We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Indian Ocean Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Indian Ocean Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 177: English reviews
Bayonet Head
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Noisy beer garden outside sounded like a band was playing my room - I thought it was bad karaoke until I learned the next day it was the headlining act! There were gaps surrounding a door opposite my bed which lead to an adjoining room - I could hear every word the neighbours said and actually partially see them too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslie C
Lakeland, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Average but suited the price. Wasnt impressed by the $100 bond ontop of the nightly fee to stay though. Was refunded on checkout but takes 3-5 working days for banks to refund and clear funds. Should state that on site as we wouldnt have stayed knowing this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aaron S, I'm sorry to hear that you weren't aware of the bond, it is stated in our terms and conditions. It is an industry standard to take one in case of room service charges and the like. I hope you will consider us again in the future. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place to stay when in Perth, close to the beach, shopping, and fully self contained with secure free parking. Enjoyed a great band, fabulous meals, friendly service, comfortable bed, clean room with all the trimmings, shampoo, conditioner etc, hair dryer, tea/coffee milk, air con and free continental breakfast for $93. I'll be back. Nearly forgot to mention the nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eandc2015
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi eandc2015, Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm thrilled that you had a great time. Interesting that you mention the artwork - we are presently considering the purchase of some new works - hopefully you'll notice them when you next stay. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Muldersdrift, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was on the 5th floor although a bit dated it was clean and the staff where cool Good value for Perth and I felt comfortable with the outside parking Well done staff you made a visit to the hotel worthwhile so you have my vote

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RalphRidge
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RalphRidge, Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Forster, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are very friendly. Has secure parking if you have a hire car. Free breakfast was good. We had dinner in the hotel section and it was very nice. It is an older hotel but nice and comfortable just the same.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Debra S, Thanks for your review. We are so pleased you had a good stay, all of the staff work very hard to ensure a good experience. May I ask what you ate in the Bistro? I'd be pleased to pass on your feedback to the chef. Please say hi next time you're here. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel...

Sydney
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a business conference with a colleague. We could only get a deluxe room and a standard room non smoking. Deluxe room was $36 per night extra compared to the standard room but the only difference we could find was the floor we were on. Deluxe 5th floor, Standard 3rd floor. Same side of building same view. Anyway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbloem73
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dbloem73, Thanks for your review. The deluxe rooms vary from the standard in that they are higher up and have views over the northern suburbs and partial ocean views. They also have more deluxe furnishings. Thanks for the feedback on all accounts and we are glad you'll be back again. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

All though the property was not really tops, you could not wish for better service. The rates were excellent. The staff were all amazing,they could not do enough for you regarding where to go for tours and transport,very helpful. The bistro and food was very good plenty to eat,and the breakfast was in with the rates. We felt most welcome,we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macklyn42
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Macklyn42, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you felt welcome and enjoyed our service. I will pass that on to the team. As for the building, we are constantly making improvements, hopefully you'll notice some next time you stay. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Indian ocean is calm and clean. My partner and I had a spa room which ticked all the boxes. However the room isn't very private for two who are just friends or family as all the room is open plan. Breakfast is standard continental. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend for the location also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevonEleven
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DevonEleven, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our Spa Suite, we agree it is a more intimate layout than most and that it's best suited to couples. We always make sure to advise that to guests who book it. Thanks for the feedback. We hope you visit us again next time you're in Perth. Kind...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed here overnight as we were attending a 50th birthday party in City Beach. We were pleasantly surprised with the Indian Beach Hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable, the parking was free and the price included a free continental breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were staying on the 5th floor and by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathbilli
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cathbilli, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you were surprised by your stay. I hope we can accommodate you again soon. Please say Hi next time you stay! Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Ellie & Kate - you women are amazing! The stay and play package was brilliant as it was but you two went the extra mile, we felt really taken care of by you, so thanks a bunch! ☺️ Our room was just dandy, not even noisy despite being on the ground floor. Meals (dinner & brekkie) were both very decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ezzie G
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ezzie, Thank you so much for your kind review. We have passed on your comments to Ellie and Kate. We are so pleased they looked after you well. They are great team members and well loved around here. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.4 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.5 km away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
264 reviews
0.2 km away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
68 reviews
10.4 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
189 reviews
0.3 km away
Seashells Scarborough
Seashells Scarborough
#1 of 9 in Scarborough
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Price Range: €63 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Indian Ocean Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Indian Ocean Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the opposite side to the bar and beer garden if you want to get any sleep!”
  • Stained basin.
  • Gap on balcony. I can fit in here.
  • Dated.
  • Hilariously dated TV control :-)
  • Internal door with gaps around - not soundproof, not private.
 of 5 bubbles 125ainsliet, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles macklyn42, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 5th floor would be the quietest ( far away enough from the bands playing)”
 of 5 bubbles cathbilli, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are spacious and up higher”
 of 5 bubbles Fre0fan23, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get room away from the Indi Bar if you dont like noise”
 of 5 bubbles D8907NFmaryf, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay