We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill

Save
Share
180 Clay Dr, Pounding Mill, VA 24637-4318
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
HIExpress.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Pounding Mill
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Come enjoy the beautiful new Claypool Hill Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We are close to Fort Witten/Crab Orchard Museum, Southwest VA Community College, Richlands, and Grundy. Enjoy one of our mountain view rooms. We offer spacious King and queen double bedding along with 17 suites. Our feature king suite offers fireplace & hot tub. All suites have wet bar w/microwave, Refrigerator & sofa sleeper. All rooms have hairdryer, iron/board, coffee makers, speakerphones w/voice mail and high speed Internet access. Relax and unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool. (Pool and whirlpool closed due to renovations) or exercise room featuring Nautilus equipment. We take pride in our guest service and quality. When staying in Claypool Hill, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We look forward to seeing you.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
78Reviews3Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 26
  • 14
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ColbyButler wrote a review Oct 2020
Pensacola Beach, Florida514 contributions69 helpful votes
It’s a Holiday Inn. Nothing super special. The room was clean staff nice and parking safe. The hotel was able to receive my packages before I arrived as no Fedex location is even remotely close. Nicely located behind a bank, although parking is limited. Maybe they will buy the open gravel lot someday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Ed191145 wrote a review Dec 2018
Mars Hill, North Carolina28 contributions2 helpful votes
This is the second time in the past year that we have stayed her, rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, staff very polite, it is close to restaurants, kids loved the pool, we stay at hotels a lot, we will be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Laststop2014 wrote a review Aug 2018
Rutherfordton, North Carolina45 contributions9 helpful votes
Sorry for the negative review but I don’t understand why the renovations at this hotel are taking so long! We have visited the area several times in the past 8 months and there’s still a lot to do. In Room 321 the new bed and linens and bathroom seem to be clean but the a/c filter is really dirty, perhaps dirt /dust from the ongoing construction? I left it open so housekeeping would hopefully clean it. And there are holes and scuff marks on the fresh painted walls, and even chip marks on the tub, maybe from a worker dropping a hammer or something? New carpet already has shoe polish or grease stain under the luggage bench.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Responded 25 Sep 2018
Hi, Laststop2014! I appreciate you choosing our property once again! I am sorry that the renovation caused you discomfort. I am sorry that the condition and cleanliness of the hotel and room, including its amenities a letdown. I have shared your additional feedback with the general ownership of the property in order to communicate with our team. I am confident that management will use this in order to better our services. As we continue to improve, we would love to continuously serve you in your future travel plans. Many thanks, Anne A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Ron H wrote a review Aug 2018
12 contributions
I have stayed at this location a couple of times in the past. The trips have all been business trips. Unless you are familiar with the area your selection for hotels and meals are pretty limited. The hotel was being renovated so there were some minor issues. I could here running water all night but could never find where is was coming from. When I went to the lobby for breakfast my coworker pointed out where there was water coming from a light fixture.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Responded 11 Sep 2018
Hi Ron H, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and choosing our hotel once more. I am elated to hear we are your hotel choice whenever you travel for business. Our people understands the importance of their work and they will be thrilled to know about the service and amenities they offer. We always strive to make sure that every guest has an amazing stay at our hotel. I'm sorry this wasn't the case for you due to the renovations and disturbing sound. I understand how things were disagreeable because of the remodeling process but kindly know that your feedback has been helpful. I have forwarded your comments to the Maintenance department for checking. Again, thank you for your review. I hope you will reconsider another visit once renovations are done. Best, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
SMcG0907 wrote a review Aug 2018
Atlanta, Georgia1 contribution
There were no handicapped rooms in this hotel for my mother. We were placed on the second floor. The guests in the hotel were loud speaking businessmen who had their conversations in the hall very early in the morning while we were still in bed. On checkout day the toilet became clogged through no fault of ours and the elevator would not work. My handicapped mother had to manage the stairs and I had to make multiple trips to the car with our luggage. No apology was given by the front desk member. Will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Responded 6 Sep 2018
Hi SMcG0907, My name is Anthony and I thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am very sorry you were not satisfied with the room you received and the experience you had with the noise and your toilet affected your stay. We do have handicap rooms available, you can always reserve them in advance and as long as there is availability. We want you to have a comfortable stay by providing a working elevator services and quiet room. And through your feedback, we will be able to determine in which areas we need to focus on. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Sincerely, Anthony M Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express claypool hill hotel pounding mill, holiday inn pounding mill, pounding mill holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaPounding Mill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Nearby attractions include Skateworld Inc. (2.9 km) and Clinch River Trading Post (3.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cuz's Uptown Barbeque, Red Flower Chinese Restaurant, and V and V Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.