We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cavalier Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Cavalier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cavalier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband, mother in law and I stayed in room 334. We had reservations for three nights. $7.50 a night to park in their own parking lot. Who does that? On our third day, the three of us decided to just leave and stay in another hotel. This was the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. Broken drawers, missing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank adampat
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your value feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced with our housekeeping and maintenance. Your comments have been shared with the housekeeping and maintenance team. I also left a message on your cell phone with my personal information and look forward to discussing your stay further.

Howard, Ohio
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the worst place I have ever been! When I booked the hotel it had a 4 star rating, they most have paid relatives to rate it.From the moment we arrived I could see the doors to the hotel were filthy I think they were cleaned the last time the stairs were cleaned. . NEVER! There was a clump...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DVW3177
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am sorry for the unacceptable issues you experienced with our housekeeping. Your comments were shared with our management team and appropriate action has been taken. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful but don't go on the 10th floor alone. There is a little blonde girl that appears and disappears. The hotel was nice though and it's right on the beach.The breakfast was yummy and the pool was nice.All the employees are extremely friendly and helpful. The balconies are rather small but we didn't stay inside a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank battyghoul
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Your comments made our day! Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Our team was delighted to hear you were please with our service level and breakfast. We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Virginia Beach.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was the cheapest oceanfront room I could find for July. While the price was low, you get what you pay for. We won't stay here again. The wifi was free but never worked. We had an infestation of ants in our room. They did spray but only where I told them I saw some and they never went away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindi S
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the issues you experienced with our front desk which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect when staying at the Cavalier. Your comments have been shared with our front desk manager and corrective action has been taken.Again, thank you for taking time to leave...

Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First, I cannot thank the staff enough for their generosity and graciousness. It was my wife's birthday on July 25 - and the hotel staff agreed to get a cake, deliver it to the room with others as a surprise to my wife. Thank you! Second, we had an ocean front suite room 406 (i think). The room and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mwchass
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and staying at the Cavalier Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service level you received from our staff. We are fortunate to have many great associates on our team. I also appreciate your comments regarding the Continental breakfast and we will review our processes base on your...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Towel racks had been pulled out of place and replaced with holes still in walls. Bathrooms can use an update. Sheets did not fit bed appropriately due to elastic being worn our on corners. The rooms were moldy and no circulation. Cleanliness is needed. On the other hand, the water was great and the balcony gave us a beautiful view....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fiestyport
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you had with our housekeeping which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect when staying at our property. Your comments have been shared with our management and corrective action has been taken. We also welcome the opportunity to make this matter up...

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Wow is all u have to stay (in a bad way) for this hotel! I will give the front desk ladies credit for being semi- friendly.. But my compliments end there. Dirty rooms, the bed smelled like body odor and felt like a rock. The rooms were moldy, humid and had poor circulation. The hallways reeked of pot and cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lauren P
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments about your stay. I am sorry for the issues you experienced with our housekeeping which is not consistent with our standards. Your remarks have been shared with our housekeeping team and appropriate action has been taken. Please contact me at 757-352-2762 so we can further discuss. Thanks again for your valuable comments.

Ladysmith, Virginia
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have been to 14 countries and thirty eight states stayed at Motel 6 is better than the Cavalier elevators did not work had two carry luggage up 8 flights of stairs and down. Breakfast absolutely horrible, when asked why it did not serve eggs they stated it was a continental breakfast. Friend asked what continent don't serve eggs, waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ulysses T
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the issues you experienced with our restaurant Your comments have been shared with our management team and corrective action has been taken. Again, thank you for your feedback. Please contact at 757-352-2762 so we can further discuss.

Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked this hotel with trepidation after reading some of the reviews. The cons first: Not the cleanest place I've ever stayed but mostly surface dirt... corners not cleaned well, places that need repair, general shabbiness. Pros? The beds are extremely comfortable, guest services amazing. An actual concierge that knows his business, doormen that anticipate your needs, everyone is friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denise b
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the Cavalier. We are glad you enjoyed the sleep quality and friendly service from our entire staff. I also appreciate your comments regarding housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our executive housekeeper to review our processes based on your feedback....

Reviewed 28 July 2014

First off , the rooms are dirty, full of ants and everything is rusted. Second off, the service is horrible. I paid cash for 3 days but once I saw how horrible the rooms were I decided I wanted to check out early. The employees said they would mail me the refund but then the supervisor gave us a hard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drincesss
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced with our housekeeping which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect when staying at our property. Your comments were shared with our management and housekeeping teams and corrective action has been taken. Again, thank you for taking time to leave...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#57 of 108 in Virginia Beach
2,605 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#25 of 108 in Virginia Beach
715 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#15 of 108 in Virginia Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 108 in Virginia Beach
1,228 reviews
1.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 108 in Virginia Beach
937 reviews
4.1 km away
Ocean Key Resort
Ocean Key Resort
#31 of 108 in Virginia Beach
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Address: 4201 Atlantic Ave, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2608
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: €70 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavalier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cavalier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach view always!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Mamaliveslarge, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4797FPsusanl, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“choose another hotel! there are ants on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 4Pepper, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Corner suite is more private. When you choose oceanfront, you get the sunrise right in front of you!”
 of 5 bubbles Mschristine329, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
“The boardwalk start one block away from this hotel. This is an extension of the original Old Cavalier (hunted?) read the story about it. Parking is now free, it was not when we booked.”
 of 5 bubbles maria4328, 23 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay