We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gorse Hill

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Gorse Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 444: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Spacious bedrooms and bathroom that were clean. Decent wifi. No gym at this hotel. Hotel consists of a main building then some bedrooms are in separate blocks. Some blocks don't have a lift so if you have mobility needs check or let the hotel know. Lots of choices for food and drinks for breakfast. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10ElaineRW
Farnborough.Hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed at Gorse Hill over night a couple of times where we have found the rooms to be very clean with comfy beds, pleasant gardens for a walk round, excellent food with very helpful staff. We have also had Christmas dinners there twice now, the lounge and restaurant always look very festive , as for the meals just out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ilovemygadgets
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I used to live in Woking and knew Gorse Hill by reputation only. It is set in one of the most affluent parts of Woking and was quite a high end hotel in the 80's and 90's. So, when visiting family just before Christmas I was surprised to see an offer for Gorse Hill pop up on my feed which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sar0508
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Visited for business. When arrived at the reception was served by a lady who offered no welcome. She processed my booking and passed me the key and vaguely told me were the room was. No thank you or politeness at all. Apart from this the hotel room was nice, food was good and breakfast buffet was efficient and tasty. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_howitt
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

What a fantastic setting for a Wedding... A very professional team from start to finish that made all problems made at ease and delivered results on the day... the food and entertainment was fantastic... a thumbs up from all that attended... Keep it up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianmac682016
Reviewed 8 December 2016

If you have the chance to avoid this place be do so. It starts with the "reception" who does not give you a welcome feeling at all. The receptionist probably never smiled in her whole life and gives you the impression you're only disturbing her. The rooms a very tiny and worn out. Wood of the doors splinters off and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rainer B
Olav S, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this review

Dear Rainer B Thank you for taking out the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Gorse Hill. I am extremely disappointed to read all of the negative points that you have made regarding your stay. I have taken all of the points that you have made into consideration and can guarantee we as a...

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely experience. The barman on Thursday night was spot on. Professional, helpful and patient. Facilities worth it. If you're thinking about having a special night or weekend away would recommend this place. Thank you to the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FourSitters
Manchester, England
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This is a very unusual hotel - built by a Dutchman, and you almost feel as though you are in the Netherlands when you drive in! The hotel is spread over several separate buildings, most with a courtyard in the middle. The main building (where reception is located) is lovely and the public areas of this wing are lovely. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyager520
Olav S, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this review

Dear Voyager520 Thank you for taking out the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Gorse Hill. I appreciate all of the feedback that you have offered and will endeavor to rectify all points in order to create a better guest experience in the future. Many thanks Olav Schuetz General Manager

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the De Vere overnight on business and was pleasantly surprised. Some of the reviews had not been good so I was not expecting much, however it exceeded expectations. Front of house was very helpful, changing rooms for me after I'd arrived because one of the smoke alarms in the corridor was bleeping. No fuss at all. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dom C
Olav S, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this review

Dear Dom C Thank you for taking out the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Gorse Hill. I am very pleased to hear what a lovely stay you had and that the problem with the smoke alarm was addressed efficiently. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to the whole team....

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed on a training/ biz week in October. The hotel was a lovely old building with modern internal accommodation. Very helpful staff, beautiful gardens. My only issues was my stay was during a busy period at the hotel...my first night -a late night charity ball and end of week a wedding and evening disco....so two nights with no sleep:(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendywiggers
Olav S, General Manager at Gorse Hill, responded to this review

Dear Wendywiggers Thank you for taking out the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Gorse Hill. I am very happy to read your praise for the hotel and the helpful service that you received during your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had restless nights sleep due to events happening at the...

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woking
3.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) Hotel
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
333 reviews
3.0 km away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
311 reviews
17.4 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Gorse Hill

Address: Hook Heath Road, Woking GU22 0QH, England (Formerly De Vere Gorse Hill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Price Range: €72 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gorse Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Gorse Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorse Hill Woking, Surrey
Gorse Hill Hotel Woking
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gorse Hill staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gorse Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot recommend any room in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 75rainerb, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check if an event is on during your stay to where you are located in the building re noise levels”
 of 5 bubbles Wendywiggers, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 16”
 of 5 bubbles Thomo61, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room in the main block!”
 of 5 bubbles cmathias07, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms are large and in a separate, quieter area”
 of 5 bubbles HeatherWeiss, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay