We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Western Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Western Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Start your review of Western Beach Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Since I came to WBL first, Ive been always staying here when I came to Perth. In total it has been quite a long time, just because this place always feels like home to me. For me WBL is completely different to every other hostel around the world that ive stayed in. Its not one of those huge hostels where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benfbg
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My stay at WBL has been an amazing one, so much so that I booked in for 2 days and ended up living here 7 months. It really is a great place to stay, it has a friendly, home fill environment to it. It's very clean and has three main areas to chill, as well as socialise. I met some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alainajanebatche2017
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We stayed at Western Beach Lodge for some weeks and really enjoyed our time with all the great people there! :) The house has an amazing vibe and you feel like coming home, every time you enter. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need for cooking, there is also some free food and enough space to store your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat_aroundtheworld16
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I did not expect this place to be so good after seeing some negative reviews and very few pictures on the website. Please be assured that this place is a comfortable place to rest your head and be close by to the beach. The double room was spacious, well lit, clean and the mattress was comfortable. For such a price,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivana-banana
Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a great review and we'd love to have you back again! Apologies about the TV in the room - it only plays DVD's and we'll put a note to let folks know, in future.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I have traveled in 14 countries and stayed in many a hostel. My experience with the Western Beach Lodge and its management is without a doubt the worst experience I have had. The condition of the hostel itself is not even close to how it is represented in the pictures here. The kitchen is tiny and it is very difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer152015
Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We're sorry you found WBL so unpleasant during your first weeks' stay and are therefore surprised that you were prepared to stay there again. We received online bookings prior to your 2nd arrival and had no option but to cancel your verbal booking. We tried to give you as much notice as possible. You have also included your complaints about...

Bourges, France
Reviewed 4 December 2015

The owner had just taken over when I went there in december 2014. He's extremely friendly and helpful !! The dorm (6 people) was spacious and clean. There was plenty of room to put my stuff (hangers, boxes under the bed, shelf, etc). The kitchen was of a decent size and clean. The hostel is only 15 min walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waimea1310
Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review - happy you to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Brisbane, Australien
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

I booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying a week. Exactely how I want a hostel in Australia to be like! More like a share house as people tend to stay longer, easy to meet people, social! Enough showers and toilets all over the place. My room had a few shelves to unpack your stuff. Too few power...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apolda
Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at WBL. We are lucky to have a great vibe - mostly due to our wonderful guests!! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

Awesome hostel that got a new manager just before I came down under. The hostel has a good location with a light walk to the beach and the shoppingmall. With a decent kitchen (it's gonna be redone later this year), good rooms and clean social areas. The manager is a hell of a guy and he and his wife is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staffan P
Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review! We've still got lots of "family" with us! Would love to see you when you're back in Perth again - we'll have our new kitchen by then too!!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Place recently taken over by new management and a number of upgrades happening. Very friendly atmosphere and a good mix of people that got on well (management and everyone worked together to make it like a big family). In a hostel there will always be the issue between those that want to party and those that need to work, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for great review!! We love it when people have a good time and enjoy their stay with us!!

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Cheap accommodation near Scarborough beach, restaurants, bars and Coles grocery store. We stayed in a double room which was ok with a double bed on the smaller side, a fridge, a table fan and some space to put your clothes in. The place is a house converted into a hostel so the ambiance is very intimiate. If you're lucky some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helena M
Mark M, Owner at Western Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.6 km away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
283 reviews
0.5 km away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
79 reviews
4.5 km away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
72 reviews
0.7 km away
Seashells Scarborough
Seashells Scarborough
#1 of 9 in Scarborough
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Western Beach Lodge

Address: 6 Westborough St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Price Range: €17 - €39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Western Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Western Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are double rooms, three people rooms or dorms all in great condition with comfortable beds”
alainajanebatche2017, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was in room 9”
robl935, 14 Feb 2015 | Read review
2 of 2