We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
7 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$172
US$148
View deal
Expedia.comUS$148
PricelineUS$148
Hotels.comUS$148
FindHotelUS$150
Hilton.comUS$148
HurbUS$172
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (536)
Room & Suite (336)
Dining (104)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 116 hotels in Virginia Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian, Filipino and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1684Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 785
  • 416
  • 229
  • 132
  • 122
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jessica P wrote a review 23 Jul
Woodstock, Virginia
Pool was nasty I said something about it to maintenance and they told me if I had a problem to tell management, so I did and they said ok thanks. We stayed for 2 days and nothing was ever done about it. Staff was rude, they gave me keys to someone else’s room upon check in and then called me a liar when I informed them they had done so and even sent someone to go check. Management was inconsiderate and blew me off. Still have yet to speak to anyone about my experience. I did call Hilton directly and filed a complaint. They had mowers as outside our room and we were on ground floor early in the morning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Larissa G wrote a review Apr 2021
Weehawken
Hotel's Favourite
The hotel by far exceeded my expectations. Classic and beautiful. Old fashioned but very well taking care of. What a pleasure to walk in large lobbing and lounging areas beautifully decorated. Very professional s as na experienced staff. Dinning in the elegant restaurant ( excellent food and services too!) and walking in the early morning in the very nice surrounding area ( Regency College) in a walking distance were a big plus. Planing on returning in the summer to enjoy de pool.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 Apr 2021
Larissa G, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit when our outdoor pool will be open. Take care, Melissa Georges
Read more
rdh2017101 wrote a review 23 Jul
Prosper, Texas
Founders In was once a real gem in the area. Sadly, whoever is managing the property is letting it slide significantly. Someone needs to wake up and restore that beautiful property to its former glory.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
numbas wrote a review 21 Jul
NoVa/ DC
So, where to begin. I had heard this place was nice. Yes, the grounds and facilities are nice. It could have been first class. The problems here are the real story. 1) The 'in room' coffee service. No powdered coffee creamer. OK, off to a local convenience store. But you must beg for tea and sugar. You want a towel while at the pool? No there is a towel shortage also. The locks, including the building and room locks are unreliable. I guess there is a battery shortage also. The doors are sticky, because of too many layers of paint. I guess there is a sand paper shortage also. The pool area has safety hazards, including 6 inch tall stand pipes that are unmarked. I tripped on one. They put orange cone on them. They had a fire emergency, the alarms were barely auditable. Think 'silent alarm'. I went there thinking 'luxury' I left there thinking primitive. I could not wait to leave. I have stayed in better cheapo motels. This place is jinxed. I would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
numbas, Thank you for your feedback. Yes, there is actually a towel and delivery service shortage right now. We have ordered towels from our supplier months ago and they have yet to arrive. We are frustrated too. As for the locks, you just have to hold your key over the sensor until it changes to green. You do have to hold it there, just waving your key over the sensor does not activate the lock. We have plenty of coffee supplies in house so I will make sure to follow up with our housekeeping team and make sure their carts are adequately stocked with those supplies. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
Stebo S wrote a review 17 Jul
While others who’ve posted complaints about the Founders Inn have at least gotten a canned, half-baked apology from Melissa Georges, I didn't even get that! After my one-night stay, I carried my luggage to my car before checking out around 8AM, when a dead, 12-foot tree limb dangling over the sidewalk fell and whacked my shoulder and arm, leaving me bruised, bleeding, and sore for a few days during my vacation. After Security personnel documented the incident and bandaged me up, I was told the manager, Allen Monday would be in around 9am and would contact me. Four days later --No call. Frustrated and incredulous, I called and left a message for Mr. Monday to call me and again -- Nothing. Finally, I contacted Hilton Customer Care and they prodded Mr. Monday to return my call. When Mr. Monday finally called, he seemed like he could care less about my injuries and when I asked why he twice ignored me, he replied “I’ve been busy”. Shocked by his response, I again called Hilton Customer Care and they forwarded my complaint to the General Manager, who was supposed to contact me within 3 days, but once again, no response at all. Upon leaving the hotel, I was shocked to see other trees lining the parking lot also had dead, dangling limbs waiting to fall on other unsuspecting guests. What negligence! Secondly, as a long-time Hilton Honors member, I have come to expect and have always received a certain level of customer care from this hotel chain. Not so at the Founders Inn -- management does not care about their guests. Lastly, the room was overpriced and dirty. Ms. Georges uses Covid in her responses as an excuse for all the ills at the Founders Inn. I'm sure she'll dream up something hokey to say about the dangers of walking in their parking lot and the lack of maintenance on their trees, as well.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 4 days ago
stebos2021, Hello, Melissa Georges here! While Covid can certain not be blamed for a tree limb falling, I think it might have been a result of the tropical storm that hit our area. We are dependent on our outside landscaping company to remove these tree limbs and clean up dangerous storm damage. We were also frustrated with their response to the damage and that is being handled with the company. We never want any guest to experience an injury while they are our guests. I cannot speak for the lack of response you received from our front office staff, but this is the first time I am seeing a review from you on Trip Advisor. I take every review very seriously and sadly, Covid has really hurt our industry. Not just from being low on staff, but also our ability to serve our guests and also receive supplies that we desperately need. We are all looking forward to business and life to get back to normal so we can get back to offering the great services and amenities that our client expect and deserve. Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the founders hotel virginia beach, founders hotel virginia beach
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaVirginia Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Tidewater Stage (0.4 km) and GameOn Gaming Center (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swan Terrace Restaurant, The Commonwealth, and Papa's Greek Family Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Thai, Greek, Romanian, Korean, and Filipino.