We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 28: English reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This motel should be closed down. It seems that they are either in the process of renovating or fumigating. I wasn't sure, but was advised that all of the furniture was stacked up outside because the furniture was being replaced. Good news, but there is no excuse for a dirty room. The sheets and pillowcases were yellow and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Set1234
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Set1234, Thank you for sharing a traveler opinion with us. As you had mentioned, we did recently renovate our facilities including new mattresses, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs, luggage boxes, ottomans, headboards, pictures, night stands. I apologize for the mess during these renovations-this was a 2 week project. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during this time. Regards,...

Clover, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel was good for a one night stay. It is a one star place with just bananas,coffee and one kind of donut for breakfast. Luckily McDonalds was across the street. Room was large and we had a choice of beds. Had refrigerator and microwave.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patc312
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear patc312, I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our large rooms and microfridges. We are planning on increasing the size of our lobby in the future to include a larger breakfast area. We hope that these improvements will allow us to increase our breakfast selections....

Baltimore
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for a night as a stopover while driving to Atlanta. It perfectly met our needs, and we felt comfortable. The room was immaculately clean, the most important trait we are looking for. It was fully equipped with a fridge, microwave, and all the amenities we needed. There were a few minor defects, such as chipped paint in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colorknit
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear colorknit, Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am proud that you chose Americas Best Value Inn for your lodging needs. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and microfridges. We hope that you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Clean and updated, nothing fancy but everything you need. The bed was comfortable. TV worked fine. Bath and shower were nice. Linens were new and clean. Generally it was a nice place anthough I only spent a night there. Convienient to the interstate and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gert_Frobe_007
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Gert_Frobe_007, Thank you for sharing an honest review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and clean linens. We have also recently renovated with new furniture such as dressers, night stands, desks, chairs. We hope that you visit us again and see the new changes! Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA

pensacola
Reviewed 17 November 2012

we stayed two days paid in advance.non smoking room first stronge smell of bleach when we checked in when that left strange order of who knows what.took shower it has the smallest tub it was hard to move around railing sticking out of side to make it smaller.tv has 11 channels. we were told cable went out and only so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear rebapensacola, On behalf of the management team of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the negative experience you encountered in 2012. I am sorry for taking so long to respond. Please know that we have made many improvements such as hiring and training new housekeepers, renovations including new night stands, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs,...

Seneca SC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

After a full day of diving training it was nice to come back to a clean, cool room. The Housekeepers are truly gems and worked hard to make sure our stay was great! The management worked with me to ensure that the additional room I needed was located close to mine. It is an older motel but clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikes351SenecaSC
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear mike351SenecaSC, Thank you for sharing you honest opinion regarding your stay with us from 2012. Sorry for taking so long to respond to your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our housekeeping quality. Please know that we have also recently renovated our guest rooms with new furniture. We hope that you come back again sometime! Regards, Manish-GM Americas...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I checked into this hotel at 0200 in the morning (after an exhausting trip through Virginia). I attempted to use the restroom and saw crawling bugs, flies and spiders. I sprayed with disinfect and slept in the chair (after not being comfortable with sleeping on the bed). My friend slept in the other bed. I grabbed the pillow and slept...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ebow0824
VA & SC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Clean rooms, attentive staff and food available within walking distance. If you are going to dive at Lake Rawlings VA this might be a great choice. The prices are very reasonable and we will do it again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikes351
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Mikes351, I hope you are doing well. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We pride ourselves in offering great service and clean rooms at reasonable prices. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Don't go there at any time. .. stay some other hotels with few more dollers. but not there. This was the nastiest place I have ever stayed at. room was smelly, Bugs, roach tapes with bugs on them. Even they do not talk well with customer. the Night desk attendent pretend not to understand what we are trying to say.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank thefu p
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear thefup, I am concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for not responding sooner. We have recently updated our facilities and also hired/trained new housekeepers. We also have a licensed pest company which routinely treat our rooms. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill...

Whiteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed there because of course the price. What is the saying? Some things you just can't put a price on? This was the nastiest place I have ever stayed at. Bugs, roach tapes with bugs on them. Why doesn't this place have an exterminator? The towels the 2 little ones we received. There were 5 of us and they...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lorri W

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in South Hill
49 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
108 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of South Hill. Our 2-story, exterior design Inn features 47 guestrooms nicely furnished with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, microwave, hairdryers, cable TV with HBO, mini-fridge and iron and ironing board upon request. Complimentary continental breakfast served daily. Inquire about our Senior, Fisherman, and Truckers Rates. Minutes away from Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr Dam and walking distance from Brian's Steakhouse, Restaurants, Shopping centers, and Cinema. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Address: 623 E Atlantic St, South Hill, VA 23970-2709
Region: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Price Range: €54 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn South Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn South Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pitch a tent or find the local mission”
Vseward, 5 Jul 2014 | Read review
“if you must come here get a upstairs room so you have a chance at sleeping”
christinelJ1569YQ, 16 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Ask for what you want and always remember if you are staying a few days in the motel leave the housekeepers a tip, they work hard for it and it will pay off in the long run.”
  • Large mirrored sink area
  • View of bedroom from entry
  • View of bedroom from sink area
mikes351SenecaSC, 29 Aug 2012 | Read review
“If you don't want to hike up stairs ask for a lower level room, all rooms come with mini fridge and microwave...”
mikes351, 14 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Stay away from this hotel/motel.. WORST EVER!!”
LorriW713, 5 Dec 2011 | Read review
5 of 5