We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

950 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 921: English reviews
north west
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

The spa pool is closed - perhaps the only reason to visit in winter as its out in middle of nowhere - an apology on check in or an offer of anything to make up for this (wifi voucher or bottle of wine) would have been nice. Free wifi is limited to 50 mb for 1 hr. So once thats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecz456
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The Spa pool is currently having work done so we are hoping to have this back up in hte not to distant future. As this is a complimentary service the hotel offers, we do at times require this facility to be taken offline for maintenance. I am sorry...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I booked this room for an irresistible rate: NZ$109/night including a $50/night food and beverage credit. The property is located on the shore on the scenic Waitangi reserve. I loved the location, but be prepared to drive or talk for about 30 minutes into Paihia. If you're a lover of scenic walks, you will enjoy the location. The hotel has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James M
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Amazing hotel with the best swimming pool i have ever seen..right at the waters edge, you could be forgiven for thinking you were on an overseas tropical island getaway here. The seaspray wing is fabulous!! I would definitely recomend a stay here..we will be going back for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wickedwesty
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Good hotel but expensive for its quality. But is best in area for this type. Out of the Town area and needs Taxi ride into and back for eating. Can get expensive on taxis. Needs better signage to find it also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dkkeeling
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Stayed for one night and had both dinner and breakfast here. Dinner had good choices though not for a vegetarian. I am sure the kitchen could make up something though. Breakfast was standard fare but both were included in the price - NZ$170. As a standard room was not available we were upgraded to a sea view room which had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrishdNZ
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

auckland
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Brought a voucher off grabone for two nights - $109 for buffet breakfast and $169 for buffet breakfast and dinner. As spa was not working they upgraded us from a garden view to a sea view with lovely views of the bay and Russell. Rooms a little dated but perfectly fine. Dinner I asked for porkbelly but found it to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pauline g
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Spa pool broken..there goes the deciding factor for our booking at this hotel!!! Front Desk manager an extremely rude man who should not be in the service industry, where the customer should be treated with respect. He made my friend so angry with his lack of tact or care. I paid to upgrade for a sea view , the view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrea c
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. Our Spa pool regrettably is out of service for the foreseeable future as we are awaiting a solution to the issue it currently has. I am sorry that the room which was allocated to you was not up to your standards. I have spoken to the Front Office...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 July 2015

stayed for a package deal with my husband was so disappointed this round (have been before with no complaints) but this time arrived and had to wait for at least 15 as the person behind the desk wouldn't stop gas bagging to the visitor in front of us! there was no spa (was the highlight of my trip) cold room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dana382015
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the experiance you had with this stay was not like previous stays with us. The grab one deals we current have available to advise either buffet dinner or 2 course a la carte dinner as we cannot always have a buffet on during the...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We had stayed at this hotel for 2 days and must say that the stay was amazing. The hotel was quite huge and very well maintained. The rooms were extremely neat and clean and good in size. The service at the resort is also commendable and must mention the staff takes extra effort to ensure the customers are satisfied with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrabhaJain
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Was a bit worried having read a few of previous comments. But Matthew, the manager, and his staff are doing a grand job. No buffet but a la carte didn't leave us hungry. Unfortunately spa pool still not in use. Was given an ocean view room which didn't disappoint, but yes a little tired, but not enough to warrant any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. At this stage our spa pool will be out of action until the end of august. We are also looking at reviewing our wifi prices in the coming months. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you...

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
2.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
421 reviews
1.4 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Price Range: €83 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Javea, Spain
Javea, Spain
Auckland Region, New Zealand
5 months ago
Quincy, IL
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ocean view- if you want to have water views- totally worth it”
 of 5 bubbles jen101Auckland, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Has to be a water view”
 of 5 bubbles Trent53, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor room which opens into the lawn and the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles JDJarbadan, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Need a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles JeffR605, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The site is top class”
 of 5 bubbles vgradowski, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5