We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn on the Lake

Expedia.comUS$55*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
Panoramas (80)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Inn on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 467: English reviews
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Went on a coach trip and stayed at the above hotel. My friend and myself ordered food from the room service menu, but the other members of our party had the evening meal provided as part of the trip and they said that it was "awful" . Our meal though was good and tasty and wholesome especially the sweet potato...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 813PatC
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are refurbishing the hotel and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We met up here with my cousin and his wife on the night before our daughters wedding. We could see that this was going to be an ordinary meal by the lack of knowledge of the waiters. When the drinks eventually arrived I was treated to a red wine trouser wash. Apologies given and we carried on, damp trousers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake and sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. All of our food is made in house and I am sure the chef would have welcomed the chance to hear feedback directly, rather than just online. Thank you for the Gordon Ramsey offer, but we don't feel...

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed last night,great value,fab room,looking over the lake,brekkie great,must add that receptionist domenique,was very helpfull,and went out of her way.will be back very soon.nice and clean,great freindly staff,will deffo reccomend a stay at this kent gem(bit of a bugger to find,but worth arguing with the sat-nav

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary M
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Stewarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel staff were OK, room was nice and modern and very roomie. View was over the lake and was very nice. Hotel is a bit of a kick back to the 70s ,so very dated. But it works so why mess with it. Its not a 5star hotel. Overall we had a nice and comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Stayed here last week, upgraded to a lake view and it was well worth the extra £20, lovely room and beautiful view of the lake, would stay here again without a doubt. So peaceful and lovely surroundings. Food was great and staff were really friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _banarch
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Waiuku, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 7 years ago and it hasn't changed, the place is dated and in dire need of a make over. The food was reasonable I suppose, typical pub grub stuff really. Staff were helpful but just need to tweak there customer service a little. Little or no pride in the gardens , covered in weeds. However the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rizzla33
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. I am concerned that you felt our gardens run down. We have a full time gardener and our gardens are kept in very good condition. We are indeed going through a refurbishment and please contact me directly when you are next in the area and I will take care...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Nice location and hotel just off the motorway, not as easy to get to as u might think... staff were a little grumpy with us on arrival (just a bad day i hope) and the food was only average but still ok for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but sorry to hear you found the staff grumpy (I will be showing them this review!!). We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for just one night, check in was easy polite staff. Had an issue in our room sorted immediately by reception staff, given a new room with a lovely view of the lake rooms are clean and tidy comfortable beds. Breakfast full English nicely cooked and arrived quickly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff freindly. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

You read so many negative reviews on this hotel but really there is NO need to worry at all. We had a lovely stay here. The main reason we chose it was because it allowed us to take our dog with us. We had read a lot of the reviews and like many of you reading them now, we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 62MQ
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you and your enjoyed your stay with us. Your review sums us up perfectly - we are a 3 star, family run hotel that benefits from incredible lakes, land and wildlife. We do our best to compete with the big (and very...

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, conveniently situated to explore from and at a great price. The surroundings are the icing on the cake, this really is a hidden gem that we will happily come back to so that we can wile away our time in Kent. Staff were all very pleasant and the breakfasts were plentiful. We were even allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick C
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Inn on the Lake. We are very pleased to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

551 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (363)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (29)
Viewed
Lakeside Double Room (34)
Viewed
Lakeside Family A Room (35)
Viewed
Lakeside Family B Room (37)
Viewed
Lakeside Family D Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
2.2 km away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
238 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
9.1 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
9.7 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: €49 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
The Inn On The Lake Gravesend, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was very dated, no sure but there may be rooms that have been recently refurbished.”
PaulN34, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a lake view room, so not so much road and car park noise, but ground floor rooms very hot and no window to open”
689kimw, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a lake view if possible”
LifestyleUK, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a big main road on one side of the hotel, the lake is on the other. My lake-view room was quiet.”
Lagomorphs, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the lake have a great view & quiet, the other side will get the noise of the motorway”
sheila3072017, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$55* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$55
Orbitz.comUS$55
Booking.comUS$55
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates