginia Beach vacation. I apologize that you did not receive our top service and am contacting you personally to assist you.

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for a week and it was a good experience. Our room had a nice little sitting area, kitchenette, and balcony which was nice. The room faced the Pacific Ave. side. The indoor pool and hot tub were very nice and the pool area had adult only hours which was very nice. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chickiebabie
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience with the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach. We appreciate your great feedback and look forward to your future VSA Resort vacations with us.

Saco, Maine
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Across from a beautiful beach. Clean rooms will all of the amenities. Quiet end of the strip. Nice pool hot tub. Watermans across the street for an orange crush....nice 3rd floor outdoi6r lounges to enjoy

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheila s
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation at the Ocean Key Resort and welcome you back to VSA Resorts as your future vacation destination!

Cortland, Ohio
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

The ocean key resort was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and it was a short walk from the beach and quite a few good restaurants. The only complaint I had was how tight the parking deck was. I have an extended cab truck and it barely fit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlhodges13
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your positive experience regarding your stay with the Ocean Key Resort. We appreciate your mentioning our friendly staff and local restaurants. We offer parking for over-sized vehicles, please call us in advance before your next stay and we will reserve this for you during your future stays with VSA!

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We were booked from Saturday to Saturday but after getting married on Sunday couldn't make it till Tuesday because of circumstances and our only regret is we missed out on those days! We requested well in advance a balcony unit facing the beach and we got exactly what we ordered. The setup of the unit was wonderful with a small...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bryce804
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. Eivins! Our VSA Resorts’ team thrives on delivering excellent customer service, especially Nancy. We are glad she was able to make a positive difference during your weekend and we look forward to your next stay at the Ocean Key Resort, and thank you for sharing your honeymoon vacation experience.

Reviewed 27 November 2016

On our first day, there was a cockroach that ran from the sink to the counter top. I was not pleased with this. Had I seen another, I would definitely had complained. Thankfully, the guy was alone. The room was small for the four of us, but we made it work. Our two sons had to sleep on the pull-out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amy S
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Although we have sound proofing between the units but it sounds like it was not effective for your stay and although “quiet hours” are between 10pm and 7am, the agents should have offered to make a call for you – definitely a training opportunity and I appreciate your sharing it....

Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This property is disgustingly dirty. Hair on the floor in the bathroom and it was never addressed. Did not stay the full time we booked. The management was good about refunding all the $ we were charged. The patrons were smoking in the rooms in a non smoking facility.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GJto3
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and by your feedback, we fell short in delivering our promises to you. I assure you that your experience was not to our standards, which warranted a full refund.

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Luxury One Bedroom Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: €115 - €482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Key Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Key Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms”
GJto3, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors mean better views.”
bwompbwomp, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“away from elevator”
MaryBee_21, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face another hotel on one side and the indoor pool on the other side, sorry.”
lgideon25, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“higher floors keep you away from traffic noise best”
557lindat, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5